We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Roadside Stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Lodge to your Saves list
High Country Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Roadside Stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed one night in a small cabin while passing through Pagosa Springs. The desk clerk was very friendly and made sure we had everything that we needed. We enjoyed building a fire in the wood stove since it was a chilly spring evening. The road noise was a little loud due to the sound of the passing semi trucks echoing through out the valley. We tried the continental breakfast and it was excellent. All in all, I'd recommend one of the cabin's to anyone I know that would visit the area.

Room Tip: Book a cabin, they are futher off the highway and you won't have to worrry about the neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
We enjoyed having you stay with us and glad you liked our continental breakfast. We are always trying new items to please our guests. Let us know if you have any suggestions while you are here, because we welcome your ideas. Come back and stay with us again-we are painting and doing a lot of maintenance right now to make our facility even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    79
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
111
134
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed in one of the small cabins (two double beds, toilet/shower, small kitchenette) for four nights while visiting relatives in Pagosa Springs in early May. Got great rates because it was the off season. Place was clean, beds were very comfortable, and we could either cook our own breakfast or have their continental breakfast in the nice dining area in the lodge (breakfast is included even for those who book cabins as opposed to rooms). Hot tub was welcomed one night when it got rather cold outside. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
So glad you got the chance to stay with us and enjoy our off season rates. April and May are a good
time to visit because it's not busy and you can have a quiet stay. The hiking trails and hot springs resorts are uncrowded and restaurants aren't that busy. But Pagosa is great any time of year, so come back often and we will always give you a warm welcome, a clean room, and a good breakfast. If we made you feel at home, then we feel successful. Watch for special rates and promotions in your email and come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a "lodge" room for 1 night. This is really more of an old style motel with upper and lower outside entrances. Has the feel of a well worn Super 8 or Motel 6. Located right on the highway. Can't understand the 4 and 5 star reviews at all (maybe the cabins are great). Would not stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
It really makes us sad that you didn't like us, because we really try hard to make everything as nice as possible for our guests. While you were here, we were taking bids on painting the exteriors of the lodge and cabins, and the painting has now been accomplished. In addition, we are updating the interiors of all the motel rooms, with paint, etc, and the cabins are next in line. Our summer flower baskets just arrived, and soon we will be all spruced up for the busy season.
You know, even if we can't be perfect in appearance, we try to make up for it by giving extra good customer servicel, making guests feel at home, and accomodating special requests.
Next time you are in Pagosa Springs, stop by, check out our improvements and see if you wouldn't like to give us another try. We would welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed one night in motel, second floor room. Cold, snowy night so room's warmth was welcoming. Exhausted after wintry travel so comfy bed/pillows were wonderful. Linens smelled clean (bleach) but both towels and bed sheets had brownish stains. Woke up at midnight to neighbor's loud TV and partiers' voices. Also, mini-fridge not plugged in when we got there so after doing so, listened to the loud hum of the 'frig go on and off all night. Needed to keep some food cold otherwise would have left it unplugged. Environmentally friendly shower head (i.e. low flow) shot out hot, then cold water. In room coffee maker was a huge plus, since lobby is locked until 7:00 a.m. and no chance of getting breakfast a few mintues early. Breakfast hours are 7:00-9:00 firm, so you can't even grab a bagel or piece of fruit for the road. Early travelers are out of luck. Front desk woman very nice. Paid $67 for room; very good price for this area; just don't expect the quality of better chain hotels...this is a mom & pop operation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
This is one of those times, when a call or a visit to the front desk would have made all the difference.
We often open the breakfast a bit early, especially on weekends. And we accomodate special requests-just let us know you need to leave early and you can make a breakfast plate the night before to give you a good start on the road, and we will provide extra coffee for your room. Or call us in the morning and we will let you in early-not everything may be ready until 7:00, but you are welcome to what is ready, plus hot coffee. I apologize for the noise-we had a couple of basketball teams here for a tournament and they didn't seem to understand the concept of "quiet time".
We put a lot of effort into keeping our rooms and linens in the best shape possible-we are upgrading as quickly as we can-but everything depends on the budget-we don't have the backing of a big chain motel system to help us out. But precisely because we are a "mom and pop" operation, we accomodate special requests and go the extra mile to make our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed in small cabins to ski Wolf Creek for a few days. Only about 20 min from the slopes and 5 to Pagosa Hot Springs. Very relaxing place for me and the kids. Hot tubs and sauna were great after a day boarding. Continental breakfast was good and since we had a kitchenette, the choice was ours whether to go out or stay in for dinner. Mostly stayed in since it was such a relaxing place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! Your kind words inspire us to keep doing more to make our guests happy. We always welcome suggestions from our guests, so always let us know if we can help.
If you liked winter here, come back and enjoy summer and fall as well. Pagosa Springs has much to offer and there are lots of festivals and celebrations to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed Here with some friends while skiing . Close to Wolf Creek, has a nice hot tub area with mountain views. There was a sauna as well. Was great for after skiing relaxation. Room was clean and the breakfast was pretty good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
So glad you and your friends had a good time. That's what it's all about. The hot tubs are great after skiiing aren't they? And our breakfast gives you a good start with lots of energy to keep going all day long. Come back often and we will keep making your stay comfortable. Thank you for writing a review, we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nice place. Clean room. Good choices for breakfast. Staff was polite. Sauna was pretty cool. Would stay here again. Hotel has a really neat restaurant just a few steps away-if you don't want to drive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
We enjoyed having you as guests, and hope you will return many times. If you ever have suggestions for how we can serve you better, please let us know. We are always open to new ideas. Thank you for taking the time to write a review-it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Address: 3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — High Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.