We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lodge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Save Saved
You added Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Ouray
Northern Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Lodge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just returned from spending 3 nights at the Box Canyon Inn and loved everything about it!! The rooms were exceptionally clean, the soaking tubs were great, and the location is the best.
The grounds were so very pretty with the flower baskets and views of the town. The beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in!! We will definitely come back here again, only next time we will stay longer.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our 2nd floor room near the soaking tubs...very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear EricDi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent visit with us at the Box Canyon Lodge.
We get quite a bit of pleasure ourselves from the flowers all over the property during the warmer months, and are fortunate to have a team who takes as much pride in our property as we do.
We make it a point to provide clean comfortable rooms to all of our guests, and a friendly, professional staff focused on exceeding your expectations.
Once again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    99
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
80
244
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We just finished a weeklong tour of the Colorado mountains and our stay in Ouray was a highlight of the trip. It is a beautiful town and well worth going to. We stayed at the Box Canyon Lodge on the recommendation of a friend and it is a great hotel. It's not a fancy place. The rooms are clean, simple, and comfortable. The highlight, however, are the funky redwood hot tubs located just behind the hotel. They are heated by the hot springs and soaking in them was a perfect way to end a long day of hiking. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and I hope to get back to Ouray again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear runnerskier,

I am so glad you enjoyed your tour of Colorado, and Ouray!
Located at the base of the Uncompahgres, our little mining town has remained virtually unchanged for ages, and it is close to impossible to find a bad view in any direction.
At the Box Canyon Lodge, we are focused on providing every guest with a great experience. Our all natural mineral hot spring tubs are tiered on the hillside in our courtyard, and are exclusively for the use of our hotel guests. The two tubs higher up the hillside offer a soaking experience not easy to beat. As you soak in the warm waters, the views of town and the tree tops all around create a feeling of relaxation and wonder at the beauty of the aarea.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property and we hop to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on our way up to Glenwood springs.

We arrived early but there are picnic tables outside, so were able to sit and have a picnic there.

This is a very cute place, kept immaculate at the end of the road. Ouray is such a quaint town, really liked it there,

We drove down to Main Street and went into the supermarket there to pick up some supplies for our microwave and fridge.

Our room was very nice and clean. Great towels.

Of course, the big draw are the hot tubs, which we took advantage of.

