We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Hotel Woodstock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Hotel Woodstock to your Saves list
Courtyard Hotel Woodstock
Main Road, Long Hanborough OX29 8LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Coffee heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a little oasis and the best kept secret in the area. I haven’t stayed in the hotel but have used Winston’s bar/ cafe on several occasions. It is spotlessly clean and has a nice modern, fresh feel. The staff are all local people and can’t do enough for you. They are cheerful and friendly with just the right level of courteous service. Winston’s has the usual selection of coffees but with great taste and cheaper than chain outlets. A large cappuccino is £2.75p, less than a Starbucks and a much better taste. There is also a fab range of fresh baked cakes and goodies that are cooked by the owner’s wife (no pre packed stuff here). A selection of daily papers are available for a read with your coffee if you want to drink in or they can provide a `take to go` option for your drink. The owner, Mike, is normally on site every day to oversee everything. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for him. Long Hanborough railway station is a short walk from the Hotel making this a perfect location for sightseeing in Oxford. Woodstock is a short drive, 3 miles or so for a visit to Blenheim Palace/ Winston Churchills grave. The hotel is situated on the A4095. The traffic can be heavy during the morning rush hour from about 7.30 to 9am but during the evening and overnight its very quite so I can’t imagine that there would be road noise that would impact on your stay. The Courtyard is a lovely addition to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Needed to write a review relating to the Winstons Cafe/Bar which is part of the hotel. Very freindly staff, always willing to help, even at short notice for things like company buffet lunches etc. I work at a local company and having the cafe there.. walking distance actually forces me to have a break and wander over for a lovely coffee or something naughty to eat. I haven't stayed in the hotel but I love the concept of turning an unused office building into a hotel and eatery, benefitting lots of people in the community and visitors to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stumbled onto this lovely property without a reservation. The facilities are lovely and brand new. Very friendly staff and lots of helpful info in the room. What a nice surprise on a last minute stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very disappointing, nowhere in the location description of this hotel does it state that it is situated on an industrial estate overlooking factory units. Had booked 1 family room for a Friday night and 2 family rooms for a Saturday. We were so disappointed with the Hotel we cancelled our stay and returned home with very upset children. However be aware at this hotels cancellation policy once you have booked a room regardless of how much notice you give to them they will charge for the full booking stay. I believe this is a regular acccurence as the position of the Hotel, hence there cancellation policy. Be very aware

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Courtyard Hotel Woodstock, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
The Hotel is opposite and close to Blenheim Palace, close to a Hightec Development, not an industrial complex.. The map on our front page clearly shows the location and surroundings. As we are a small establishment our cancellation policy is 48 hours notice, and at weekends we are usually full, this cancellation left us with two suites empty for the entire weekend. Our cancellation policy for less than 48 hours notice is first night full charge and 50% for the second night cancelled. If we sell the room we always give a full refund. The reviewer checked in, used the room for period of time then left the hotel, They did comment they loved the room but wanted a in house restaurant. This room was not available to resell that night as we always fully clean after a room it is used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrinton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for two nights on business. Room was small but perfect in terms of fixtures and fittings. Mirror on dressing table would be a small but useful addition for us ladies. Contemporary and modern furniture and bathrooms. Very nice! My only minor criticism is that breakfast in the Winstons cafe has lots on offer in terms of pastries, bread and sugary cereals but nothing on offer for weight/health conscious eaters. Can we have some oat so simple porridge pots and/or fresh fruit please? I would stay again on pleasure or business and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed there just after it was opened. Very clean; everything worked. The rooms are simple and fairly small, but we found them perfectly adequate. The hotel is NOT in Woodstock, but in Long Hanborough, about 1 mile from Bladon where Churchill is buried in the local churchyard, and about 3 miles from Woodstock itself (main entrance to Blenheim Palace).

The hotel includes a small cafe, and the room rate includes a £5 voucher (per person) that covers a continental-style breakfast. The hotel is on the A4059 road, but we found little traffic noise. The hotel is in on the edge of a small business park, so not in a "quaint" area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst working at the Blenheim Palace Triathlon with a large group of colleagues.

Good size car park but could do with more signage but the hotel had only been open 3 days when we arrived.

I had a trailer & parked in the business park next to the hotel at the weekend as the offices were closed.

All the staff were very nice, even getting up at 5am one morning to make us breakfast as we had an early start.

The hotel has a modern feel but is not minimalist, very inviting & comfortable.

Room No.4 Very well thought out. Good size double room, with a real double bed (not 2 singles pushed together). A plasma TV with freeview & iPod docking station also in this room.

The bathroom has a modern shower unit with good flow & temperature at all times.

Only negative comment for the hotel was that I had bad phone signal (on the 02 network).

The restaurant/bar on the ground floor of the hotel is fabulous, I highly recommend the chicken wings & the speciality teas!!!

I will definitely stay again if I'm in the area working or not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Hotel Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Woodstock

Address: Main Road, Long Hanborough OX29 8LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Long Hanborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Hanborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel featuring a mix of single, double and family rooms, including a number of family rooms with mini-kitchen. The ideal choice for exploring Blenheim Palace, Oxford and The Cotswolds. With our onsite Winston's Cafe and Winebar, you can feed your hunger or quench your thirst. Ideal for business visitors convenient to Oxford Airport and Main Line Railway Station to London, 5 minutes walk. Furnished to a high standard with quality furniture and memory foam topped beds. Air Conditioning in all suites. WiFi is free throughout the Hotel. Breakfast, included in room rate, served from 7.30am. 5* Food Hygiene Rating. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Hotel Woodstock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.