We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, Huge Portions, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose

The Rose
408 Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
970-264-2955
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Diner, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty food, Huge Portions, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Showed up on a Sunday morning thinking there would be a mad rush for breakfast. Despite the place being packed the service rocked. The food portions were huge and the prices were cheaper than what I would expect to pay for the amount. The food was delicious. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Pagosa.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    21
    26
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, CO
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good service, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Centrally located in main Pagosa Springs, this place is very popular (and good) for breakfasts. Can't miss but may be a bit of a wait getting served due to popularity

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My Husband, Children and I all went to The Rose for Breakfast last weekend and this was by far the best breakfast we have had in a long time. It is a small little resturant very down home, casual feeling! Service was great and we didn't need to ask for anything, everything was always brought to us before needing it. My kids enjoyed themselves and loved the BIG waffels and pancakes. Defintiely try it out!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent hole in the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We were looking for a great breakfast restaurant and stumbled on this gem. First, the service was outstanding and everyone was extremely friendly. We ordered the following:
PROS:
Eggs over easy (cooked perfectly)
Red & Green Chili (both were very good)
Blueberry pancakes (HUGE and filled with monstrous blueberries!) excellent choice
Pagosa french toast (Texas toast dipped in pancake batter, not my husband's favorite, but I thought it was tasty)
Hashbrowns (tasted like homemade)
Bacon (extra crispy just like we love it)
CONS:
Extremely weak coffee...need more grounds, it was so watery...

They also have daily specials. Monday was meatloaf and from what we saw, very well received by others there. Even had people picking up meatloaf for take out.

They are only open til 2pm, but serve breakfast til they close, which we LOVE!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An option for breakfast...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Been here many times over the past 5 years. Don't know if management has stayed the same over that time. In the past, they've had great blueberry pancakes and great (local) sausage. This time I tried the Huevos Rancheros and found the red chili to be a little overwhelming -- they smothered practically the whole dish with it. On a previous occasion, I tried the eggs benedict and found that dish to be tasty. This restaurant is definitely better than the Elkhorn Cafe for breakfast. It is typically full and you may have to wait for a table. There are not a lot of breakfast options in Pagosa and this is one that you should give a shot!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose also viewed

 
Pagosa Springs, CO
 

Been to The Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.