We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boss Hogg's Restaurant & Saloon

Boss Hogg's Restaurant & Saloon
157 Navajo Trails Drive, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Hog's Breath)
+1 970-731-2626
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Came across this restaurant while visiting Pagosa Springs on vacation - and glad we did. The restaurant and their owners have an interesting history which you can read about on the menu - I'll not spoil it for the reader. This did not detract from the good value, wholesome food which was served by friendly staff. The whole place had a rustic 'country' feel to it and was being well frequented by families, and couples the evening we dined there. The food was delicious and really good value. Locally brewed beers as well as the 'usual' drafts were available. A well-stocked salad cart was well used by most diners. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    96
    54
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre food at best.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Not impressed. Patty melt was on dry toast instead of buttered and grilled like it is everywhere else. French dip beef was in thick chunks instead of thin slices and it tasted like plain, bland roast beef instead of smoked beef like the menu said. we were disappointed with the food. We were expecting what the menu described. Service was OK.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Prime rib and baby backs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We showed up at Boss Hogg's about 2PM. We had been shopping. We were greeted most warmly and seated near the big fire place. We saw the local firefighter's eating there which is often a good sign. Drinks were served quickly and our waitress was pleasant, versed in the menu and helpful with her favourites. We had read on TA (Trip Advisor) that the prime rib sandwich was not to be missed. Yes, it was a tasty, huge winner. Mrs. had the salad bar which was small but cold, fresh and nice selections. It was a cut above the average SB (salad bar!). Mrs. also had the baby back ribs. It was a generous portion! The meat was full of flavor and easily came off the bone. The onion rings were crispy but lacking in flavor as was the coleslaw. Overall? A great meal. In Pagosa Springs, Boss Hogg's is a place we would visit again. Try it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sucks!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Waited for 15 minutes to be seated and many open tables and clearly not busy. Suze was our waitress and took her another 5 minutes to even get our drinks. Ordered lunch plus salad and never got our meals only a check thrown on the table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good value, large portions. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We enjoyed this restaurant because of the value- extensive menu, large portions, reasonable prices and friendly staff. Steaks, prime rib, and other home style cooking all very good. You won't leave hungry!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Hogg's Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Boss Hogg's Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boss Hogg's Restaurant & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.