We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Elmo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added St. Elmo Hotel to your Saves list
St. Elmo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   426 Main St., Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Ouray B&B and Inns
Houston
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

You come to Ouray in late October and it WILL be quiet. We were the only guests in the St. Elmo this night, 10/24. Our third stay here. Quite delightful. A historic hotel, but no, we saw no ghosts. No TV or phone in the room, but they do have Wi-Fi. Duh.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Alpen Glow the last two times, Quite relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a return visit for us, after 15 years, and we were delighted to discover that the St. Elmo is still as charming as ever! The owners assure that their guests enjoy every amenity in this lovely little inn. The gourmet breakfasts were fabulous, and wine & cheese was a nightly treat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked the couples special, two nights with breakfast each morning and also a dinner in the restaurant in the hotel, the Bon Ton. Great value! We ended up with a huge room, with both a king and a queen, a separate sitting room and bathroom. While the package included breakfast in bed, we went downstairs each morning to get the full breakfast. Very good. Dinner at the Bon Ton was great as well. This is an historic place with plenty of authentic touches. The package also included passes to the Ouray Hot Springs. Not nearly as crowded as Glenwood Springs can be, especially in the summer. Will certainly go back!

Room Tip: Ask for the two night couples special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This was our second stay at St Elmo and both times we went away marveling at what a great little place right on the main street in Ouray. Yes, the rooms are small and there is no TV in the room but that just makes it quieter. The breakfast is wonderfull. The evening social is a nice touch and the Bon Ton restaraunt is very good - the Beef Wellington is to die for (a couple could asily share one and save room for desert). We will go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This hotel is decked out in 'true Victorian style'. In reality it's chinzy with plastic flowers, Laura Ashley wall paper from the 70s, carpets like you gran likes and a mixture of cheap repro furniture with occasional nice pieces in the common areas. The overall effect is tasteless and tacky. To complete the vicotoriana feel there are no coffee or team making facilities nor any TV. Strangely a very small jacuzzi is provided on the back deck - not very Victorian, but there it is. Wireless access is claimed, but it's password protected and the password is not provided. Breakfast starts at 0800, so don't expect to be getting out of this place at a reasonable time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We came to Ouray for a mini-honeymoon and stayed at the St.Elmo using the 2-night romance package. It was a very nice stay, there was a five star restaurant on the premises, and everyone was so helpful. I would recommend this hotel, absolutely!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The St Elmo Hotel takes you back to 'your grandmother's home' as my daughters described it to their bfs. Indeed, no elevator (must learn to travel lighter), floral wallpaper, high ceilings and Victorian lace and charm everywhere. Outstanding buffet breakfast with made-to-order hazelnut pancakes and sausage the day we were there. Say hello to Frack, the bird in dining room who wants to be part of the conversation. Had a hot tub but no opportunity to use it as thunderstorm rolled in while we were at dinner. No televisions in rooms so very relaxing. 9 unique rooms- loved the double and queen beds in our room (really 2 small rooms made into a larger on) with bathroom in the middle. Pleasant stay. Right on main street with ample parking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Elmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Elmo Hotel

Address: 426 Main St., Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Elmo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and relive the glory days of Colorado's col-or-ful past... At the St. Elmo Hotel in Ouray, Col-orado. Once bustling with gold and sil-ver seek-ers, Ouray today is a pic-turesque ham-let, sur-rounded by 14,000 foot peaks in the majes-tic San Juan moun-tains of south-west Col-orado. The St. Elmo Hotel is a lov-ingly restored, turn-of-the-century inn located in the heart of Ouray, Col-orado, a national his-toric dis-trict. Dec-o-rated with Vic-to-rian flair and full of period antiques, this 9-room Col-orado bed and break-fast inn delights guests with a wine & cheese social hour every after-noon in the cozy par-lor and a full buf-fet break-fast every morn-ing served in the sunny break-fast room. After spend-ing the day dis-cov-er-ing a new hik-ing trail or the fine shops in the area, a soak in the out-door hot tub is a great way to relax while sur-rounded by the beau-ti-ful San Juan mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Elmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Elmo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.