We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dinner in pagosa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alley House Grille

Alley House Grille
214 Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
+1 970-264-0999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our casual but elegant restaurant is perfect for casual night just ordering pizza and wine, or for an upscale evening of dining and romance.
Colorado springs, co
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in pagosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

For real. This place has amazing staff and even better food. Go early with kids but stay all night with adults. Anything on the menu will knock your socks off and you'll say to yourself "This great food is in tiny pagosa?"

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    83
    18
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This restaurant was a find. A cozy little place in a restored house from 1912, it was a great experience all the way around. Great, friendly service, wonderful food, and a beautiful, relaxed dining experience. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food was good, ambiance was good, hostess was angry! Rotten start to what could have been a great meal. Screaming children made this more like a Denny's than the fine dining experience we were looking forward to. The hostess banged our seats every time she sat other diners. All that said, the trout was wonderful! The duck was unexpectedly delicious, and our deserts of crème brulee and chocolate pear strudel were the best!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Ambitious Menu but Doesn't Always Succeed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

All dishes are interesting combinations of ingredients and tastes. Sometimes it works...sometimes not. My partner's entrée worked...His appetizer was okay. Neither my appetizer nor main dish worked. Wine list was good. Service was attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basically refused service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My family (3 adults, 2 children) stopped to check out the menu posted outside and were deciding to go in when an employee (manager?) opened the door and suggested that the restaurant across the street was better suited for our party because they had pizza, pasta, etc. He clearly did not want children in his restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetchef59, Owner at Alley House Grille, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Saucy1011,
I was shocked to see your review on trip advisor. We have never turned away anyone with children, nor would we ever turn away business period. Ours managers and employees are instructed to guide people if they come up to the Alley House door, and then start to walk away, to where the best places to eat are. We do have a lot of customers that come up to the door and read the menu but don't or aren't looking to spend that much on dinner. I questioned him and he said he remembers you folks, two adults and three darling little children. He said he was just trying to give you options like we give anyone who starts to walk away. He said you started to walk away and he wanted to let you know we have a delicious sister restaurant that has a kids menu and other stuff you might like. In no way was he refusing service. We have a ton of families that come to Alley House to eat. So with that said, I'm so sorry you mistook his trying to help for refusing you service. My apologies for any misunderstanding.
Sincerely,
Kellie Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alley House Grille also viewed

 

Been to Alley House Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alley House Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.