We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Elmo Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. Elmo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Elmo Hotel
426 Main St., Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Ouray B&B and Inns
Carlsbad, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The owners are terrific and treat each guest like family. They offer a glass of wine and snacks each afternoon and a delicious breakfast each morning in the quaint and lovely breakfast room. The Victorian decor fits the historic hotel to a T. Our room was spacious with wonderful amenities and linens. There is also a great Italian restaurant on site with wonderful decor, service and food. We had a great time and didn't want to leave this special place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eden, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

St. Elmo's has more charm and character than most any place we have ever stayed. With its antique furniture and Victorian decor, it almost made us forget what century this is. The rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished. Very clean. Luxurious towels and some of the best shampoo, soap, and lotion samples we have used. The rooms are not air conditioned. However, we were there when the temperature was at a record-breaking high, and were actually quite comfortable with the ceiling fans and open window. There was so much to see and do in Ouray that we did not miss the TV at all; in fact, we welcomed its absence, although there was one available in the parlor downstairs if we had wanted to use it.

The breakfasts each morning were delicious and well-balanced, with fresh fruits, juices, multiple breads and cereals and the best coffee I've had during this 3 week vacation to Colorado! Best of all were the different speciality breakfast entrees that were offered each day. All-in-all, this was a wonderful retreat for us. Although many other places in Ouray looked equally as inviting, we most likely will choose St. Elmo Hotel if we go there again.

Room Tip: The guest rooms are all upstairs and there does not seem to be an elevator. The inn was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at the St. Elmo Hotel in Ouray, Colorado several times over the past 35 years - usually as a couple; most frequently, we spent a long winter weekend there for our wedding anniversary. It remains one of our favorite hotels in the world because of its 1) gorgeous location in the San Juan Mountains, in the charming little town of Ouray; 2) elegant, beautifully furnished quiet historic hotel which makes for a perfect retreat - not at bit touristy or fussy; 3) staff is friendly, warm and welcoming - they make you feel like you live there ; and finally, 4) the Bon Ton Restaurant is in the cellar of the hotel - serves consistently delicious food - and you never even need to go outside!

Room Tip: Consider a bed with a view, ask for one of the rooms which face the mountains! Laying in bed with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night before heading over to Telluride for skiing. The St. Elmo hotel had very nice owners. It was very clean and the decor was very charming. Our room did not have a television but I was not disappointed by that fact because why watch tv when there's so much beauty in Ouray to be seen. St. Elmo Hotel was very peaceful and it's a wonderful place to stay. We were offered breakfast which was good! We will definitely be back and we thank you for the great hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My boyfriend took me to Ouray recently on my first trip to see him in Colorado. After driving to through the country side, we stopped in Ouray. We hadn't planned on staying over night, but made a last minute decision to stay in town. I liked the look of the St. Elmo's Hotel so we decided to venture in. I was very impressed with the style of the hotel. I love the victorian, charming feel you get when you open the door. The room was cute, no t.v., but it was exactly what I pictured it to be. The Bon Ton restraunt was fabulous. The food, wine, and the service was simply amazing... my mouth waters for their Black Nasty. Yum! The waiter hit it spot on when recommending our dessert that would best fit our wine we were drinking. And the dim lit room was the perfect setting for a wonderful evening

All in all, I will definitely be returning. It was a wonderful experience. The only complaints I have is that We were up extremely early and there was no coffee, or breakfast to be found before we finally decided to leave at 7:00 am. Other than that, I have no complaints. I would tell anyone looking for a romantic, personable, and charming weekend getaway, to go and see for themselves exactly what this place has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting the St. Elmo for the past ten years and recently stayed again for our tenth anniversary. We were very sad by what the new owners have turned this amazing place into:( It was dirty, the service was very bad and it smelled like a coffee shop in Amsterdam. Our room smelled like pot the whole time we were there as did the lobby. They only put out wine and food for the "wine social" when we tracked someone down each night and reminded them. We have years of great memories at the St. Elmo and this was a HUGE disappointment. We will never return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StElmoHotel, Manager at St. Elmo Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at the hotel. We do want to let everyone know that the St. Elmo is back under the established ownership that owned and operated the hotel from 1984 thru 2011. With this news, we hope that you will book a room and experience once again the grace and charm of the st. Elmo Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We can to stay on Ouray for a quick vaction from wrok, We walked in to get checked in and rang the bell this little guy came out about 6-8 min later and looked at us and said YES!! I said we are here checking in, ok so he was rude the hole time telling us that he was playing video games and had to stop and help us..My husbamd thinks his name is Matt, So anyways tells us wine and apptizers will be out, so we came down and did not see anyting, instead we walked in on him telling some guess that the Bon Tons food was not good to go over to the mexican place.We ate at the Bon Ton and the food was good and the service was the best in town..Matt needs to be trained on how to treat people..won't be back to the ST. ELmo, BonTon yes

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Elmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Elmo Hotel

Address: 426 Main St., Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your St. Elmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Elmo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.