We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little lodge nestled in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Save Saved
You added Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Ouray Events & Activities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Ouray
GreenLeadersSilver level
Loveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little lodge nestled in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This quaint little place is a must stay. The hot tubs with the view are excellent. The rooms are great with the dressing area and bathrooms set apart by swinging doors. Very comfortable overall. The staff is very accommodating. I recommend this place to anyone wanting to just get away from it all for a while.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Jim H,

It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, and I want to thank you for sharing your recent visit with us.
At the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, we strive to provide each guest with a memorable experience, leaving them eager to return. Our staff is eager to anticipate the needs of our guests with information on everything from dining to adventures in the beautiful Uncompahgre Mountains.
Our housekeeping staff maintains every room to the highest standards of cleanliness, and we are continuously upgrading our property in order to ensure a stay with all of the comfort of home.
Thank you again for writing a review of The Box Canyon, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    98
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
80
239
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belen, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Rooms are lovely, grounds fantastic, staff is superior. The only place to stay. Very easy walking distance to everything in town. They have a nice offering in the lobby for a breakfast. For the most part it is quite, not alot of noise after about 9:30pm. Everyone is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Susan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to provide every guest with clean, comfortable rooms and exemplary service.
Located within easy walking distance of many hiking trails, as well as all of the restaurants and shops on Main Street, and yet secluded from the hustle and bustle of the day to day, we have the best of both worlds!
Each morning, we offer a very light continental breakfast; muffins prepared by a local caterer, apples, our own fresh roasted coffee, tea and juice. For those looking for a more full breakfast, our staff is always ready with a recommendation of one of our excellent restaurants on Main Street.
Once again, thank you for sharing your visit with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable - not huge but OK. Bathroom was nothing special, but adequate. Best part was the on-site hot springs hot tubs. Clean and well-maintained. as were all the grounds. Location is superb, within walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. Only negative for us was that we requested a ground-floor room, but was told upon arrival that there was no note of that on our reservations, so we got a 2nd-floor room. This place was very busy, so be sure to plan ahead. No mountain views to speak of. Lobby offers nice selection of complementary teas, coffee, muffins, fruit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear SharonInColo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent visit with us.
Our goal at the Box Canyon is to provide clean, comfortable rooms to our guests, and to fulfill guest requests whenever possible.
July and August are definitely our busy season, and sometimes we are unable to get a guest exactly where they would prefer to be, however we do try to accommodate every request as well as we can.
Ouray is a beautiful town nestled in a little canyon, and the views of the town and surrounding mountains are quite spectacular particularly from our mineral hot spring tubs.
We are very fortunate to be located just a short walk from both the restaurants and shops on Main Street as well as several wonderful hiking trails, the most popular of which circles the entire town.
Thank you again for your review of our property, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Ouray is a friendly, scenic town with great history, geography and hot springs... Box Canyon Lodge is the perfect complement to what Ouray is all about! From the first call I made, throughout our trip planning and several more calls for advice, Nicki was absolutely delightful and helpful. We spent two nights there in mid-July during out 8 day road trip through Colorado and the Grand Canyon - Ouray was the highlight of the trip. The only suggestion I have is to agree with another reviewer about the need for a place to dry bathing suits after using the hot tubs. Other than that, everything was perfect. In fact, when asked for advice, Nicki - who is also concierge extraordinaire - set up our Jeep tour with Switzerland of America... we didn't have to do a thing except enjoy that trip. The arrangements and billing were taken care of through Box Canyon. Nicki also gave us advice about the hikes we were able to fit in around the weather (not so great while there) and we did exactly as she suggested ( parts of the perimeter hike in two chunks... and got to see the town's two waterfalls). Box Canyon lodge is very cute and we loved the location! We'd love to go back and highly recommend a stay here. As for room, I'd ask for the back section again... great views of the mountain and the hot tub area as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the back section... first or second floor. We were on first and it was quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was impressed and pleased with the Lodge's green practices!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear smurphy4,

Ouray is indeed a wonderful little town, and we are fortunate to have a team as excited to share the wonders of the area as we are. It is always a pleasure to hear that a guest was particularly pleased, and I agree, Nikki is a wonderful source of information.
With so many adventures to be had, a soak in our mineral hot springs is truly the finest way to wind down. As for the recommendation for drying suits in your rooms, this is something I agree we need to look into.
Our goal is to exceed your expectations and see you return to us again and again. The rooms beside the tubs are our most popular, so be sure to request one at the time you book your stay.

