We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Isabel National Forest

San Isabel National Forest
Pueblo, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Attractions in Pueblo
Type: Forests, National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Driving, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of twelve national forests in Colorado, this one-million-acre forest offers snow-capped peaks and crystal mountain lakes.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I came to CO to get away for awhile and just be alone with God. THIS was the place to be! It was so insanely quiet. Just the trees and I. Beautiful running brooks, trees of all kinds, and enormous rocks to sit and read on while the leaves fell. There are bathrooms everywhere, except they do have them closed and winterized by the time I was there in Oct. There are some steps if you are headed for the picnic tables. Lots of parking. There are several little towns you can stop at for lunch if you go during the summer season. There is a fee during the summer season as well to park, just not in the off season.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Take this drive--beautiful scenery, awesome views, nice lake setting, golden aspens in the fall.
Very relaxing & photo ready opportunities around every corner. Stop in at RYE CAFE.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Vast and Wonderful Area in Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Over the years I've camped as a Boy Scout in the Rockies above San Isabel, and visited it later from the east coast when I was lonely for family and Rocky Mountain beauty. The forest has everryting an outdoorsman could want amoung it's variety of lakes and streams. And it doesn't lack for historical places, restaurants, and other things to do. I've a friend who lives in Rye, and my Mama and I have visited his wonderful home as dinner guests, after having a "Dutch Lunch" at Gus's Tavern on Abriendo in Pueblo. Like all of the mountainous regions of Colorado it boasts great beauty, and includes the Sangre de Cristo mount range. You can also find skiing at several places, and if you know Colorado's great highway system, built by Steve MacNichols as governor and former Head of Transportation, you'll know that NOTHING is far from where you'd like to go - just a few hours takes you to marvelous views and experiences. Fishermen also can find paradise there.

Charles L. Riccillo,
Pueblo, CO

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a wonderful drive great for everyone from eldery to the young. The drive is worth it and the San Isabel lodge has great food

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

within 45 minutes of Pueblo--great place for a picnic, good facilities

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Isabel National Forest also viewed

 

Been to San Isabel National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Isabel National Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.