We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place in Pagosa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Lodge to your Saves list
High Country Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
portland, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fun place in Pagosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

this place has a great little niche. Includes hot tubs, a good breakfast, very helpful staff, and clear rooms at very reasonable rates. Very close to Pagosa Springs and Wolf Creek as well. Only down side is that it actually is not in pagosa springs but outside a few miles, but that's really no big deal as you're going to drive anywhere anyways. I would definitely stay here again, and hope to come back with my kid!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at HCL, and taking time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words and letting others know your experience here. We look forward to your return-your child would have a great time here-there are so many activities in this area, that it's impossible to be bored.

We are 2 miles outside of Pagosa Springs, but that gives us an advantage. We are only 5 minutes from town, restaurants, and the hot springs resorts. But being out of town, we have 15 acres to roam around, quiet niches where you can sit and enjoy the abundant wildlife and scenery, and a large safe area for children to play. We are the closest resort to Wolf Creek Ski Area on this side of Wolf Creek Pass, so a short 20 minute drive will get you to the best powder in Colorado.

Thanks so much, and we hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    79
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
111
134
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portales,NM.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great amenities including hot tubs on a frigid evening, good wifi signal and the best bisquits and gravy and coffee you can imagine served on the weekends. Their breakfast was always good and the staff was very helpful and always courteous. It is a very charming place and this year they added a snow tubing area just outside the cabins. we had a great time and would definitely recommend this as an affordable and comfortable place for anyone to stay in any season.

Room Tip: The cabins are rustic and charming and a good alternative to the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and our new tubing park! We hope to see you again-each season has so much to offer, it's hard to be bored in Pagosa Springs. And if you are, just look around at the awesome scenery!
Thank you so much for staying with us, and taking time to tell others what a great stay you had.
We really appreciate our reviewers-you help us and you help future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is an awesome, cozy lodge to stay close to town and Wolf Creek. We stayed two nights at the lodge this past weekend, and we felt very much at home. It was our last vacation before our first baby arrives. We stayed in the lodge and the room was very nice. I loved how the owners updated most items in the room, but left certain eclectic pieces that kept the history of the lodge intact. We brought our boston terrier with us and they are very welcoming to pets. The breakfast was wonderful with a huge variety of options. My fav was the chocolate chip muffins! The customer service was top notch and very accommodating. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Pagosa Springs. Thanks for a memorable "babymoon" :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We enjoyed having you as our guests, and are so glad your stay was a memorable one. Your kind words made our day, and let us know our efforts are worthwhile. We will keep up the good work, and on your next trip, with both your little ones, I am sure you will see even more improvements that you will enjoy.
Thank you so much for choosing HCL for your "babymoon"! We appreciate you sharing your experience with others and letting future guests know what they can expect when staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Deciding to make a last minute trip to Pagosa Springs (Wolf Creek) for skiing we were a little concerned about finding decent accommodations. Let me begin by saying, I am a hotel snob. Recent military retirees, we've lived and traveled all over the world and no stranger to hotels and motels. I found New Years eve availability at High Country Lodge through their website. The website was easy to use and showed each room and cabin in detail. They were quick to respond to our request and two days later we were on our way. We had reservations for a motel room but after arriving were upgraded to a cabin. The cabin was obviously an older cabin but was extremely clean, well equipped, smelled wonderful (important to me) and very, very comfortable. The fireplace and complimentary wood was a treat and the bed super comfy (with luxury hotel grade sheets). The cabin is rustic and well maintained, not a shiny new modern cabin but in my opinion that added to the "cabin" experience. We appreicated the boutique soaps and shampoo too. The owners were helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. We were offered discount ski tickets which we gladly accepted. The lodge décor was warm and inviting and especially during the holiday season. Breakfast in the lodge was equal or better and fresher than any other complimentary breakfast we have had at a Marriott or Hampton Inn (our usual) and the dining/kitchen area was quaint and comfortable. The location to Wolf Creek Ski Area is ideal and about the best you can get. The trip into town is quick and easy and with the area brochures and dining information available in the room and front desk we weren't lacking or wondering whaere to go or how to get there. After talking to the owners it sounds like they have made lots of improvements and working hard to upgrade/update each and every room. After skiing, my husband did the hot tub and said it was the perfect temperature and didn't even have to share a hot tub. We would definitely go back and would recommend it to our family & friends. It was a great way to bring in the New Year, thank you High Country Lodge!

Room Tip: I would opt for a cabin vs a room but I am sure the rooms are just as clean and cozy. Don't be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for "getting" what we are all about. Your kind words make all the hours and hard work spent upgrading very worthwhile. When we feel appreciated, we work even harder to ensure that each guest has not just a pleasant or okay stay, but one that is exceptional.
We appreciate you taking time to let others know how much you enjoyed your time here. We hope you will come back often and become part of our HCL family. Happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Recently stayed at the High Country Lodge for 3 days. The drive to the ski lifts not TOO far from this resort (15 minutes each way). The beds were nice, as was the breakfast. I will say, really the only negative to this place, was the showers. Me and my party had two rooms, so it wasn't just my room's shower, but the shower's had horrible pressure. They thankfully could get hot, but the pressure was almost laughable. It wasn't the worst I have had (see my Dominican republic shower review), but this one was fighting to get to be that bad. I thought the staff and owners were very friendly as well. If you'd like to know what you get for breakfast, they served scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, make it yourself waffles, cereal/milk, mixed fruit, various breads/muffins, orange juice, water, and coffee. The price wasn't too crazy as well. If your going skkiing, you can buy lift tickets cheaper at the front desk than if you were to do it at Wolf Creek FYI. You can also buy hot spring tickets from the front desk as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
This is one of those times, when a 30 second call or visit to the front desk would have made all the difference. We are available to our guests 24/7, and will immediately respond to resolve any issue no matter when it arises. Why put up with poor water pressure (due to mineral build up in the shower head) when 5 minutes to change it out would have solved the problem?? Our intention is to make things right immediately, but we can't help you if we don't know.

Because of the snowstorm this last week, and the bitter cold (-20 -- -25 degrees) we have been responding to multiple issues, including frozen pipes, pulling stuck cars out of the snow, jumping dead batteries, providing guests with space heaters, extra blankets, and anything else to make them comfortable during this unexpected cold spell.

We do thank you for your kind words, and appreciate you staying with us. But if you decide to stay with us again, please remember we will always help, but you have to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are from Durango but were attending a New Years Eve party in Pagosa. Called High Country Lodge and made a room reservation, but got a call a few days later saying that a cabin had come available....very nice touch. From our previous experience with the property, I can tell that the new owners have really done a lot of work and added many personal touches. Very clean and comfortable and great breakfast offerings too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It was great having you as our guest. Our goal is to offer over the top customer serivce to everyone, and letting you know of an available upgrade in accomodations is part of that . It helps us to get feedback from our guests since it pushes us to do even better, and lets us know what matters most and adds va;ue their stay here.
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know your experience at HCL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am a Colorado girl. Raised in Fort Collins. This is the first time to Pagosa Springs. High Country Lodge was exactly what our family was looking for. A private cabin, space to play with our kids and dog, skiing near by,hot tubs, inner tubing out our front door, and time to enjoy natures winter beauty! The staff at High Country Lodge completely understands the concept of hospitality! This is definitely a place we would go to again, and one that we would recommend!

Room Tip: There are "hotel" style rooms available and cabins. We opted for one of the cabins which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and had such a good time. That's what its all about-the whole family, including the dog, having a stay to remember. We appreciate it so much when guests really understand what we are all about. It makes all the hours and hard work, totally worthwhile.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our future guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Address: 3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — High Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.