Thank you again for your review of the Box Canyon, and we look forward to your next visit to Ouray.

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreamer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This lodge was located in the heart of Ouray within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Also within walking distance to Box Canyon Falls. The view was beautiful and the hot springs tub very relaxing. While we were in the hot springs tub a deer was directly behind us in the trees, very neat. Room was clean and neat, staff was very friendly and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Second Floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Tammy G,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge!

Located in the southwest corner of town, we are easily accessible to several great hiking trails in one direction and all of the restaurants and shops of Main Street on the other, while at the same time, creating a sense of serenity with our four natural hot spring tubs tiered up the hillside in our courtyard.
We strive to provide every guest with a clean comfortable room, and our staff is always happy to help in any way.
Thank you again for sharing your visit with us, and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Box Canyon Lodge for two nights while on a little road trip in CO. The staff was very friendly at the front desk and the room, though a little dated, was clean and comfortable. I recommend taking an easy walk up the hill behind the hot springs to get a birds-eye view of the mountains surrounding the town of Ouray and the Lodge. There are four on-site cedar hot tubs fed from the natural springs. Each varies in temperature as the water flows down the hill. Since there were strong afternoon rains both days, there was some natural material (pine needles and such) that flowed/fell into the tubs but nothing that made us not want to take a soak. Breakfast was offered in the lobby which consisted of apples, muffins, juice and tea/coffee - which was fine with us. There are also several DVDs available for guests to chose from for their viewing pleasure in room. The two negatives for our stay: 1) The Lodge did not have any kind of clothes line/hooks in the bathrooms to hang wet bathing suits and 2) Although guests are not allowed to have pets, someone on the staff had a dog (at least one) that kept relieving itself right below the back window to our room (we were on the first floor). We brought this up to the staff twice and they cleaned it up immediately both times but we did not want to open our windows to enjoy the cool evening air as it was a pretty constant occurrence. We did request to be moved to another room but the Lodge was full both nights that we were there and they offered no other compensation. WIth those two exceptions, I would still recommend the Box Canyon Lodge if you are looking for a simple, clean room in Ouray.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear nickel_travels,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.
Our goal at the Box Canyon is to provide every guest with clean comfortable rooms and service which exceeds expectations. Every comment is appreciated, as it helps us to better achieve these goals.
The view from above the hot tubs is indeed spectacular. From this high perch, the town is laid out perfectly. Of course the view while soaking in our mineral hot spring tubs is amazing as well, and it is always nice to relax after a day of adventuring in the soothing waters.
July and August are our peak season, and often we do sell out on the weekends, so do make your reservations early. We always make an effort to honor a guest request for specific rooms whenever possible, and have a pretty high success rate.
Again, thank you for your review of the Box Canyon, and we do hope to see you again. Perhaps, this winter; the entire town looks like a Christmas card, and is definitely a must see!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for clean rooms friendly people and private Hot Spring whiskey barrel tubs nestled in the beautiful mountains, this is the place for you! The hotel is walking distance from all the downtown Restaurants and has a very nice location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear jencilly,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us at the Box Canyon Lodge!
Located in the southwest corner of town, we are convenient to both town and hiking trails, yet leave guests with a sense of peaceful separation from the outside world, particularly when soaking in one of our four mineral hot spring tubs.
We are very fortunate to have a team as focused on providing clean, comfortable rooms to our guests, and who enjoy helping each person who visits us to experience everything the area has to offer.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ouray
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#4 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Diamond Rated: With its peaceful location, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is where you relax. We have our very own natural hot springs onsite for the exclusive use of our guests. We are located at the base of the Ouray Ice Park, the Box Canyon Falls, and a short walk to all Ouray shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.