We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountains, Snow, Hot Springs - What could be better?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Colorado
1 review
“Mountains, Snow, Hot Springs - What could be better?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Great place to stay. No negatives. Hot tubes have great views and rooms are good value.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    107
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
82
257
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

This was our second trip to Ouray, CO and our first stay at the Box Canyon Inn. The location is two blocks off the main street, and near the Ice Park. The location is very handy and very quiet. The front desk staff is very helpful and wonderful to deal with.
The big treat is terraced into the hill, behind the hotel. There you'll find six redwood hottubs, filled by the geothermal hot springs. Nothing is better than an evening soak, under the stars, with your spouse.
The breakfast buffet is the usual packaged continental stuff - go patronize one of the breakfast places, rub shoulders with the locals, and the ice climbers.
We so enjoyed our first stay that we concluded our vacation with a return stay and late night soak.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

The Hot Springs were delightful and the staff was super friendly. They had a DVD player in the room and tons of free DVD's to choose from. It was totally worth it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, CO
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We have been staying at the Hot Springs Lodge in Ouray for years, and have always had a wonderful time there. I especially love the private hot tubs, soaking at night when it's snowing, what an experience! And you can walk to the Ice Park and watch the climbers.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Water Pressure
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

This was our second stay at Box Canyon Lodge and as always it was great. The property is always clean, updated, comfortable and the hot tubs are fabulous. We stayed in the smaller suite and it has a lot of nice little amenities. We are ice climbers so it is it great to be able to walk to the park from your hotel room. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. They even called us two weeks before our stay to offer to make reservations at a local restaurant for valentines day. The only thing that I could say we would like more is a little more extensive breakfast. It is not a must, they do offer muffins, apples, juice and coffee/ tea. I do know that the hotel right next door offers a fuller breakfast buffet which is always nice. Only suggestions for the Lodge to be the best hotel in town!

  • Liked — The location and overall rooms and service
  • Disliked — A little more breakfast would be nice
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolores
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

It was fabulous!!

  • Liked — hot tubs
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Every winter we meet up in Ouray with our friends from back East, for ice climbing, snowboarding, cross-country skiing, etc.

We always stay at the Box Canyon Lodge. Its location is convenient: Silverton, Ironton Park and Telluride are all within easy driving distance. The accommodations are great, and the price is good (especially for Ice Park members). The staff is very friendly and helpful. And after a day of climbing or boarding, it's hard to beat the hot tubs for "therapy".

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#5 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peaceful location, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is where you relax. We have our very own natural hot springs onsite for the exclusive use of our guests. We are located at the base of the Ouray Ice Park, the Box Canyon Falls, and a short walk to all Ouray shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.