We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating and Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added High Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Country Lodge
3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CALL HCL DIRECT & SAVE!!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Pagosa Springs
Durango, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Accomodating and Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are from Durango but were attending a New Years Eve party in Pagosa. Called High Country Lodge and made a room reservation, but got a call a few days later saying that a cabin had come available....very nice touch. From our previous experience with the property, I can tell that the new owners have really done a lot of work and added many personal touches. Very clean and comfortable and great breakfast offerings too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It was great having you as our guest. Our goal is to offer over the top customer serivce to everyone, and letting you know of an available upgrade in accomodations is part of that . It helps us to get feedback from our guests since it pushes us to do even better, and lets us know what matters most and adds va;ue their stay here.
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know your experience at HCL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    56
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
85
102
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am a Colorado girl. Raised in Fort Collins. This is the first time to Pagosa Springs. High Country Lodge was exactly what our family was looking for. A private cabin, space to play with our kids and dog, skiing near by,hot tubs, inner tubing out our front door, and time to enjoy natures winter beauty! The staff at High Country Lodge completely understands the concept of hospitality! This is definitely a place we would go to again, and one that we would recommend!

Room Tip: There are "hotel" style rooms available and cabins. We opted for one of the cabins which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and had such a good time. That's what its all about-the whole family, including the dog, having a stay to remember. We appreciate it so much when guests really understand what we are all about. It makes all the hours and hard work, totally worthwhile.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our future guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

First time in a cabin during winter and I have to say we had the best time. Beautiful cabin and it was really warm & cozy despite the single-digit weather. Never seen so much snow being South Texas. The scenery was amazing. Outstanding customer service & delicious breakfast. We loved the tubing and the convenience of the tubing area just feet away from our cabin. Will definitely come back. Muchas gracias.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us--we appreciate you taking time to let others know what a great time you had here. When we get a review like this, it makes our day because we know you understood our goal of providing a great place to stay with over the top customer service. This was visit number one-the next visit makes you part of our HCL "family". We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at High Country Lodge to be close to the Wolf Creek Ski Resort. The desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered a little bit of everything to suit the likes of all in our party. One concern we had was that the room was cold and drafty. The thermostat was set on 54 degrees when we checked in, and we stayed in the end unit, so it was hard to get the room warm. Our other concern was the fact that we could hear every footstep of our neighbors on the second floor at 5 am. A little early for our taste. We would consider staying here again, but we would choose to stay in a different unit so it would not be quite as cold.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We want to thank you for choosing High Country Lodge for your recent stay in Pagosa Springs. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here. We work hard to ensure that all of our guests have a positive experience. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and all it has to offer. We are sorry that you experienced some discomfort with the heating unit in your room.We encourage all our guests to contact the front desk with any problems they encounter so that they may be addressed immediately.Most in room problems can be quickly addressed by our maintenance staff. As for the early morning noise, with it being ski season, many of our guests are up early and getting ready to hit the slopes at Wolf Creek( especially on a powder day! ) That means alot of ski boots walking around. You may want to try one of our cabins on your next visit. Thank you again for choosing HCL and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at High Country Lodge one night with our teen sons before skiing at Wolf Creek.

The good things: friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms, about as close to the ski area as you can get, nice breakfast.

The not-so-good: thin walls, and our room was a little shabby.

We will probably stay again, though.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and intend to return. We have been steadily upgrading our rooms and cabins since the new owners took over in June. We still have things we would like to accomplish, but that is being done in increments. So when you come back, I'm sure you will notice new additions here and there for you to enjoy.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in one of the hotel rooms (not a cabin). Everything was great. The staff was very nice and helpful - especially for us Texans who are not used to the snowy conditions. It is located about as close to Wolf Creek Ski Area as you can get, and it has 3 hot tubs that were great after a long day of skiing. The only knock on the hotel rooms was that the building seems almost hollow and we could hear footsteps and talking from other guests. But because everyone is tired from skiing, it did not really affect our trip. We plan to come back next year and upgrade to a cabin.

Room Tip: I'd pick a cabin if you can afford the extra money. They looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and are planning on coming back. Tip: during ski season, book cabins as far ahead as you can because they book up quickly when the snow flies, and we want you to be happy with your accomodations. The cabins are more spacious than the rooms, have kitchens or kitchenettes, and are quieter due to being further from the road.
We look forward to seeing you next year-we are changing constantly, so there is always something new to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Super friendly desk staff was very helpful with our check-in as well as a great restaurant recommendation. The hotel room was incredibly clean, but could use a bit of updating. Breakfast was very comprehensive in a cozy setting that felt comfortable and homey. Would definitely stay again if we go back to Pagosa Springs but will probably choose a cabin and stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with future guests. We are a great location for four season enjoyment, and we look forward to seeing you again. Updating is happening on an ongoing basis as we evaluate items to make sure they will make our facility more comfortable and enjoyable for our guests. Each time you stay, I'm sure you will notice the changes since your last visit. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Address: 3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres with a private catch and release stocked fishing pond in the summer and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes; a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna,a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles East of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.