We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly Service - Avg Condition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added San Juan Motel to your Saves list
San Juan Motel
191 E. Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, Friendly Service - Avg Condition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Location: as other reviews mention, great location next to food, stores, rental store, and restaurants.
Service: excellent. Everyone was very nice and friendly, and took the time to talk with us and give recommendations. Made the stay very nice.
Jacuzzi: excellent! Nice and warm (was cleaned, took 1 day to warm up to a nice 104F).
Cabin #7: wouldn't recommend it...too small, and I'd bring can openers (the two here were broken). Also, the gas stove leaked a bit, so I turned the main switch off (no big deal, but a nuisance). It'd also be nice if it had a microwave and toaster, which I believe the larger cabins have.
WiFi: worked, but very slow (<0.5 Mbps). OK for email. Usually I get >5 Mbps at hotels, and 25 at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are correct, even though cabin #7 has been updated even as far as reconfiguring the bathroom from its original design, this cabin is less suitable for families than some of our other cabins.
We apologize the can openers did not operate. If we had known we would have replaced them as we keep new ones on hand.
We hope you decide to stay with us again and bring any of your concerns to our attention while on site so we can make any needed corrections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    11
    12
    12
See reviews for
25
26
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very affordable and close to the mountain for easy access to snowboarding. Rented a 2 bedroom cabin with a couple of friends and the space and kitchen were awesome. Clean place to crash after a long day on the mountain and the hot tub does the soar legs good. Breakfast is a plus but it is just a simple no thrills offering. Will stay again!

Room Tip: Private cabins are great for a little extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate everyone's input. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the skiing.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

nice location on the river and close to ski area, nice staff, free breakfast and a hot tub was nice, also liquor store across street was cool, also a ski rental sporting goods store across street where we rented our skis.

Room Tip: ask for small renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We hope you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in one of the recently updated cabins in October and were a little disappointed with the updates. The gas heaters were so noisy all night that it was difficult to sleep and the beds felt like there was nothing on top of the box springs. This is a really great location and the exterior of the cabins and proximity to the hot springs, cute shops and the San Juan River are amazing, but the interiors and comfort level for guest could really use some TLC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We appreciate your review and apologize that you found the wall heater units noisey. If you are not accustomed to wall heaters we understand that the sound of the flame kicking on and them warming up can be distracting. We wished we had known at the front desk as we could have either offered to move you to a motel room or provided you with an electric heater. As for the updates, we are not clear as to what you did not find satisfactory as we removed the old paneling to expose the natural wood logs and re-stained and re-chinked them in order to provide the authentic cabin look and feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The motel was nice, clean, quiet, beautiful view of the mountains, property extends to the San Juan river where you can explore. Only - was the 2x2 shower, very tight. Front desk was courteous, breakfast was plenty composed of coffee, milk, cereals, muffins and other sweet carbs, fresh oranges, bananas, orange juice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay other than the fact that you found the shower area confining. We try to be sure always advise our guest that the smaller "original" motel rooms are our smallest rooms but for a small upgrade charge you could have a much larger and newer room that has a tub/shower combination. We apologize if we didn't advise you of this at check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was staying a night in late September. At daytime there were temperatures in the 40ies, at night in the twenties. When I arrived, all windows in the room were open and the room was really cold: 53°F (at least there was a thermometer to check). The main heating system was completely off (probably hasn't been switched on for the season yet), there was only a small portable electric heater which primarily made noise, not heat - it managed to raise the temperature during the night by just 3°F.
The bed had only very thing blankets and I was really freezing in bed. In the morning, I looked forward for a hot shower. And the shower really had hot water - for about 2 minutes, then it started to cool down... If somebody had been accompanying me, she would not have had the chance to warm up in the shower.

It's sad because it would have been so easy for the motel to accomodate for the climate:
- have the room service close open windows
- provide warm blankets
- or maybe even turn on the heating system based on temperatures, not on some fixed schedule.

The fact that all this happend in Pagosa Springs which has hot springs and geothermal energy readily available makes this even more pathetic.

The room itself was dated and worn down. Ok to sleep for a night, but if I wanted to stay longer, I would prefer something more attractive.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our apologies that room was not warm when you arrived. During the month of September it is common for there to be a wide swing in temperatures from the daytime to night. Typically there are extra blankets that can be found in the dressers in all our rooms but if we happened to have missed them we would have been happy to have got them for you if you had advised the front desk. We hope you will stay with us again and have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We made reservations for two days and enjoyed it so much we drove back from the four corners area to stay another night
The rooms are clean the people are friendly and very helpful
Very close to everything in Pagosa Springs
I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and decided to come back after a long day in the four corners area! We appreciate your business and your kind words! Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Address: 191 E. Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the beautiful San Juan Mountains and situated on 10 acres adjacent to the San Juan River, the San Juan Motel has both motel and cabin accommodations at affordable prices. Can walk to downtown Pagosa Springs and the hot springs. Bikers, Skiers, Boarders, Hunters, Fisherman all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Pagosa Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.