We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Ouray” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
191 5th Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Ouray
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Trip to Ouray”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Room needed updating, but was clean and beds were acceptable. The pillows were great! Carpeting needs replacing, but since we were traveling with our little dog, we assumed that was the reason. We were on the ground floor (by request) so there was some noise from kids running and jumping in the room above us. That stopped by 10:00. The staff was so friendly and helpful (and there are car window cleaning stations!). This was by far the best complimentary breakfast selection we saw on our five-day trip in Colorado. The motel was convenient to walking around Ouray. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground-level, backside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    16
    2
    8
See reviews for
26
42
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The room was clean and reasonable. The maid service was good. I think this is the only chain hotel in Ouray. The walls were thin. You can hear the guests upstairs and in adjoining rooms. The hot breakfast consisted of microwave egg patties with sausage gravy. They did have a waffle machine. We chose to eat breakfast at the local restaurants. Primarily the Silver Dollar and the Backstreet Bagel. The beds were not comfortable. We stayed in a Comfort Inn in Fruita, Colorado last year. Same sad beds. The view of the mountains was nice. We were only in the room in the evenings. We would leave early each more to explore and go jeeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Comfort Inns are pretty generic and the intent is for them to be predictably good. This little Comfort Inn in Ouray was above average in our view. Clean. Comfy bed. Good water pressure in the shower. Nice, hot breakfast. All at a reasonable price for the area. And, only a block off the main street of Ouray, and 2-3 blocks from most restaurants. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable, hotel was within walking distance of the entire town. Hotel showed that the owners were proud of their property in the well maintained interior and exterior. Owners could be seen taking care of the property throughout the day. Were always helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong either side has excellent mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Clean and basic hotel in Ouray. Well located near Main Street. Nice views from a lot of the rooms. Parking lot is a bit tough for motorcycles as its partly paved and part gravel and its on a steep incline. Clean, neat, and reasonable. Breakfast was a bit limited and generic but okay.

Room Tip: Most rooms had a nice view of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We travelled to Ouray ,Colorado to visit family and had originally made reservations at a different hotel. Upon arrival we were disappointed in the other hotel. It was much too . . "rustic". In desperation we searched for another place to stay. We discovered the COMFORT INN, which we did not know was there before. The office staff was super helpful in fitting us into their busy schedule. The hotel was very clean, very friendly, in a great location, had great breakfast every day (free), and....and....and allowed our two small dogs. A BIG THANK YOU TO THE PEOPLE AT THE COMFORT INN, OURAY, COLORADO FOR SAVING OUR TRIP.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views of the "amphitheater" and "Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

OK, so we stayed 3 nights during our 4X4 and photography trip. Usually stay at the Matterhorn or the old Circle M motel, but opted for a bit more pricy accommodations at the Comfort Inn. Other reviews are accurate and the rooms are clean, a bit dark and there aren't a lot of amenities like you would find at the other hot springs resorts. Our king size bed did kind of funnel us towards the center of the bed indicating maybe the mattress should be replaced. But all in all with the hot breakfast, coffee when you wake up and convenient location (we walked to Box Canyon Falls), the price at $144 was about right (had no discounts). This is a good selection if you're really not going to spend a lot of time in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 191 5th Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ouray
Ouray Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.