We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ouray, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

So relaxing and refreshing! Soaking in the natural hot water is wonderful! The rooms are great! Very friendly helpful staff! Great office cat! The organic coffee the owners roast themselves is fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear faithndavid,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of our property.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of our wonderful hot spring tubs!
Our goal at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is to provide each of our guests with a clean comfortable room and service exceeding their expectations. From freshly roasted coffee and home-made muffins to help with planning your day, we all want you to feel as if you have come back to your home away from home when you visit with us.
Again, thank you for sharing your visit with us, and we all look forward to seeing you soon for your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    107
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
83
260
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've stayed here before and will return again. The place has an uncommon charm to it. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are a very good value. We met with another couple for a planning trip next summer to ride our Harley's to Alaska and the room we got (114) was very well suited for spreading maps out on a large table in the living room of the suite. The bedroom was spacious and over all very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 114 was a large suite with plenty of room for two couples to spread out maps etc. on the table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Mike9922,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent visit with us at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs. Ouray, Colorado and the Box Canyon are a perfect location for meeting with friends and enjoying a peaceful getaway, particularly during the quieter months.
We are very fortunate at the Box Canyon to have a team focused on providing each guest with a memorable experience. Each of our guest rooms are meticulously maintained, and we work to exceed the expectations of our guests, anticipating their needs, and recommending the room best suited to their needs.
It is always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests. So often, The Box Canyon serves as a meeting place for friends new and old. With our mineral hot spring tubs in the courtyard and welcoming lobby, many friendships have been made and strengthened during a visit.
A tour to Alaska sounds like quite an adventure, and we all hope you have a great time. Do come visit again, and let us know all about it!
Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Box Canyon Lodge is a modest motel type property, but it has a few very special features that make it stand out - and make it worth a rating of very good. They have 3 hot tubs at different levels up a set of steps. The hot tubs are fed from a natural hot springs, and the hot tubs are HOT... and delightful in every way. This property also features warm & wonderful staff and exceptionally clean rooms. And a nice little touch - TV's with built in DVD player, and a great library of movies available for free from the front desk.
But, let me warn you - spend a few minutes in the hot tub and you will be so relaxed that you'll be asleep long before you get to the end of any movie you happen to put on! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear LJG_Away,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is a small independent property focused on creating a memorable home away from home for our guests. Our team is dedicated to providing clean comfortable rooms and service that exceeds the expectations of our guests.
Located in the Southwest corner of the beautiful mountain town of Ouray, Colorado, we do have an advantage. There is no such thing as a bad view in Ouray, and the view of the town from our mineral hot spring tubs is breathtaking indeed. After a day of adventuring, a soak in the soothing waters, surrounded by the majesty of the San Juan Mountains is a perfect way to finish the day.
We have a video library of over 400 movies, and add to it often. Preferable to just the one show on cable, our guests can choose as many movies as they would like, and fall asleep to one after a day of fun in Colorado. Picking a movie can be an adventure as well, as guests discuss different films and make recommendations to each other. More than one friendship has begun in the lobby of the Box canyon Lodge while picking out movies!
It truly is a pleasure to hear from our guests about their time with us, and we genuinely look forward to your next visit to The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
Best regards,
Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We've been coming here for more than 30 years. The current ownership has moved towards a more "green" motel. I have never been to a motel where the rooms were cleaner, and the staff more friendly. The on-site wooden hot tubs are a true delight. If you're up for a walk uphill, everything in town, and the falls and ice park, are within walking distance. This is truly one of our favorite places in the country to spend time.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back wing have a view of the hot tubs so you can tell when one is available. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Robert W,
As always, it is a pleasure to hear from guests who have spent so many wonderful times with us. It is fun to hear stories of how the hotel and the entire area have changed as the years pass, and with such a rich and colorful history, there are always new adventures to learn of and experience.
Since we took responsibility for the Box Canyon Lodge, we have taken advantage of the natural mineral hot springs by converting to geo-thermal heat. We use the water from the springs to not only heat all of the rooms in the hotel, but also to heat the tap water used for bathing and laundry. We provide separate recycling bins in each room for all glass and plastic bottles, and many of the other upgrades to the property are in the interest of conservation and protecting the environment.
