We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with a fantastic breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added China Clipper Inn to your Saves list
China Clipper Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 Second St., Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Ouray B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place with a fantastic breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The building is gorgeous and inviting. The rooms are spacious but cozy, and provide more than the comforts of home. The hot tub is an added bonus even in a town known for hot springs its nice to have a closer option. The breakfast is fantastic, and the proprietors are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
141
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We go to Ouray every summer to hike and see friends, but we decided to come in the fall this year for a romantic getaway. We would not normally stay in a B&B because we like to bring our dog, but this was a 'trip before baby comes' so we decided to indulge ourselves a bit more.
Oh my- I am so glad we did. The house is lovely, the rooms are spotless and well maintained, and the beds are comfy. However, the real high point is the breakfast and the inn-keepers themselves.
I honestly think Ingrid and Hans were "born" to run a bed and breakfast. They are just to welcoming and inviting, and they are really interesting to listen to when you get the chance to talk at breakfast. (Don't be shy- get Hans talking!)
However, the breakfasts themselves are delightful. In my current condition- breakfast has become ridiculously important and I was so impressed and grateful for the food. The muffins Ingrid makes are...exceptional. She should sell them separately they are so good! And there is a mixture of eggs, meats, breads, and a huge fruit salad. All of it is high quality, fresh, and hard to stop eating.
The porches are so pretty; I was able to sit and read for several hours while my husband hiked. I was totally relaxed during our stay and would definitely go again if we decide to leave the dog at home again. Have fun!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a surprise, beyond pleasant! Our two-night stay was comfortable, elegant, convenient, and all the good things that a B and B should be. Ample breakfasts gave us the power to get up and go all day. Book-filled nooks, fireplaces, classy furnishings and the hot tub made us actually happy to return at the end of a mountain-loving day. Hans and Ingrid demonstrated warmth, humor, great cooking and hosting skills, and knowledge of the area. Don't hesitate to make reservations.

Room Tip: The Sovereign of the Sea has a fireplace and big tv with dvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed three nights at the China Clipper Inn and highly recommend it. We spent our days hiking in those beautiful Colorado mountains, so we really enjoyed the hearty breakfasts before setting out each day and the soothing hot tub after returning. Hans and Ingrid were lovely hosts -- helpful and friendly. The China Clipper Inn provides both privacy and company. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Yes, the inn was most convenient to downtown Ouray. Yes, the room was very nice. Yes, the breakfast both mornings was delicious. But, rarely do you find such a warm, hospitable welcome and stay at a bed and breakfast as found at the China Clipper. The warmth and charm of Hans and Ingrid surpassed any five star establishment. The only place to stay in Ouray!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the China Clipper and would highly recommend it to everyone. Very nice hosts and great homemade breakfast each day. We have a nice room and very clean. Good location also. Close to main street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The China Clipper Inn is a real "Find". Close to the main street but away from the noise of traffic. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Breakfast was wonderful. I would highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to China Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Clipper Inn

Address: 525 Second St., Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — China Clipper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your China Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Clipper Hotel Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Clipper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.