We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chavolos Taqueria

Chavolos Taqueria
301 N Pagosa Blvd, Ste B2, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
(970) 731-2501
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pagosa Springs, CO
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The best around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The best Mexican food in two counties. These funky places (one in Pagosa Spring and one in Bayfield) have great food. The breakfasts (Pagosa only) are amazing, as it the Tortillas soup. But, it's all good. Menudo on Sundays, if you're in for that sort of thing (which I am)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The beef is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

There food has soo much flavor I love it. I do not care for the corn tortillas but thats my opinion.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This place was recommended by a local on a chairlift ride at Wolf Creek. It was excellent!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food - close to the Wyndham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This place has great food - recommended by the locals also! It filled up the night we were there and there was a bit of line, so that’s always a good sign! It’s a simple place with authentic Mexican food. I would recommend that you check it out if you have a chance. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
564 helpful votes 564 helpful votes
“Diners, Drive-ins and Dives material...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is the perfect place for Guy's show. A tiny, tucked away shop in an obscure strip mall in Colorado. The atmosphere is bare bones. The staff is nearly non-existent and non-obtrusive and the food is generous and well-prepared. Admittedly, we were hungry after several hours of travel and decided to eat early. We were the only people in the place on a Sunday afternoon, but that was alright because there were only 2 staff manning the restaurant: the cook and the waiter/bartender/cashier/busser. They have an extensive menu of Mexican food--we chose the tacos in every flavor. The pork was a little salty for my taste, but the chicken and steak were wonderful. Overstuffed, double wrapped in pillow-soft corn tortillas and served with salsa, the combination plates came with beans and rice. When we'd drive past the restaurant later in the week, it was clear that it was a town favorite as the parking lot was packed.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chavolos Taqueria also viewed

Pagosa Springs, CO
Pagosa Springs, CO
 

Been to Chavolos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chavolos Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.