Breakfast not served but they have juice, muffins and coffee in the office area. We did want a full breakfast as we had scheduled a jeep ride early morning so the office gave us a restaurant to go to and even gave us a coupon.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevators so keep in mind. I called ahead and requested a first floor room. Also, FREE laundr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Betty370,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to hear from our guests whether they visited for one day or a week.
Ouray is a great little town, and located in the southwest corner, the Box Canyon Lodge is an ideal spot: close to hiking in one direction and walking distance to Main Street in the other.
Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable rooms for our guests, and an environment perfect for relaxation, complimented by our four mineral hot spring tubs tiered on the hillside in the courtyard.
We serve a very light continental breakfast in the morning- muffins, fruit, juice and coffee or tea. With so many options for a great meal on Main Street, we prefer to let our guests experience more of our lovely town and are always happy to provide suggestions.
Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, and we look forward to seeing you again and again.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We've stayed here off and on for years and it's a great destination in Ouray. The soaking tubs are the stars, we always manage to have a one to ourselves. The rooms are clean, if simple, but what do you need? Our honeymoon suite had a balcony as well. We'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Peter O,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Box Canyon!
Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable rooms to all of our guests, as well as excellent service.
We are very proud of our four all natural mineral hot spring tubs, tired up the hillside in our courtyard. Not only do they offer a soothing soak, but unbelievable views.
Thank you so much for your review of our property, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times in the past, but the experience seems to get a bit better each time. The two-story motel-like lodge is located in a prime location in the southwestern corner of Ouray, just a few hundred feet away from the entrance to the amazing Box Canyon Park (don’t miss it, at $3 to $4 per person) and winter ice-climbing venues. A particular feature is that it has four hot tubs fed by the natural hot springs on-property (a rare amenity in this town where virtually all the hot spring waters go to the large public facility in town). The lodge is very well maintained and attractive, with many flower boxes, a nice interior courtyard, and views of towering mountains in all directions. A four-or-five block walk brings you to the center of town, with shops and restaurants. Front-desk staff seem occasionally overloaded with phone- and in-person-requests, but are friendly and helpful. Rooms in the newer section are somewhat larger than what we remember from years ago. All rooms, we understand, are equipped with a small refrigerator, a microwave, a work table, a shower/tub, good and simple wi-fi, a ceiling fan, and a heater (warmed by the hot springs waters). The newer rooms still have elements of the older, more rustic and smaller rooms we stayed in a decade ago. The lodge serves a very modest continental breakfast (but it actually roasts the coffee beans for the new breakfast/lunch restaurant several blocks away in town, Cavallo's). The room prices are fairly reasonable, but they get better because of a wide variety of discounts and a clear attempt by management to give good deals to clients. This is our favorite place to stay in this delightful town, and we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are newer and larger. Some face the parking lot, although traffic is minimal...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were aware of proactive steps favorable to the environment taken by the lodge. One highly unusual feature is that in the winter, the lodge is heated by the natural hot springs water, not by gas or electricity from coal-burning plants.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear nedtraveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge.
It is always a pleasure to hear from a guest as passionate about Ouray as we are.
Located in the Southwest corner of town, The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is a perfect location, with easy access to restaurants and shops in one direction, and a variety of trails and attractions in the other.
The best part of a day in Ouray is to come back to a clean, comfortable room then soak in one of our all natural mineral hot spring tubs. The Box Canyon is one of only three properties in Ouray with rights to the mineral hot spring waters, and we are very pleased to be able to share this wonderful gift with our guests.
Once again, thank you for sharing your Ouray experience, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The lodge was recommended to us by friends and it completely lived up to expectations. We had a second floor room with outside corridor and a lovely bench seat so could enjoy the mountain views although we did also look out onto the Victorian Inn opposite. Very clean with comfortable bed and duvet. There are 4 outdoor mineral springs hot tubs on different levels in secluded position behind the lodge. The lodge is in a quiet location at the end of the street and there is a short (20 min) walk into Box Canyon itself where there is a lovely nature center with trails including one to the waterfall. Even in the summer the waterfall was an impressive sight. Laundry facilities were clean but make sure you have plenty of quarters. Only stayed one night in Ouray on our road trip but wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear FCNewportBeach,

Thanks so much for sharing your recent visit with us at the Box Canyon Lodge in beautiful Ouray!
Truly, one night is not enough time to experience everything there is to do in Ouray, and conveniently located within easy walking distance of several hiking trails, as well as all of the restaurants and shops on Main Street, the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is indeed an ideal base-camp.
Our four all natural mineral hot spring tubs, tiered on the hillside in the courtyard provide the ideal spot to relax after a day of adventuring in the mountains, and our clean comfortable rooms are perfect for a good nights rest.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and sincerely look forward to a longer visit next time.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We selected this lodge based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. It is small and not fancy but the rooms and grounds are very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The location is wonderful; it sits in a quiet area at the end of the street but is still close to everything in town. After seeing other lodging in Ouray, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Go for it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back courtyard - the other rooms face the parking lot and street. Also, a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear km11s,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.

We are so pleased tht you chose to stay with us, and even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay!
At the Box Canyon Lodge, we strive to always provide stellar service to our guests in every way possible. Customer service is important to every member of our team, and we strive to exceed expectations in every way possible.
Located in the southwest corner of town, we are convenient to a variety of hiking trails as well as all of the restaurants and shops on Main Street.
Thank you again for your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again,

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#4 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Diamond Rated: With its peaceful location, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is where you relax. We have our very own natural hot springs onsite for the exclusive use of our guests. We are located at the base of the Ouray Ice Park, the Box Canyon Falls, and a short walk to all Ouray shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.