We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added High Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
High Country Lodge
3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Pagosa Springs
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Great Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in one of the hotel rooms (not a cabin). Everything was great. The staff was very nice and helpful - especially for us Texans who are not used to the snowy conditions. It is located about as close to Wolf Creek Ski Area as you can get, and it has 3 hot tubs that were great after a long day of skiing. The only knock on the hotel rooms was that the building seems almost hollow and we could hear footsteps and talking from other guests. But because everyone is tired from skiing, it did not really affect our trip. We plan to come back next year and upgrade to a cabin.

Room Tip: I'd pick a cabin if you can afford the extra money. They looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and are planning on coming back. Tip: during ski season, book cabins as far ahead as you can because they book up quickly when the snow flies, and we want you to be happy with your accomodations. The cabins are more spacious than the rooms, have kitchens or kitchenettes, and are quieter due to being further from the road.
We look forward to seeing you next year-we are changing constantly, so there is always something new to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    50
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
91
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Super friendly desk staff was very helpful with our check-in as well as a great restaurant recommendation. The hotel room was incredibly clean, but could use a bit of updating. Breakfast was very comprehensive in a cozy setting that felt comfortable and homey. Would definitely stay again if we go back to Pagosa Springs but will probably choose a cabin and stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with future guests. We are a great location for four season enjoyment, and we look forward to seeing you again. Updating is happening on an ongoing basis as we evaluate items to make sure they will make our facility more comfortable and enjoyable for our guests. Each time you stay, I'm sure you will notice the changes since your last visit. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeker
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very friendly front desk person made us feel welcome from the time of our initial phone contact and throughout our 2-night stay. The new owner (France?) extended the same feeling of hospitality as the woman at the front desk.

As new owners, France and her husband are in the process of completely remodeling the place. The new beds can only be described as "Wow!"

One of our pieces of luggage and a pair of boots enjoyed the hotel so much that they tried to stay. (Don't ask, lol!). Lucky for us, the housekeeping person turned them in and France immediately left us a message. She then packed everything up and had them shipped to us. All we had to do was give her our credit card info to cover shipping.

The only down side was that the restaurant that they tout on their website is no longer in business. The hotel needs to update their website to reflect this. Because the hotel is outside of town a little bit, this created an inconvenience the evening of our arrival, after a LONG drive. If the restaurant ever reopens and the food is good, High Country Lodge will be nearly perfect

Would we stay again? Definitely! Next time, though, we'll make sure all our stuff comes home when we do! :o)

Room Tip: Stayed in hotel itself, which is off the highway. Road noise quieted down after dark, and wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We really enjoyed having you stay with us-we are developing quite a HCL guest "family".
Thank you for all your kind words and sharing your experience with our other potential guests.
We have made a lot of changes in HCL in the past 6 months, and it is so gratifying to receive appreciation for all the hard work.
We have not owned or been associated with the restaurant next door for about 3 years now, and so have not had them on our website. However if someone new did buy it and have really great food for our guests, we might consider being associated with the restaurant again in some capacity. We would welcome that, since it is such a convenience for our guests. We are sorry that you were disappointed it was no longer open when you arrived. But we are lucky in that we are located only 5 minutes from some very good restaurants downtown, and only 10 minutes from some great restaurants on the other side of town.
Take care and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our third stay at this facility and we have always enjoyed it. On this last trip through, we found that new owners had taken over and have begun some updating to the facility. As I mentioned we have always found it to be a great place but the new touches were certainly noticed. They have done a good job of updating but not totally changing the feel of the place. It is cozy and inviting. I hope they will be able to continue the reasonable rates after all the updates! The breakfast included is wonderful, with a large variety to choose from. I have always used this as a quick stop through from somewhere else and look forward to making it a destination at some point in order to enjoy it more and check out the cabins.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and for making us your home away from home. You are right, a longer stay would be very enjoyable as there is so much to do in this area of Colorado-there is something for every interest in every season. Balloon festivals, music and art festivals, fishing, hiking, and enjoying our hot springs spas are just a few of the activities available in this area of Colorado. We appreciate your loyalty in staying with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Oh my what a fantastic place! We chose to stay here as our route had changed. We had a little cabin with full kitchenette and a fireplace. The place has three hot tubs. It was about 32 degrees the morning after our arrival but we took advantage of the hot tubs. The views were beautiful from this rustic country cottage. Great breakfast. Great hospitality. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are so glad you found us! There are many unexpected treasures in Colorado, and we are trying to be one of those that travelers find and come back to over and over again. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again, whenever you are in the area. Thank you for taking time to let others know how much you enjoyed staying here-we appreciate it very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Four of my girlfriends and myself, always gather three times a year to go skiing at Wolf Creek. We love staying at the High Country Lodge. New owners Dan and France have taken great pride and it definitely shows. Thank you for an excellent weekend! Marla

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Sounds like you and your girl friends had a great time! That's what it's all about-supporting you and your friends with the comfort, surroundings, and hospitality that make a trip memorable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with others-it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent a week here in one of the cabins and will most definitely plan on staying again! Excellant accomodations, fantastic breakfasts and all the comforts of home! The Serta king bed in the cabin was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts even during the week beat most any chain! Real scrambled eggs, 4 kinds of cereal, waffles, muffins, bagels, toast, pastries, fresh fruit, and the biscuits and gravy on the weekend rivaled home cooked! And the coffee was awesome! Will definitely be back in the spring!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your experience here. We really enjoyed having you, and watching you have such a good time. That's what it's all about-kicking back, relaxing, having fun with family and friends in a great atmosphere of hospitality and congeniality. We hope you will come back often and enjoy this area in all seasons. Its neat to have a place you can call your home away from home. Meeting people-welcoming new friends, and having old friends come back time and again-that's what we enjoy most in this business. And now you are part of that group we call our HCL "family". Welcome!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
Address: 3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres with a private catch and release stocked fishing pond in the summer and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes; a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna,a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles East of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.