We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Tex Mex food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chato's

Chato's
230 Country Center Dr., Pagosa Springs, CO
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Stephenville, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good Tex Mex food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we liked this place!! Very clean, very colorful decor. The meals are pretty pricey, but the PLATTERS of food they brought out were huge!!! We should have shared 1 plate! Their hot sauce is very hot, but the chips were fresh and hot. We dined late, only one other family was there, the server was not very attentive
pretty good overall

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Consistently good Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Chato's in Pagosa Springs has been a consistent performer for us. The entrance is nicely adorned with a dozen very colorful flower baskets that give a nice sense of arrival. The restrooms are super clean and the overall cleanliness of this restaurant is impressive. The server was personable and efficient, refilling my iced tea as needed. Food was delivered in a very timely manner, as one would expect from Mexican restaurants. It's good food and generous portions. We had chile relleno and enchiladas. It was a good experience and we will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went for lunch and were thoroughly impressed. Everyone at the table loved their food and were full before finishing their plates. A tad pricey for lunch. 8 of us paid a little over $100 for our meals. However I wasn't expecting much and was very impressed with what we got.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chato's?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant looked amazing! The chicken enchilada was good. That was the only thing good food wise. The service was awesome, and the decor was really cute!! Name threw me though. Need to look up what Chatos means in Portuguese. People Unanimously Become Intelligent Characters Like Ichabod Crane Esquire

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacblack, Guest Relations Manager at Chato's, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to review Chato's. The name is actually the first name of the owner. Chato. The restaurant is named after him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Ok but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The restaurant was a nice mexican feel. Super expensive for mexican food. Our food was a little burned

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chato's also viewed

Pagosa Springs, CO
 

Been to Chato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chato's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.