We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Black Bear Manor to your Saves list
Black Bear Manor
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Ouray B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My boyfriend became my fiance at the Black Bear Manor. A few friends and family members recommended BBM, so we booked a room for a couple of nights. It was such a fantastic getaway. Ouray is a unique place and we enjoyed exploring the town. The room at BBM was comfortable and very clean, the house itself was very charming, the owners were very helpful and hospitable, the views from our room and the observation deck were to die for, breakfast was a fantastically delicious spread of so many different dishes, and complimentary happy hour made this place feel like home! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable getaway. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
191
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aztec, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Black Bear Manor a few times now and, without a doubt, it is our favorite B&B in Ouray (and we have tried others). The hospitality is superb--they truly put your needs above any concern over their bottom line, and they truly make us feel like family. The breakfasts are outstanding--numerous dishes (both hot and cold) and always substantial (we don't even bother with lunch when we are there). The happy hour (both wine & beer served on the house) is a nice touch, as it gives you the opportunity to visit with the other travelers interested in socializing. Close walking distance to the main drag in Ouray. Evenings/nights are quite and the furnishings are comfortable. We have recommended Black Bear Manor to several of our family/friends, and would do so for Tripadvisor's readers as well.

Room Tip: We love the suites b/c of the huge Jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We found the Black Bear to be a very comfortable and homey inn with an outstanding and engaging staff anxious to make your stay a fun experience in a quaint, Colorado mountain town. The rooms are attractively and functionally decorated, and the delicious breakfasts and afternoon wine tasting gatherings around the fireplace with other guests in the main living room, are added benefits. The Manor has a cozy observatory to enjoy the spectacular mountain views. Overall the BBM is a great value and fun place to add to your Favorites List.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are very quiet and comfortable, providing quick access to the living room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I love this review opportunity as it allows me a chance to mentally experience my vacation, again !
Over the past 7 years, I have had the pleasure to visit the BBM about 9 times. I don't know how it works, but it just gets better each time. I WILL be there again, and again and again !!!

Room Tip: They are all good, but if you are going for a Celebration, the room with an inside Jacuzzi is VERY R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The Black Bear Manor is a gem hidden in the beautiful mountains of Ouray. The rooms are fit for kings and queens, and the view from the observatory cannot be matched. If the quaint town of Ouray wasn't so darn cute I would have had absolutely no need to leave the Black Bear. It is definitely a favorite destination! And the food! Come hungry!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

When in the Ouray area I will always stay at the Black Bear Manor! Awesome service, clean and accommodating. I have a gluten allergy and they went above and beyond to accommodate my needs! Polite staff that answered every question with confidence and ease.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Staying at “Black Bear Manor” was one of the most memorable trips I have ever had. It was inviting, warm, friendly and the food was out of this world. Every morning I awoke to the delicious flavor of coffee and the most beautiful array and assortment of breakfast treats. Freshly made daily, I had croissants, eggs, muffins, and any thing you can imagine. I do not know how they make the coffee so delicious, but they do!
There was a warm fireplace where at cocktail hour, hotel guests would gather and spend an early evening sharing stories of their day.

I highly recommend anyone to visit “Black Bear Manor”. The rooms were cozy, clean and set in the most beautiful of atmospheres. Just looking out the window at the grandiose mountains covered in snow was a treat. And in the day we visit the small town just near Black Bear Manor where we took a stroll looking through the friendly shops for a nice afternoon. I cannot wait to go back again. I am counting the days to my fifth visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms offer a complimentary Beer & Wine reception most afternoons, and a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.