We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added High Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Country Lodge
3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CALL HCL DIRECT & SAVE!!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Pagosa Springs
Meeker
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very friendly front desk person made us feel welcome from the time of our initial phone contact and throughout our 2-night stay. The new owner (France?) extended the same feeling of hospitality as the woman at the front desk.

As new owners, France and her husband are in the process of completely remodeling the place. The new beds can only be described as "Wow!"

One of our pieces of luggage and a pair of boots enjoyed the hotel so much that they tried to stay. (Don't ask, lol!). Lucky for us, the housekeeping person turned them in and France immediately left us a message. She then packed everything up and had them shipped to us. All we had to do was give her our credit card info to cover shipping.

The only down side was that the restaurant that they tout on their website is no longer in business. The hotel needs to update their website to reflect this. Because the hotel is outside of town a little bit, this created an inconvenience the evening of our arrival, after a LONG drive. If the restaurant ever reopens and the food is good, High Country Lodge will be nearly perfect

Would we stay again? Definitely! Next time, though, we'll make sure all our stuff comes home when we do! :o)

Room Tip: Stayed in hotel itself, which is off the highway. Road noise quieted down after dark, and wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We really enjoyed having you stay with us-we are developing quite a HCL guest "family".
Thank you for all your kind words and sharing your experience with our other potential guests.
We have made a lot of changes in HCL in the past 6 months, and it is so gratifying to receive appreciation for all the hard work.
We have not owned or been associated with the restaurant next door for about 3 years now, and so have not had them on our website. However if someone new did buy it and have really great food for our guests, we might consider being associated with the restaurant again in some capacity. We would welcome that, since it is such a convenience for our guests. We are sorry that you were disappointed it was no longer open when you arrived. But we are lucky in that we are located only 5 minutes from some very good restaurants downtown, and only 10 minutes from some great restaurants on the other side of town.
Take care and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    52
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
99
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our third stay at this facility and we have always enjoyed it. On this last trip through, we found that new owners had taken over and have begun some updating to the facility. As I mentioned we have always found it to be a great place but the new touches were certainly noticed. They have done a good job of updating but not totally changing the feel of the place. It is cozy and inviting. I hope they will be able to continue the reasonable rates after all the updates! The breakfast included is wonderful, with a large variety to choose from. I have always used this as a quick stop through from somewhere else and look forward to making it a destination at some point in order to enjoy it more and check out the cabins.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and for making us your home away from home. You are right, a longer stay would be very enjoyable as there is so much to do in this area of Colorado-there is something for every interest in every season. Balloon festivals, music and art festivals, fishing, hiking, and enjoying our hot springs spas are just a few of the activities available in this area of Colorado. We appreciate your loyalty in staying with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Oh my what a fantastic place! We chose to stay here as our route had changed. We had a little cabin with full kitchenette and a fireplace. The place has three hot tubs. It was about 32 degrees the morning after our arrival but we took advantage of the hot tubs. The views were beautiful from this rustic country cottage. Great breakfast. Great hospitality. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are so glad you found us! There are many unexpected treasures in Colorado, and we are trying to be one of those that travelers find and come back to over and over again. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again, whenever you are in the area. Thank you for taking time to let others know how much you enjoyed staying here-we appreciate it very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Four of my girlfriends and myself, always gather three times a year to go skiing at Wolf Creek. We love staying at the High Country Lodge. New owners Dan and France have taken great pride and it definitely shows. Thank you for an excellent weekend! Marla

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Sounds like you and your girl friends had a great time! That's what it's all about-supporting you and your friends with the comfort, surroundings, and hospitality that make a trip memorable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with others-it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent a week here in one of the cabins and will most definitely plan on staying again! Excellant accomodations, fantastic breakfasts and all the comforts of home! The Serta king bed in the cabin was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts even during the week beat most any chain! Real scrambled eggs, 4 kinds of cereal, waffles, muffins, bagels, toast, pastries, fresh fruit, and the biscuits and gravy on the weekend rivaled home cooked! And the coffee was awesome! Will definitely be back in the spring!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your experience here. We really enjoyed having you, and watching you have such a good time. That's what it's all about-kicking back, relaxing, having fun with family and friends in a great atmosphere of hospitality and congeniality. We hope you will come back often and enjoy this area in all seasons. Its neat to have a place you can call your home away from home. Meeting people-welcoming new friends, and having old friends come back time and again-that's what we enjoy most in this business. And now you are part of that group we call our HCL "family". Welcome!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to stay and enjoy the beauty and feel the greatness of our Lord. Owners go out of the way to help always with a smile.
Free hot breakfast that was great and so appreciated!!!!!
My daughter was married there in the great outdoors with beauty all around us.
Will be back High country Lodge for We have found a special place!
Thanks to all for a wonderful time

Room Tip: all the cabins were great, and can sleep a number of people depending on the cabin. All have wood bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We always love it when someone really "gets" what we are about-customer service, comfortable rooms, cozy cabins, and keeping our guests as happy as possible in one of the prettiest places in Colorado! You made our day, our week, our month! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let others know your experience. We are so happy your daughter's wedding came off so perfectly -what a nice memory that will make.

We hope all of you will come back often and make this your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had no reservation and all cabins were full. The single king was adequate not elaborate. The breakfast left much to be desired, but being that nearly every restaurant in town was closed, it had to do. Probably wouldn't return, but it served us for the one night we were there. Beggars can't be choosy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I am so sorry you felt you had a bad experience here. But to be fair, lets examine the circumstances. You arrived rather late in the evening, without a reservation, and wanted a cabin, which were all sold out. I offered you the very spacious and nicely upgraded king room on the upper level, which you refused, opting instead for the upgraded small king room on the lower level (both were the same price). Since June, our facility has been improved at least 500%, including new mattresses in all lodge rooms, new tvs and dvd players, microwaves and refrigerators, new towels, new linens and bedding, new furnishings and artwork, and much more. Our very moderate room rates include an expanded continental breakfast, free wifi, the use of our hot tubs and sauna, and our new patio with cozy furniture and firepits and even more amenities. I even advised you that since you had not eaten yet, it would be wise to go back to town and eat, since many restaurants close earlier here than in a large city. I gave you a dining guide and pointed out 2 or 3 restaurants that stay open a bit later than others.

I must stress that we are not a restaurant. We serve a continental breakfast only, and it is included with your room. Our weekday fare consists of scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, Belgian waffles, muffins and sweet rolls, assorted bagels, fresh fruit, and fruit salad. On weekends we add sausage gravy and buiscuits. We also serve European style coffee, including latte, cappuccino, espresso, etc. If you want a restaurant meal, then by all means, please go to a restaurant-there are many open on Monday morning, only 5 minutes from here.
But please be fair, and don't blame us for not being a restaurant-you knew that when you signed in.

If for some reason, your room doesn't suit you, we are always happy to change it. If you read some of the other reviews, you will find that we go out of our way to always satisfy each and every person who stays with us. I am just sorry that you didn't come to us and let us know you were dissatisfied. We would have done everything possible to make things better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Address: 3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres with a private catch and release stocked fishing pond in the summer and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes; a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna,a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles East of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.