We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a Starbucks lover..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Higher Grounds Coffee

Higher Grounds Coffee
189 Talisman Dr. A, Ste A, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
970 7313666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
jrose32
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“From a Starbucks lover..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Higher Grounds was a great break from the normal Starbucks run. The coconut latte I had was so good and included some impressive foam art =) I was super excited about the maple pecan scone and can say that it lived up to my expectation. The atmosphere was cozy & it was nice to sit on the outside patio. My husband & I already decided we were going to go back tomorrow morning (after just going for the first time today) I am ready for another scone in the morning =) great Pagosa gem.. just wish they were open later because we would have gone back tonight!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    17
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ft worth, tx
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good coffee but no personality to this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The coffee is good here and they have free internet. Probably the busiest coffee shop in town (toss up between the bakery downtown and this place). Overall, it is a nice coffeeshop in terms of coffee and some food and some pastries. Also lot's of nick-nack's for sale and the place is nicely decorated and appointed with plenty of places to sit (unless they're real busy). They're also in a newer building behind the City Market so they're easy to find. I frequent coffeeshops all over the USofA, particularly the "mom and pops" and the vast majority are lot's of fun and with a friendly, engaging type of personality. I quit going here mainly because this place is typically flatlined on the personality scale. Almost make you feel like they're doing you a favor for coming in. In all fairness though, they have good coffee and it's been awhile since I've been in so maybe the vibe has changed....

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“This is Not Your Regular Coffee Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

First off, it's huge. It has a full breakfast and lunch menu and serves beer and wine. It also sells local art and crafts. Feel free to sit and sip your drink, because staff will not pressure you to leave. Based on the computers in use. I suspect it has free WiFi. Stopped there the day we left and had wonderful coffee drinks and breakfast--made fresh no microwave here.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turpin, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lattes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The lattes were wonderful! Comparable to starbucks! The service was great. Also, the whipped cream for the hot chocolate was delicious! Keep up the great work! Blessings!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Mornings are Better at Higher Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just a few words about my favorite coffee shop.... Have traveled all over the US of A and I love coming home to my hometown coffee shop... I always like the fact that not only are the coffee's consistently awesome but, the employees are cordial and kind.... It is a sign of the quality of establishment and ownership when year in and year out the same people are standing behind counter.... We own 2 business's in Pagosa Springs and always send our customers to Higher Grounds when they return they rave about our hometown Coffee Shop.....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higher Grounds Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Higher Grounds Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Higher Grounds Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.