We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added High Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
High Country Lodge
3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Pagosa Springs
Springfield, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Oh my what a fantastic place! We chose to stay here as our route had changed. We had a little cabin with full kitchenette and a fireplace. The place has three hot tubs. It was about 32 degrees the morning after our arrival but we took advantage of the hot tubs. The views were beautiful from this rustic country cottage. Great breakfast. Great hospitality. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are so glad you found us! There are many unexpected treasures in Colorado, and we are trying to be one of those that travelers find and come back to over and over again. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again, whenever you are in the area. Thank you for taking time to let others know how much you enjoyed staying here-we appreciate it very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    50
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
91
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Four of my girlfriends and myself, always gather three times a year to go skiing at Wolf Creek. We love staying at the High Country Lodge. New owners Dan and France have taken great pride and it definitely shows. Thank you for an excellent weekend! Marla

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Sounds like you and your girl friends had a great time! That's what it's all about-supporting you and your friends with the comfort, surroundings, and hospitality that make a trip memorable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with others-it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent a week here in one of the cabins and will most definitely plan on staying again! Excellant accomodations, fantastic breakfasts and all the comforts of home! The Serta king bed in the cabin was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts even during the week beat most any chain! Real scrambled eggs, 4 kinds of cereal, waffles, muffins, bagels, toast, pastries, fresh fruit, and the biscuits and gravy on the weekend rivaled home cooked! And the coffee was awesome! Will definitely be back in the spring!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your experience here. We really enjoyed having you, and watching you have such a good time. That's what it's all about-kicking back, relaxing, having fun with family and friends in a great atmosphere of hospitality and congeniality. We hope you will come back often and enjoy this area in all seasons. Its neat to have a place you can call your home away from home. Meeting people-welcoming new friends, and having old friends come back time and again-that's what we enjoy most in this business. And now you are part of that group we call our HCL "family". Welcome!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to stay and enjoy the beauty and feel the greatness of our Lord. Owners go out of the way to help always with a smile.
Free hot breakfast that was great and so appreciated!!!!!
My daughter was married there in the great outdoors with beauty all around us.
Will be back High country Lodge for We have found a special place!
Thanks to all for a wonderful time

Room Tip: all the cabins were great, and can sleep a number of people depending on the cabin. All have wood bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We always love it when someone really "gets" what we are about-customer service, comfortable rooms, cozy cabins, and keeping our guests as happy as possible in one of the prettiest places in Colorado! You made our day, our week, our month! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let others know your experience. We are so happy your daughter's wedding came off so perfectly -what a nice memory that will make.

We hope all of you will come back often and make this your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had no reservation and all cabins were full. The single king was adequate not elaborate. The breakfast left much to be desired, but being that nearly every restaurant in town was closed, it had to do. Probably wouldn't return, but it served us for the one night we were there. Beggars can't be choosy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I am so sorry you felt you had a bad experience here. But to be fair, lets examine the circumstances. You arrived rather late in the evening, without a reservation, and wanted a cabin, which were all sold out. I offered you the very spacious and nicely upgraded king room on the upper level, which you refused, opting instead for the upgraded small king room on the lower level (both were the same price). Since June, our facility has been improved at least 500%, including new mattresses in all lodge rooms, new tvs and dvd players, microwaves and refrigerators, new towels, new linens and bedding, new furnishings and artwork, and much more. Our very moderate room rates include an expanded continental breakfast, free wifi, the use of our hot tubs and sauna, and our new patio with cozy furniture and firepits and even more amenities. I even advised you that since you had not eaten yet, it would be wise to go back to town and eat, since many restaurants close earlier here than in a large city. I gave you a dining guide and pointed out 2 or 3 restaurants that stay open a bit later than others.

I must stress that we are not a restaurant. We serve a continental breakfast only, and it is included with your room. Our weekday fare consists of scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, Belgian waffles, muffins and sweet rolls, assorted bagels, fresh fruit, and fruit salad. On weekends we add sausage gravy and buiscuits. We also serve European style coffee, including latte, cappuccino, espresso, etc. If you want a restaurant meal, then by all means, please go to a restaurant-there are many open on Monday morning, only 5 minutes from here.
But please be fair, and don't blame us for not being a restaurant-you knew that when you signed in.

If for some reason, your room doesn't suit you, we are always happy to change it. If you read some of the other reviews, you will find that we go out of our way to always satisfy each and every person who stays with us. I am just sorry that you didn't come to us and let us know you were dissatisfied. We would have done everything possible to make things better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I did not like the two story lodge but the very service minded staff directed us to the cabins which we loved and priced reasonably. We are staying there next year, September this time, when we head back to Pagosa Springs. Could have improved breakfast with bacon/ham/sausage but waffles, eggs, fruit, coffee, etc was "adequate plus". Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the new amenities. I wish you had been here on the weekend-we add sausage gravy and biscuits to our breakfast menu, and I'm sure you would have liked it. We appreciate you taking time to let others know your experience here. We hope you will come back often and enjoy our area in different seasons. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have been coming to Pagosa Springs for 10 years to see the fall colors and to soak in the mineral baths. We always stay at the High Country Lodge. This year we tried a one bedroom cabin as opposed to the smaller one room cabins. We were not disappointed ! While High Country lodge has always been a quaint choice just outside of town, the new owners have certainly taken it up a notch ! We are thrilled to see the upgrades. More hot tubs, better linens, new beds, flat panel tvs, sparkling clean. The grounds are just beautiful too with BBQ, a new kid playset, firepits, plenty of room to roam and dog friendly. It is very noisy since it's so close to the highway with semi trucks using jake breaks. But you will hear that anywhere in town. The much touted " expanded breakfast " is nothing special. Same continental , bland offerings you come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express / Hampton Inn. But we don't come for the breakfast, we come for the natural beauty of the area and High Country Lodge is by far the best choice in accomodations.

Room Tip: The one bedroom cabins are truly special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our new upgrades and improvements, and it lets us know we are doing the right things to make our guests happy.
Fall is a great time to visit southern Colorado-the weather is great, and the colors are spectacular. Come back often and we will always do our best to make you feel welcome.
Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
Address: 3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres with a private catch and release stocked fishing pond in the summer and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes; a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna,a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles East of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.