We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Driving” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kip's Grill and Cantina

Kip's Grill and Cantina
121 Pagosa Street, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
970-264-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Keep Driving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Maybe the tacos are what they are known for. We ordered the Chicken Sandwich and a burger. Both were of quality less than any national "chain". (Places I desperately try to avoid) My chicken sandwich may have been made with breast meat as advertised but was pressed chicken meat and was luke warn to where the cheese would not even melt. The burger looked fair at best. Service was good, though and the outdoor seating was pleasant. If coming from the south/east (like NM) keep driving as there are many more selections 10 minutes further. Although prices are somewhat affordable, they are expensive for what you get.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    107
    33
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hugely overated.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Ok, this place just sucked. For the prices we paid, I would expect to have my food on a dish with metal utensils, but NO! Husbands taco's came wrapped in foil. My enchilada's came on a paper plate with plastic utensils. Unbelievable. Wasn't even that good. Skip this place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kipspagosa, Owner at Kip's Grill and Cantina, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
I feel the need to respond to some of your comments regarding our plates and utensils because this has been brought up in several reviews this summer. You stated that you couldn't believe we served things on paper plates and used plastic utensils. I don't know if you noticed how small our place was when you were there, but our kitchen is tiny. Because of this, we do not have a commercial dishwasher and therefore can not legally serve on real plates, silverware or even those plastic baskets. We do use the eco friendly cups for our salsa, queso dips, green chilies, sodas and several other items. We have tried to use the plates and utensils in the past, but they do not hold up to the weight of the food items. We try to promote a friendly, casual atmosphere. We're sorry that you were disappointed. We hope someday you may give us a try again if you are back in Pagosa.
Thanks,
Rebecca Deitemeyer
Co-owner, Kip's Grill and Cantina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Decent fish tacos but don't be in a hurry.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We went here on Labor Day. It was packed and we had to wait a while to get in and even longer to get served. The food was good. Perhaps not worth the wait, but good enough. The atmosphere was fun and there were a lot of characters passing through that were fun to be around. We saw some unusual vehicles. Antique cars and chopped motorcycles. The fish tacos were a tad on the dry side but there were plenty of condiments to help it along. Not a bad spot but I wouldn't go there on a busy holiday again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas USA
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“NO FRILLS BUT GOOD QUICK FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great outdoor seating and not too big inside. The elk burger I had was great and my son had the fish tacos that were also great. The beer is cold and the service was great so what more can you ask for.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Va
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Four friends enjoyed the following: Burger, Buffalo Burger, Steak Soft Taco, Chicken Soft Taco while dining outdoors. The lime and cabbage stuffed corn tortillas were refreshingly different. Service was good and not obtrusive- Parking lot entrance and exit are a bit difficult to get and and out of- Don't be turned off by the design of the sign- or the driveby appearance-- there's good food here

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kip's Grill and Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Kip's Grill and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kip's Grill and Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.