We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Western Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Western Hotel
Save
You added Historic Western Hotel to your Saves list
210 Seventh Ave., Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights & totally enjoyed the authenticity of this hotel! Slanted floors, clawfoot tub, creaky floor...Great! Comfy bed, GREAT staff! During the same trip, we stayed at 3 other historic hotels, which all had been variously refurbished. This was the real deal & with stories and photos to boot. Also enjoyed a jeep tour with this proprietor. This is an OLD hotel...keep your sense of humor and respect for history! marilyn

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    2
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel thinking it would be really cool to stay at an historic hotel and we are big into staying at family run smaller places and B&B's when we travel. So we thought hey this looks nice, mind you it was off season, January. We show up in the evening to a dark locked hotel, we called the owner, she showed up and let us in. We were the only ones staying in the whole hotel! No lights on, Heat wasnt turned on for us and we stayed in one of the rooms with the shared bath down the hall. Not even a mention of upgrading us to the suite rooms since we were the only people in the hotel! So needless to say we were cold all night (old heating system) and not only that we had to walk down a freezing hall to the bathrooms that were freezing too. Would it have been too much to say hey youre the only ones here tonight, why dont you take one of the rooms with the bath attached? Enjoy your evening. Totally not worth it, room was dingy, needs upkeep all over and we never got warm the whole night. Owners seem to put more effort into their jeep business, nice enough but come on upgrade your only customers to a nicer room. Maybe its different in the summer months there, but for your money go down the street and stay at a place that has comfy beds(hard as a board) and heat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel is really nice! It is like travel to old times! It feels really authentic! We were the only guests and we got the king size bedroom with private bathroom!
The only disappointing thing is that the bathtub was quite old and not heated enough.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Loved this hotel....the staff was friendly and willing to help out with anything. Loved the old west feeling with no phone or TV in room. The claw bathtub was cool, too.

Room Tip: If going to stay at this hotel around 4th of July.....get room #9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Maintenance of the hotel needs improvement. The blinds were broken and fell out of the window, and the shower curtain was secured by a piece of plastic wrap. My biggest concern was the smoke alarm sitting on a shelf without a battery. This historical hotel has potential if more effort was placed into maintenance and restoration.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I am staying here for one week and have two nights left. The owner and his family have been great, they are very willing to please. The only thing I would like is WIFI, there is access from down the street, but it can't be counted on. Next door, Switzerland of America, wouldn't give me access to theirs. Also, this hotel offers tours to just about everywhere desired...it is not advertised well.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed for a night in the Historic Western Hotel. The owner was very friendly, told us about the historic of the (120 year old) hotel and showed us the saloon. He also opened the bar and we could drink a beer. The hotel is great, becaue it is very authentic and most parts are original.

Location
- Ouray is no location. Wheater you want to be there or not.

Rooms
- Old fashion style with charm.
- Clean
- No TV (but who needs it?)

Service
- Well, no service except the owner and his son. They are both very helpul. You can't expect a room service

Price
- we paid 50$ a night for a room with shared bathroom. I didn't mind, because it seemed we were the only guests

Therefore when you are in the area, then consider to stay in this hotel for one or two nights.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 14 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#8 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#6 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#10 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
River's Edge Motel
River's Edge Motel
#3 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Western Hotel

Address: 210 Seventh Ave., Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Historic Western Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.