We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Western Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Western Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Western Hotel
Save
You added Historic Western Hotel to your Saves list
210 Seventh Ave., Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic Western Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We only called here for a few drinks one night but the staff were nice, friendly and entertaining. I would call again. 4/5

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    2
    9
    10
See reviews for
10
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past few years. The first time was so awesome that it made the vacation, but that was ten years ago. Last night we paid $56 on.a Monday, had to walk room to room to find a.clean one...when we finally got a room, we settled in and then heard fighting in the hall. As it turns out, two of the hotels employees were staying in the room. Foreigners we could not.understand the language, but we could hear him slapping her. We told the ow.we who called off the police saying the girl was just homesick. The yelling.continued as did the.door slamming. Hot, stuffy dirty shower as.well. its sad, it could be.grand.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights & totally enjoyed the authenticity of this hotel! Slanted floors, clawfoot tub, creaky floor...Great! Comfy bed, GREAT staff! During the same trip, we stayed at 3 other historic hotels, which all had been variously refurbished. This was the real deal & with stories and photos to boot. Also enjoyed a jeep tour with this proprietor. This is an OLD hotel...keep your sense of humor and respect for history! marilyn

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel thinking it would be really cool to stay at an historic hotel and we are big into staying at family run smaller places and B&B's when we travel. So we thought hey this looks nice, mind you it was off season, January. We show up in the evening to a dark locked hotel, we called the owner, she showed up and let us in. We were the only ones staying in the whole hotel! No lights on, Heat wasnt turned on for us and we stayed in one of the rooms with the shared bath down the hall. Not even a mention of upgrading us to the suite rooms since we were the only people in the hotel! So needless to say we were cold all night (old heating system) and not only that we had to walk down a freezing hall to the bathrooms that were freezing too. Would it have been too much to say hey youre the only ones here tonight, why dont you take one of the rooms with the bath attached? Enjoy your evening. Totally not worth it, room was dingy, needs upkeep all over and we never got warm the whole night. Owners seem to put more effort into their jeep business, nice enough but come on upgrade your only customers to a nicer room. Maybe its different in the summer months there, but for your money go down the street and stay at a place that has comfy beds(hard as a board) and heat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel is really nice! It is like travel to old times! It feels really authentic! We were the only guests and we got the king size bedroom with private bathroom!
The only disappointing thing is that the bathtub was quite old and not heated enough.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Loved this hotel....the staff was friendly and willing to help out with anything. Loved the old west feeling with no phone or TV in room. The claw bathtub was cool, too.

Room Tip: If going to stay at this hotel around 4th of July.....get room #9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Maintenance of the hotel needs improvement. The blinds were broken and fell out of the window, and the shower curtain was secured by a piece of plastic wrap. My biggest concern was the smoke alarm sitting on a shelf without a battery. This historical hotel has potential if more effort was placed into maintenance and restoration.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 14 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#6 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#8 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
River's Edge Motel
River's Edge Motel
#3 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Manor
Black Bear Manor
#2 of 12 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Western Hotel

Address: 210 Seventh Ave., Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Historic Western Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.