We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge in a corner of Ouray with genuine hot springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Nederland, Colorado
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Lodge in a corner of Ouray with genuine hot springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times in the past, but the experience seems to get a bit better each time. The two-story motel-like lodge is located in a prime location in the southwestern corner of Ouray, just a few hundred feet away from the entrance to the amazing Box Canyon Park (don’t miss it, at $3 to $4 per person) and winter ice-climbing venues. A particular feature is that it has four hot tubs fed by the natural hot springs on-property (a rare amenity in this town where virtually all the hot spring waters go to the large public facility in town). The lodge is very well maintained and attractive, with many flower boxes, a nice interior courtyard, and views of towering mountains in all directions. A four-or-five block walk brings you to the center of town, with shops and restaurants. Front-desk staff seem occasionally overloaded with phone- and in-person-requests, but are friendly and helpful. Rooms in the newer section are somewhat larger than what we remember from years ago. All rooms, we understand, are equipped with a small refrigerator, a microwave, a work table, a shower/tub, good and simple wi-fi, a ceiling fan, and a heater (warmed by the hot springs waters). The newer rooms still have elements of the older, more rustic and smaller rooms we stayed in a decade ago. The lodge serves a very modest continental breakfast (but it actually roasts the coffee beans for the new breakfast/lunch restaurant several blocks away in town, Cavallo's). The room prices are fairly reasonable, but they get better because of a wide variety of discounts and a clear attempt by management to give good deals to clients. This is our favorite place to stay in this delightful town, and we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are newer and larger. Some face the parking lot, although traffic is minimal...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were aware of proactive steps favorable to the environment taken by the lodge. One highly unusual feature is that in the winter, the lodge is heated by the natural hot springs water, not by gas or electricity from coal-burning plants.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear nedtraveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge.
It is always a pleasure to hear from a guest as passionate about Ouray as we are.
Located in the Southwest corner of town, The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is a perfect location, with easy access to restaurants and shops in one direction, and a variety of trails and attractions in the other.
The best part of a day in Ouray is to come back to a clean, comfortable room then soak in one of our all natural mineral hot spring tubs. The Box Canyon is one of only three properties in Ouray with rights to the mineral hot spring waters, and we are very pleased to be able to share this wonderful gift with our guests.
Once again, thank you for sharing your Ouray experience, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    107
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
82
257
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The lodge was recommended to us by friends and it completely lived up to expectations. We had a second floor room with outside corridor and a lovely bench seat so could enjoy the mountain views although we did also look out onto the Victorian Inn opposite. Very clean with comfortable bed and duvet. There are 4 outdoor mineral springs hot tubs on different levels in secluded position behind the lodge. The lodge is in a quiet location at the end of the street and there is a short (20 min) walk into Box Canyon itself where there is a lovely nature center with trails including one to the waterfall. Even in the summer the waterfall was an impressive sight. Laundry facilities were clean but make sure you have plenty of quarters. Only stayed one night in Ouray on our road trip but wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear FCNewportBeach,

Thanks so much for sharing your recent visit with us at the Box Canyon Lodge in beautiful Ouray!
Truly, one night is not enough time to experience everything there is to do in Ouray, and conveniently located within easy walking distance of several hiking trails, as well as all of the restaurants and shops on Main Street, the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is indeed an ideal base-camp.
Our four all natural mineral hot spring tubs, tiered on the hillside in the courtyard provide the ideal spot to relax after a day of adventuring in the mountains, and our clean comfortable rooms are perfect for a good nights rest.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and sincerely look forward to a longer visit next time.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We selected this lodge based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. It is small and not fancy but the rooms and grounds are very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The location is wonderful; it sits in a quiet area at the end of the street but is still close to everything in town. After seeing other lodging in Ouray, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Go for it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back courtyard - the other rooms face the parking lot and street. Also, a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear km11s,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.

We are so pleased tht you chose to stay with us, and even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay!
At the Box Canyon Lodge, we strive to always provide stellar service to our guests in every way possible. Customer service is important to every member of our team, and we strive to exceed expectations in every way possible.
Located in the southwest corner of town, we are convenient to a variety of hiking trails as well as all of the restaurants and shops on Main Street.
Thank you again for your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again,

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were looking for a place with hot springs and this place came highly recommended and it certainly lived up to our expectation. Clean and comfy rooms. The clerk at the desk was extremely helpful and very personable. She gave some really good recommendations for dinner. We opted for an early dinner as she said the 4 hot spring tubs get busy between 7:30 and 10:00 each evening. We had a great dinner and then claimed our hot spring tub for a leisurely soak. The temperature was perfect! We visited the Box Canyon Falls park behind the lodge the next morning and saw the hot springs and falls that feed the lodge tubs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Deborah T,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your recent visit with us at the Box canyon Lodge & Hot Springs in Beautiful Ouray, Colorado.

