We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Wildlife Park

Rocky Mountain Wildlife Park
4821 Hwy 84, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
(970) 264-5546
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Pagosa Springs, CO
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

If you have kids and are in Pagosa Springs, you must stop here. Try to arrange your trip around the animal's feeding time (I think it's about 4 p.m.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    3
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience, but more commercial than I'd like”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I definitely came away with the impression that this was a side-show attraction rather than a wildlife refuge.
The Grizzly pen was MUCH too small.
If it is non-profile, they should highlight it, because I won't visit again based on my impression of the place.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Our family really enjoyed our visit to this park. It does not have the variety of animals of a big urban zoo but it does have some great rescued animals. The animals have large fenced in areas and it was wonderful to watch the mountian lions roam around. The staff was great and informative. We were all happy that we went and thought it was worth the money.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the $$”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I'm sure they do great things for their animals, but it's not worth the cost. We visited mid afternoon and did not see any animals what so ever. Just don't bother!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good with fun animals.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

It was a little more expensive than I would have liked. I expected to see a few more animals for the price. I went with small kids. We all enjoyed seeing the various animals. We also did a horse ride for a small child. The people were kind enough to make it possible without even a reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountain Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Rocky Mountain Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.