We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice Climbing Groups” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ice Climbing Groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been taking groups ice climbing in Ouray for 19 years. We have stayed at the Box Canyon Inn just about every year (a couple times we made the mistake of trying other options that, for one reason or another, did not stack up). The staff and owners are great, always pleasant and helpful. They are a pleasure to do business with. We can park the van and not need it the whole stay because everything is right there - ice climbing, hot springs, hiking and restaurants all within walking distance. We'll be back next January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Bryan F,
It is always a pleasure to see you and your ice climbing groups! One of our favorite things at the Box Canyon is to welcome guests back again and again. It is the best affirmation that we are doing our job right. Our goal at the Box Canyon is to provide every guest who stays with us a clean, comfortable room, and friendly, professional service.
Conveniently located within walking distance to Main Street and the Ice Park, in addition to several great hiking opportunities, the Box Canyon is a perfect spot for groups travelling in one vehicle; individuals are more free to choose separate activities without worrying about transportation issues.
The four mineral hot spring tubs on our property are a perfect way for both beginner and experienced ice climbers to wind down after a day on the ice, and the complimentary movie library in our lobby a great way to end the evening.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge, and we look forward to another 19 years working with you!
Sincerely,
Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    108
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
86
263
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Within walking distance of the ice park, this little gem was a great place to come back to at the end of a day of climbing. Because it has its own hot springs, you don't have to go anywhere else for some serious relaxing. I was picked up at the airport by one of their very friendly staff members and given a great history of the area on the drive over. Checking in, I felt like I was staying with family. Everyone is incredibly nice here. Everything in this town is within walking distance- great places for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rooms were really clean, warm, and the coffee, without fail (unlike most big hotels I stay at...), was perfectly replenished every day. Great that the room has a microwave and mini-fridge .Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: I had a room facing the mountains. Might be a bit noisy (until 10 pm) to be close to the tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear MalibuMom,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
We are fortunate to have a team who takes the comfort of our guests as seriously as we do, and who genuinely enjoy exceeding the expectations of each person who visits us. We strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms and a welcoming atmosphere not always found in a larger hotel.
Located in the southwest corner of town, we are an easy walk to the Ice Park, and just a few blocks from all of the shops and restaurants on Main Street.
Recently, The Box Canyon began roasting our own coffee. Along with muffins baked fresh for us by a local caterer, a steaming cup of Exotic Earth Coffee perfectly compliments the beginning of any day!
Our four mineral hot spring tubs, tiered on the hillside in the courtyard are an excellent way to relax after a day of ice climbing, or any winter sport you care to enjoy.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

A girl trip at this fantastic location! The hot springs were wonderful. The large suite was a bit smaller than we thought, but the gas fireplace more than compensated. We will be back for the Summer, for sure. What a wonderful community, as well. Absolutely loved Ouray.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear railroadgulch,
Thank you so much for sharing your visit to Ouray and the Box Canyon Lodge, definitely a great place for a weekend getaway with the girls!
With two queen beds in the bedroom, and a queen size futon in the separate living room, the Large Suite can comfortably sleep up to six people. The little kitchenette, which has a four-burner range, microwave and full size refrigerator is great for entertaining as guests enjoy a cozy fire. Winter is a lovely time to visit the tiny town of Ouray, Colorado. It is so quiet and peaceful, like walking into an old fashioned Christmas card. Soaking in the soothing mineral hot springs during a snow storm is an experience everyone should enjoy at least once.
Of course, Summer is also a great time to visit - The area is not called the "Jeeping Capitol of the World" for no reason! With access to over 500 miles of four-wheel drive roads, most of which are only accessible during the warmer months, a jeep tour in the high country is an adventure not to be missed.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast, MS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location just a few steps away from the Box canyon falls. Very quaint hotel within walking distance to everything. The rooms were quite spacious. The beds were adequate but time to replace mattress. The first bed hung down on one side and the other one made a crunching sound everytime you moved. Believe it is time to replace the topper. Other than that the rooms were adequate. The staff was friendly upon check in and also provided dining options in the area. A small breakfast that consisted of muffins fruit coffee and juice was also provided. The hot tubs are and added bonus and provides the most beautiful views. Very scenic little town. Would definetly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Treasuretz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge.

Ouray is a beautiful little town in Southwest Colorado, and boasts some of the most spectacular scenery around. A personal favorite is the uppermost mineral hot spring tub in our courtyard. On a winter night, the steam and snow reflect moonlight and stars to create an almost surreal sense of escape from the norm.