With our four natural mineral hot spring tubs tiered on the hillside in the courtyard, guests are able to enjoy an escape from the norm; soaking in the soothing water while absorbing the spectacular beauty of the San Juans. It does get a little busy at the tubs in the evenings, particularly on Saturday nights, but even that is an adventure, providing the opportunity to meet and make friends with other guests all enjoying the idyllic setting.
We are very fortunate to have a team at the Box Canyon as focused on our guests as we are. Customer service is second nature, and our goal is to provide every one of our guests with an outstanding experience. From clean, comfortable rooms, to meticulously maintained grounds to stellar service, we are always looking for new ways to better serve our guests.
Thank you again for writing a review of our property, and we all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It had been years since I was last in Ouray, Colorado, often described as the “Switzerland of America”. I had memories of a special place nestled in the San Juan Mountains at over 10,000 feet in elevation. I was not disappointed. It was even better than I remembered.

Our two night reservation was at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs. What a delightful place to stay. The lodge had been recommended to us especially because they had their own sulfur-free, natural hot springs on their property.

Box Canyon Lodge opened in 1959 and it is a beautiful facility. The Ute Indians first used this site in 1920 for the spiritual powers of the hot spring. In 1930 the place became a sanitarium where people came for treatment of rheumatism and other ailments. We had no ailments....we just wanted to soak.

The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The staff keeps the grounds very well maintained. We were fortunate to get a room in the back facing the three levels of hot tubs. The tub water increased in temperature as you went up the levels. Rooms in their other buildings tended to face the parking lot. Sitting outside our room in the cool early morning, with a wonderful cup of coffee, scrolling through the complimentary wireless internet on our pads was a nice way to begin the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Robert V,

Ouray and the Box Canyon Lodge are a treasure trove of American History. It seems as if there is always another story about life in the west.
Our mineral hot springs are truly amazing. Sulfer free, which means no rotten egg smell and soaking in these soothing waters is rejuvenating regardless of ailments. Recently, we had a guest with fibromyalgia who swore the water was a miracle!
With our beautifully maintained grounds, and impeccably clean and comfortable rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is an excellent place to enjoy an adventure in the picturesque town of Ouray.
I am so pleased you were able to come and see us, and certianly look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a pleasant, one-night, stay at this hotel. Rooms were more or less standard motel rooms with outside access, we had no problems and slept well. The three hot tubs that are fed from the local hot springs were a nice plus. The tubs are situated on three different levels. The top level is the hottest, the bottom level the least hot. The view from our room's front window was a beautiful mountain side. The mountain scenery near the hotel and in the whole town of Ouray is spectacular. The town is a short walk from the hotel, unless you are affected by the altitude as I was. I thought I was in reasonably good shape, but found that a short walk left me breathless. So the town was a short drive for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear crtee,

I am glad to hear you had a pleasant visit with us. What a bummer that the altitude got to you! Surrounded by the spectacular scenery of the San Juans, Ouray is definitely a little touch of paradise. it is almost impossible to have a bad view, particularly while soaking in our natural mineral hot spring tubs.
Our goal at the Box Canyon is to provide clean comfortable rooms, and our staff is always happy to accommodate any guest request.
Thank you for taking the time to share your visit, and I do hope that you come and see us again.

Best Wishes,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This quaint little place is a must stay. The hot tubs with the view are excellent. The rooms are great with the dressing area and bathrooms set apart by swinging doors. Very comfortable overall. The staff is very accommodating. I recommend this place to anyone wanting to just get away from it all for a while.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Jim H,

It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, and I want to thank you for sharing your recent visit with us.
At the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, we strive to provide each guest with a memorable experience, leaving them eager to return. Our staff is eager to anticipate the needs of our guests with information on everything from dining to adventures in the beautiful Uncompahgre Mountains.
Our housekeeping staff maintains every room to the highest standards of cleanliness, and we are continuously upgrading our property in order to ensure a stay with all of the comfort of home.
Thank you again for writing a review of The Box Canyon, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#5 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peaceful location, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is where you relax. We have our very own natural hot springs onsite for the exclusive use of our guests. We are located at the base of the Ouray Ice Park, the Box Canyon Falls, and a short walk to all Ouray shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.