The mineral hot spring tubs tiered up the hillside in our courtyard provide a sense of quiet and solitude, making it hard to remember that just a few short blocks away are all of the great restaurants and shops of Main Street. It is as if you have the best of both worlds!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Perfect location at the end of the canyon, within walking distance of the ice park, numerous trail heads, and great restaurants. The private hot spring tubs terraced up the hillside are divine. Hundreds of DVDs available for free from the friendly front desk. My only complaint is that I have to find a sitter for my dogs when I stay at box canyon lodge, as pets are not allowed.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the staircase are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear marblecake,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.
Each of our rooms have new flat screen tv's with dvd players in them, and our video library now boasts over 400 complimentary movies for your enjoyment. It is fun not only to have so many options for viewing, but to come down to the lobby and discuss different films with other guests. Between the camaraderie of sharing a soak in the mineral hot spring tubs and a few minutes of critiquing different films, it is no surprise that often our guests form friendships with one another. We have several return guests who now plan their visits together after having met here at the Box Canyon!
At the Box Canyon Lodge, our goal is to provide every guest with a pleasant, memorable stay. Our housekeeping team are dedicated to ensuring each room is immaculate and allergen free. We use all organic cleaning supplies with little or no odor as well in order to provide our guests with a comfortable environment for resting after a long day of adventuring in Ouray and the surrounding area.
Within easy walking distance to several great restaurants and shops on Main Street in one direction, and a variety of hiking trails as well as the ice park in another, the Box Canyon is a great location for any Ouray adventure.
Once again, thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Best,
Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been taking groups ice climbing in Ouray for 19 years. We have stayed at the Box Canyon Inn just about every year (a couple times we made the mistake of trying other options that, for one reason or another, did not stack up). The staff and owners are great, always pleasant and helpful. They are a pleasure to do business with. We can park the van and not need it the whole stay because everything is right there - ice climbing, hot springs, hiking and restaurants all within walking distance. We'll be back next January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Bryan F,
It is always a pleasure to see you and your ice climbing groups! One of our favorite things at the Box Canyon is to welcome guests back again and again. It is the best affirmation that we are doing our job right. Our goal at the Box Canyon is to provide every guest who stays with us a clean, comfortable room, and friendly, professional service.
Conveniently located within walking distance to Main Street and the Ice Park, in addition to several great hiking opportunities, the Box Canyon is a perfect spot for groups travelling in one vehicle; individuals are more free to choose separate activities without worrying about transportation issues.
The four mineral hot spring tubs on our property are a perfect way for both beginner and experienced ice climbers to wind down after a day on the ice, and the complimentary movie library in our lobby a great way to end the evening.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge, and we look forward to another 19 years working with you!
Sincerely,
Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Within walking distance of the ice park, this little gem was a great place to come back to at the end of a day of climbing. Because it has its own hot springs, you don't have to go anywhere else for some serious relaxing. I was picked up at the airport by one of their very friendly staff members and given a great history of the area on the drive over. Checking in, I felt like I was staying with family. Everyone is incredibly nice here. Everything in this town is within walking distance- great places for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rooms were really clean, warm, and the coffee, without fail (unlike most big hotels I stay at...), was perfectly replenished every day. Great that the room has a microwave and mini-fridge .Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: I had a room facing the mountains. Might be a bit noisy (until 10 pm) to be close to the tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear MalibuMom,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
We are fortunate to have a team who takes the comfort of our guests as seriously as we do, and who genuinely enjoy exceeding the expectations of each person who visits us. We strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms and a welcoming atmosphere not always found in a larger hotel.
Located in the southwest corner of town, we are an easy walk to the Ice Park, and just a few blocks from all of the shops and restaurants on Main Street.
Recently, The Box Canyon began roasting our own coffee. Along with muffins baked fresh for us by a local caterer, a steaming cup of Exotic Earth Coffee perfectly compliments the beginning of any day!
Our four mineral hot spring tubs, tiered on the hillside in the courtyard are an excellent way to relax after a day of ice climbing, or any winter sport you care to enjoy.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ouray
#4 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peaceful location, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is where you relax. We have our very own natural hot springs onsite for the exclusive use of our guests. We are located at the base of the Ouray Ice Park, the Box Canyon Falls, and a short walk to all Ouray shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.