We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much a dump” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Motel

Save Saved
You added San Juan Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Juan Motel
191 E. Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Pagosa Springs
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty much a dump”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The windows in our room were old and sealed so we were unable to sleep with any fresh air (or risk leaving the door ajar which did not feel safe). One look at the carpet and you know you must wear socks at all times. Thin, worn bed sheets over a soft mattress that felt like foam. Otherwise, it seems clean but the rooms are beyond dated and just sad. Luckily, we were only there for one night. I've never checked out of a place so early the next day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We greatly apologize that you had a sticking window. It is our goal to be sure everyone has an enjoyable visit. If you had brought this to our attention we would have taken care of the problem immediately or even moved to another room if necessary.
We make every attempt to be sure that everything is clean and operational before every guest checks and always encourage everyone to let us know if there is "anything" they need during their stay both at check-in and even on the motel maps each guest receives.
If you return to Pagosa please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    9
    11
    9
See reviews for
21
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The customer service we experienced is beyond words. I've never been treated so poorly by anyone in the hotel industry. Not ever. During my conversation, I was informed, you pay when you check out. This was not case! Like most hotels, I'm sorry if this does not apply to motels. This was our first experience in a motel and our last! Long story short, the customer serivce was horrible. We were told you had to pay upfront, then was told we could pay when we checked out on Friday. Then the assistant manager came pounding on our door during the day, demanding we pay right now. The woman was a rude to my husband that hadn't slept since his diabetes was out of control. The rudeness she displayed was so unprofessional, we left a day early, even though our reservations were for 2 nights. It was an all around horrible experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are sorry that you did not understand the terms of the reservation that was made through an online service that not only states that you must have a "valid ID and Credit Card" at the time of check-in and that your confirmation advises you that even we reserve the right to "pre-authorize" that card at the time of the booking.
Our front desk staff was following policy and made extensive notes (upon check-in) that you had opted to pay and stay only one night.. Even under the circumstances she still honored the special rate that is typically only valid for a 2 night stay with evidence of the purchase of a lift ticket to the ski area and also provided you with a FREE room upgrade.
When you did not check out the next day by 11am (check out time) we made several attempts to contact you, even leaving a message on the phone number given at check-in and knocking on the room door to find out if you were planning to stay an additional night and to collect payment.
You decided to leave at around 4pm and were not charged a late check out fee.
Again, we do apologize that you did not understand the policies provided to you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Motel rates are way too high. We are on vacation and have stayed in many place, but this was by far the very worst. The room we stayed in was unclean and extremely dated, for the price Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We apologize that the room that you stayed in did not meet your standards. It is always our intent to be sure all our guest enjoy a clean and well maintained room. IF your concerns had been brought to our attention, we would have addressed them immediately.
However, unless our guest lets us know they are not totally satisfied "while they are still at the property", we just have no of knowing there was ever a problem.
We continually monitor rates with in our area to remain competitive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Our room was in the back of the property which made it very private and quiet. The property has several bungalow type of cottages but we chose the cheapest option, which couldn't have been more perfect. The room was spacious with both queen and king sized beds. There was a kitchenette as well. The only complaint I have is that the heater was noisy all night and prevented me from sleeping at all. I informed the front desk upon departure who explained that was the reason for the space heater in the room of which we hadn't been aware. He offered 10% off our stay which was greatly appreciated. Overall, great stay in a cute town only 30 minutes from Wolf Creek! Don't forget to hit up the nearby hot springs after a day at the mountain!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for writing a review, though we are sorry about the heater noise. We have taken further steps to be sure each guest is aware of the supplemental heaters in the rooms by placing notices inside each room. Again, we thank you, as your feedback helped us be sure each guest is pleased with their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestone, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Please be aware of this place. Way under value- not the idyllic experience they profess on their website!!!!

This hotel was the last 1-3 star motel/hotel I stayed at on a 3 week road trip.

I've been to Pagosa Springs town before and have stayed at other 1-3 star places.

I am really sorry to say that from the 20+ hotels/motels I've stayed at on my trip THIS ONE was the least value for the money.

For a standard 1-2 star motel in Pagosa they go for $55-59, however- at San Juan we paid close to $90- paid before checking out the room. We usually check out the rooms first.

A brief account of the room: Upon opening the door- there was a stale, foul- moldy Pepto Bismol smell. We had the front door and broken window open for a couple hours to air it out. We didn't change motels because we were so tired and just wanted to settle in for the night.

The shower had no light, was about 2 1/2 by 2 1/2 inches with a rough concrete floor and was covered with mold- so it looked.

The toilet wouldn't flush and when it did- it didn't stop. We had to keep getting up in the night to stop it from running.

The worst part of the experience was all the strange noises during the night. I think there were animals living in the roof, the walls were making particular, high pitched noises. And we were up all night. NO SLEEP.

The morning breakfast- which they deem as a free continental- was very poor quality and consisted of rotten fruit, no seriously.

Before we left I spoke to the manager about our experience- he didn't seem to care. He just shrugged his shoulders. If he had taken the time, the chances are I may not have written this review.

To the manager/owners: drop your prices and fix the problems.

Room Tip: Do not pay more then $60- not worth anymore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Maybe we expected too much, but we have been disappointed. The staff was very nice and friendly but especially the "original rooms" were pretty much run down. Even though we changed rooms to a more modern one we did not feel comfortable at all. Anything in the room was dusty and there was an awful smell we couldn't adapt to.
We had some used handkerchiefs and several dead bugs in the room. After some hours in the bed our (uncovered) extremities stared to itch. We left the room at 4.30 am to get some rest in the car. We wanted to drive on to our next destination but had to wait at the motel until the reception opened at 7 am. Even though we'd already paid there was no possibility to drop the keys somewhere.
I am afraid to say so, but after three weeks of both kind of motels, chain motels and private run motels, this was our worst accommodation experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Nest, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

In the middle of a househunting/camping vacation we found ourselves with a very sick pup and a very fair but unexpected vet bill. On the vets advice we sought a pet friendly "cool" room close to the hospital and amenities. What a blessing the San Juan was! Especially just coming off the labor day weekend! Melissa met us with compassion and grace and quoted a price that not only beat the competition but allowed us to relax while our girl slept in as our bank account wasn't broken. Even as we checked out the gentlemen asked how our pup was, a completely different crew! Fridge, hot tub, breakfast, riverside, and run by real people! We will not only stay again and recommend but between the vet and the San Juan, we are totally sold on Pagosa!

Room Tip: Didn't see a bad one, great location, take a walk along the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Address: 191 E. Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the beautiful San Juan Mountains and situated on 10 acres adjacent to the San Juan River, the San Juan Motel has both motel and cabin accommodations at affordable prices. Can walk to downtown Pagosa Springs and the hot springs. Bikers, Skiers, Boarders, Hunters, Fisherman all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Pagosa Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.