We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
191 5th Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Ouray
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice location, poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel looked a little run down for our taste so we would have liked to have stayed elsewhere. However, this was one of the few places that had a vacancy. It is also in a very nice location, within easy walking distance to restaurants and entertainment and so we decided to give it a try.

The rooms were subpar for the price and between bad smells, a non-functional AC (it was abnormally hot), and a very noisy room... it was not a pleasant stay. I tried to address some of these issues with the front desk person and they were not helpful at all, basically ignoring and/or refuting everything I asked about. If it were not for the poor service I would rate it 2/5, but the icing on the stinky cake, and what merits 1 star,was the front desk person not caring one iota about the paying customers. :-(

I would recommend staying elsewhere if possible.

Pros: +location is convient +price is comparable to some other low-end places in Ouray
Cons: +outdated rooms +non-functioning amenities +noisy +poor customer service

Room Tip: Check the room before you commit, make sure everything works properly and that it is clean. Also, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyWolfe, Owner at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I'm sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel Julie and thank you for bringing this to our attention. As the owners of this hotel, we are always dissapointed to hear that a guest had a bad experience and they did not enjoy their stay. The number one skill that I require from my staff is Customer Service, whether it be front desk or housekeeping, and my husband and I make ourselves available almost every morning to visit with guests and to ensure that they are enjoying their stay. Unfortunately, due to the 8 months that has passed since your stay, I can not address this issue with that employee. Please do not hesitate next time to bring issues to light so they may be adressed. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    16
    2
    8
See reviews for
26
42
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Betty & Ted were awesome hosts, again. Perfect base camp for hitting the ice park. Betty & Ted make sure you have everything you need, from partners to climb with to gear you need.Nice hanging out with Betty and friends at breakfast. See you next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyWolfe, Owner at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am truly sorry that you had a bad experience at my hotel and I am sorry that you waited 8 months to bring this to our attention.

We demand nothing but the best from ourselves and our employees, however from time to time you do get an employee who does not quite meet your expectations. Obviously this would have been one of them. We have replaced our staff from last summer.

We will check our A/C units as I have had no other complaints of a malfunctioning unit and due to the time span, have no idea which unit it may have been. I'm sorry this wasn't passed on to us by our staff. We keep replacement units in stock in case there are problems and they can be swithched in a matter of minutes.

Myself and my husband are at the Hotel almost every morning either at the front desk or in the Breakfast Room. We do talk with guests throughout the morning and make ourselves available for any guest that may be having a problem. Again thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've stayed at this Comfort Inn a few times and always like it. They were booked one weekend so I made the mistake of trying another hotel that looked cute and was on the main street. It had old mattresses and was small. I bailed out of there after one night. The woman at the desk , possibly the owner, helped me get a room. The grandkids liked the breakfast bar and we had an enjoyable couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

At first appearance, it seemed seedy. A bit run down motel with squeeky wood floors. Rooms were nice and the couple who run it care very much about it. The neighbor's barking dogs are quiet after 9pm. Guess they bring them in for the nite. Two blocks off Main St.-less traffic. Thank you Ken for your friendly advise and great cozy breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay in front, less climbing and away from the dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days. The owners are a very engaging & helpful couple for every aspect of your stay here. This community is in a good central location for all the activities in the surrounding area. The breakfast here was very nice with a variety of choices. Everything within the community is close enough to walk too, including the hot springs & several different hiking trails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable rooms, clean, well maintained. Very nice staff. Breakfast (hot) was more than adequate (egg mcmuffin, waffles, and all the regular stuff). Very pleased with stay. No pool and hot tub a little inconvenient to get to. 50:50 lower and upper level rooms so may not be for everyone, but certainly nothing glaring to complain about.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here one night and were on the ground floor. There is no elevator, so we were glad not to have to carry our bags up stairs. Every time water was turned on (or toilets flushed) in any of the units around us or above us we heard it, the sound was loud enough to wake you from sleep.
We really liked the people, the room was very clean, breakfast was hot and filling. I would stay here again for one night, but if I were staying longer I'd look for something a little more quiet.

Room Tip: This is an old style motel where the doors open onto the parking lot directly, no inside corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 191 5th Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ouray
Ouray Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.