We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Elmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Elmo Hotel to your Saves list
St. Elmo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   426 Main St., Ouray, CO 81427   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our room smelled like sewer and the inn keepers ( the owners) were know where to be found. There was no answer when we called to change rooms. In fact we saw them when we checked in to pay then did not see them for two days. When they checked us in they were very short with us and did not have much to say. I won't be back. The china clipper is beautiful and the owners are really nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been comin here for years and it's always the same! That's what's great about being historic - really feels like being back in time in this small old town. Upgrades and accommodations are great though. Very clean building. Staff is very friendly. And hot tub out back has a great view. Awesome place to stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We came back after a 5 year absence and it felt as though we never left! Great room, great innkeepers Dan and Sandy, great BonTon and Buen Tiempo dinners. Been coming for 17 years to Ouray and staying here. Wonderful breakfasts and we are made to feel like this is our home away from home. You will love it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The owners are terrific and treat each guest like family. They offer a glass of wine and snacks each afternoon and a delicious breakfast each morning in the quaint and lovely breakfast room. The Victorian decor fits the historic hotel to a T. Our room was spacious with wonderful amenities and linens. There is also a great Italian restaurant on site with wonderful decor, service and food. We had a great time and didn't want to leave this special place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

St. Elmo's has more charm and character than most any place we have ever stayed. With its antique furniture and Victorian decor, it almost made us forget what century this is. The rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished. Very clean. Luxurious towels and some of the best shampoo, soap, and lotion samples we have used. The rooms are not air conditioned. However, we were there when the temperature was at a record-breaking high, and were actually quite comfortable with the ceiling fans and open window. There was so much to see and do in Ouray that we did not miss the TV at all; in fact, we welcomed its absence, although there was one available in the parlor downstairs if we had wanted to use it.

The breakfasts each morning were delicious and well-balanced, with fresh fruits, juices, multiple breads and cereals and the best coffee I've had during this 3 week vacation to Colorado! Best of all were the different speciality breakfast entrees that were offered each day. All-in-all, this was a wonderful retreat for us. Although many other places in Ouray looked equally as inviting, we most likely will choose St. Elmo Hotel if we go there again.

Room Tip: The guest rooms are all upstairs and there does not seem to be an elevator. The inn was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at the St. Elmo Hotel in Ouray, Colorado several times over the past 35 years - usually as a couple; most frequently, we spent a long winter weekend there for our wedding anniversary. It remains one of our favorite hotels in the world because of its 1) gorgeous location in the San Juan Mountains, in the charming little town of Ouray; 2) elegant, beautifully furnished quiet historic hotel which makes for a perfect retreat - not at bit touristy or fussy; 3) staff is friendly, warm and welcoming - they make you feel like you live there ; and finally, 4) the Bon Ton Restaurant is in the cellar of the hotel - serves consistently delicious food - and you never even need to go outside!

Room Tip: Consider a bed with a view, ask for one of the rooms which face the mountains! Laying in bed with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night before heading over to Telluride for skiing. The St. Elmo hotel had very nice owners. It was very clean and the decor was very charming. Our room did not have a television but I was not disappointed by that fact because why watch tv when there's so much beauty in Ouray to be seen. St. Elmo Hotel was very peaceful and it's a wonderful place to stay. We were offered breakfast which was good! We will definitely be back and we thank you for the great hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 14 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#6 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#8 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 12 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Manor
Black Bear Manor
#2 of 12 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Elmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Elmo Hotel

Address: 426 Main St., Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Elmo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and relive the glory days of Colorado's col-or-ful past... At the St. Elmo Hotel in Ouray, Col-orado. Once bustling with gold and sil-ver seek-ers, Ouray today is a pic-turesque ham-let, sur-rounded by 14,000 foot peaks in the majes-tic San Juan moun-tains of south-west Col-orado. The St. Elmo Hotel is a lov-ingly restored, turn-of-the-century inn located in the heart of Ouray, Col-orado, a national his-toric dis-trict. Dec-o-rated with Vic-to-rian flair and full of period antiques, this 9-room Col-orado bed and break-fast inn delights guests with a wine & cheese social hour every after-noon in the cozy par-lor and a full buf-fet break-fast every morn-ing served in the sunny break-fast room. After spend-ing the day dis-cov-er-ing a new hik-ing trail or the fine shops in the area, a soak in the out-door hot tub is a great way to relax while sur-rounded by the beau-ti-ful San Juan mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your St. Elmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Elmo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.