We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice cabins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Lodge to your Saves list
High Country Lodge
3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CALL HCL DIRECT & SAVE!!
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Very nice cabins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My family of 3 stayed in one of the cabins for 2 nights. We enjoyed the grounds, especially the hot tubs. The cabins were nice, but nothing fancy. Breakfast was good and a nice bonus. The coffee was excellent. Location was close to downtown Pagosa & the staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    70
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
96
128
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Last October we ( my wife and I ) stayed at the High Country Lodge for a few nights.
The manager Michael and his staff were very helpful and made our stay enjoyable.
We chose to stay in a small cabin with 2 large beds, kitchen and chunky table and chairs . But the most enjoyable part was the large open fire and an abundant supply of logs.
The room was very cosy and great for us.
The views were great, with frosty mornings and clear blue skies.
About 30 m across the lawned area you gain access to the breakfast area, which is in the main part of the Lodge. there they have a seating area with a good selection of coffee juices and cereals, toast , waffles etc. Of which I took a selection back to our cabin every morning

The cabin and the public rooms of the Lodge were very clean with attention to detail.
Yes there are a lot more swanky Lodges to stay in but for the money they are very good value and a deal can always be had.
Outside there are several pools or spas not sure what you would call them.... springs I guess


We look forward to returning this Oct / Nov 2011 for a 5 week stay in one of their larger cabins and enjoying their hospitality again

You would never find a place like this in the UK

Room Tip: Just ask..... and deal directly with the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I'm not sure how the High Country Lodge is tied in with the America's Best chain because the inn appears to be a family run establishment. I love supporting independently owned local businesses and HCL is a fine example of such. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and valued. The location is great- 20 minutes to Wolf Creek and 5 mintues to downtown Pagosa Springs. The rooms are basic but adequately equipped and clean. The continental breakfast is simple but good, and the breakfast room is a cozy space to chat with other skiers before heading up the mountain. This was our second time staying there and it will definitely be our go-to for next year's ski trips.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband and I reserved a small cabin here to celebrate our anniversary. After a day of skiing (always great snow at Wolf Creek!), we enjoyed the wood burning fireplace in our cozy cabin and found everything we needed in the kitchenette. Very comfy bed, simple but nice breakfast, fun sledding hill next to our cabin, friendly customer service - they even gave us more firewood the 2nd night at no charge. It was nice having 4 hot tubs available 24-7 but they really needed to be cleaned... Convenient location, overall great experience - we have already booked a second visit for next month!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

This hotel was a value that accepted dogs and had okay rooms. However, it is located right next to the highway and does have that noise in the rooms. The restaurant next door is not open on Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday. The hot tub spilled over on my t-shirt and the resulting water spots ruined it. The cabins in the back might be better, but we stayed in the hotel. Breakfast was okay also with waffles, hard boiled eggs, canned fruit and cereal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

A friend and I recently checked in for what was intended to be a 3 day stay. We had stayed there long ago and were NOT disappointed in our return visit. We planned to ski two days, but unfortunately my friend hurt himself and we departed a day early, thanks to the High Country's cooperative stance that allowed us to leave a day early without penalty. Our two nights here included a spotless room and shower, new or nearly new queen beds, new quilts on the beds and appointments in the room, micro-fridge, a flat screen TV, and more channels than we could ever watch. The jacuzzis were wonderful, too. The best part of the stay however, was the gracious and helpful staff. We had contact with 5 different employees, including the manager and his wife. All were helpful and very friendly. As other reviews have mentioned, the breakfast was great, too! I would definitely go back when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Well, we planned to stay only one night at the High Country Lodge but wound of staying 4 nights! Our cabin was clean and charming. Great place to bring your dog or horse. Rates were much better than the Durango area and the location is outside the town of Pagosa Springs. Ol Miners Steakhouse is located on the property and serves OUTSTANDING food too. I'd highly recommend staying in a cabin where you have your own kitchen and living room. Continental breakfast is also included. There isn't a pool but there are 4 hot tubs. Check it out, you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Address: 3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes; a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna,a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 Miles East of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.