Our goal at the Box Canyon Lodge is to provide clean comfortable rooms for our guests to relax in while enjoying the Uncompaghres. We are always working to upgrade and maintain our rooms to ensure the comfort of every guest, and appreciate all input which helps us to do so.
Most recently, we completely remodeled several of our guest rooms, and plan on continuing the process this February. Additionally, we added flat screen televisions in all of our guest rooms, and now roast our own coffee, which is available not only in the lobby but in each guest room as well.

At the Box Canyon Lodge, our entire team is dedicated to creating a memorable experience for every guest. You are all very important to us, it is our goal to make sure every guest feel comfortable and enjoy his/her stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your recent stay with us, and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit to Ouray and The Box Canyon Lodge!

Happy New Year!

Kindest Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Just a wonderful place to be with the views and natural hot springs on site. Comfortable king bed, nice mini fridge, good coffee serves in the lobby and helpful staff. It's a magical place, especially sitting in the hot spring tubs on the mountain overlooking beautiful mountain views.

Two upper tubs are hotter than the lower 2 tubs and their is an upper deck with table and chairs and above that there are 2 picnic tables and 2 bench swings - a great place to star gaze at night. You will love it!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear LorenLaughs,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your recent visit at the Box Canyon Lodge, and CONGRATULAIONS on your anniversary!

The Box canyon is in the perfect location at the end of town; close to all of the restaurants and shops, as well as convenient to several great hiking trails, and yet it is easy to feel as if you are far away from everything when soaking in the mineral hot spring tubs tiered on the hillside in our courtyard area.

Soaking in the tubs, the views and soothing waters combine to create a sense of relaxation and romance which are second to none. The picnic tables and bench swings above the tubs, secluded from sight by the trees and hillside, are a discovery in themselves. Often guests remark on the wildlife they have watched frolic just a few short steps from the tubs.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you and your husband again and again!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegre, KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the 2BR/2Bath Apartment. It was very spacious and comfortable with a full kitchen and living area. The beds were comfortable. It's in a nice location - directly next to Box Canyon where you can hike easily into the canyon. Also, the hotel has its own natural hot springs tubs which felt great! Did not see inside a regular hotel room so not sure if they're as nice as the apartment. Muffins, apples and juice in hotel lobby for breadfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Amy M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Box canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
Our goal is to provide every guest with a great stay, with clean comfortable rooms and service.
The two-bedroom apartment is definitely an excellent choice for travelers staying more than one or two nights. With a full kitchen, it is nice to prepare your own meal every once in a while to make more time for soaking in our fabulous hot spring tubs. Of course, our other guest rooms offer many amenities, including a small refrigerator and microwave.
Ouray is fortunate to have mineral hot spring water that is virtually free of sulfur, making a relaxing soak all the more so, since there is not the strong odor often associated with hot springs.
Located in the Southwest corner of town, The walking trail to the Box Canyon Waterfall and Park, as well as the Ouray Ice Park in winter months are easily accessible. Should you prefer to drive, it is an even quicker trip to these awesome spots, the road literally bringing you full circle back to the Lodge.
Thank you again for sharing your stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at "The Lodge" many times. The staff is always very friendly, and helpful. The rooms are clean and well furnished, and while it is at the south end of the business district, the short walk to dinner is not a problem. If you must drive to the restauants there is usually no shortage of parking places. they have fresh fruit and muffins, to go with the coffee in the AM ..Would I go back again?... IN A HEARTBEAT!!! Hope to see you there soon. Bill H...

Room Tip: No Pool, But the hot tubs are great....If weather is cold get a room near tubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Bill H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs!
We are fortunate to have a team at the hotel who takes as much pride in the property as we do, always ready to exceed the expectations of our guests- by providing clean comfortable rooms, and service that goes above and beyond.
We recently began our own coffee company, and take pride in supplying fresh roasted coffee in the lobby as part of a very light continental breakfast, as well as in each guest room.
The Box Canyon Lodge is located in the Southwest corner of town, convenient to the walking trail to the Box Canyon Waterfall Park and the Ouray Ice Park, and yet close enough to walk to all of the wonderful shops and restaurants on Main Street.
We LOVE that you and many of our other guests continue to return to the Box Canyon Lodge! You are extremely important to us, and the best testament that we are succeeding at our jobs is to see you time and again.
Once again, than you so much for your review, and we look forward to your next visit!

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ouray
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peaceful location, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is where you relax. We have our very own natural hot springs onsite for the exclusive use of our guests. We are located at the base of the Ouray Ice Park, the Box Canyon Falls, and a short walk to all Ouray shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.