We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermosa Vineyards

Hermosa Vineyards
3269 3/4 C Road, Palisade, CO 81526
970-640-0940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Activities in Palisade
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Palisade Vineyards and Winery
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This winery is way out of town, but worth the trip. Hermosa is producing some nice reds, I particularly enjoyed the Merlot. The tasting room is in the winemakers garage! I love that kind of experience with the winemaker behind the counter sharing stories about the wine. We took a bottle of the cherry wine home.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    6
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Some of the best wine we had in the Palisade area. The tasting room was an awesome conversion of a garage with bistro tables and an a very enjoyable bar to have your tasting. The vitner had us write down what we liked and disliked about each wine we tried, because of the value of both observations. What a great learning experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendliest guy in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The guy who owns this place is awesome and super friendly. He must have been a salesman at one time, because he did a damn good job talking me into buying a bottle for $15. And I don't regret it. Ditch the pretension at the door; his winery is all about friendship and fun. Don't skip it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite West, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must Taste Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hermosa vineyards is by far our favorite winery in the Palisade area. After tasting at four different winery's I can confidently say that this was hands down our best experience. Hermosa winery is a small boutique style winery owned by Kenneth Dunn. He brings you into his winery as if you were family. He has multiple types of wines that you can taste complimentary. I would say my favorites were the chardonnay, gewurztraminer, syrah, and the "rojo" which is the best port i have ever tasted. If you are looking for a relazing atmosphere, a friendly experience, and great wine...you must stop here!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Room with Hospitable Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Ken, owner and vinter, will show you a great time and maybe even offer to tour you around the place after you had your fill of full bodied reds. Also, after tasting some great wine pick your favorite and have a picnic outside the tasting room by the waterfall near the vineyard.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermosa Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Hermosa Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermosa Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.