We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy lodge in Ouray CO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice cozy lodge in Ouray CO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a nice mountain lodge just off the main highway. Rooms were nice and comfy. There are several old-style wooden hot tubs but they are very hot!

The only major drawback was the lack of a restaurant. Breakfast was only coffee and muffins.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Dzimm,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
The entire staff at the Box Canyon Lodge strives to provide a memorable experience for each of our guests. Each room is clean and comfortable, and our mineral hot springs tubs located in the courtyard of the hotel are not to be missed.
Each of the four tubs varies in temperature from 102* to 108*, in order to appeal to as many tastes as possible. On a cold winter night, with the snow falling through the steam of the water, that 108* tub is definitely our most popular!
Every morning, we provide a very light continental breakfast: muffins baked fresh for us by a local caterer, coffee which we roast ourselves, juice, apples and a selection of hot teas. We hope our guests take the time to walk to town and sample some of the delicious menu options provided by local restaurants who offer anything from decadent pastries to full hot breakfasts.
Thank you again for visiting us, and for sharing some of your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    107
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
82
257
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here last week in a Deluxe room with 2 queen beds. The woman at the front desk was very polite and helpful. The room was great. The beds were awesome and we got a great nights rest. We had a nice soak in the lower (cooler) tubs at the springs for a bit in the chill of the morning. The wireless internet connectivity was good. The temperature in the room is warmer than a normal hotel because of the geothermal heating they use. We enjoyed that; there is a unit to cool the room if it is too hot.

They seem to be very very eco-friendly. The in-room recycling program is a nice touch. I've never seen that at a hotel before and I think it is a great idea.

We would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 'deluxe' room. It was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Dbk3456,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us!

The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is currently a Four Key rating with Green Key, a program that rates hotels all over the world for their efforts in conservation. We are very fortunate to be built over a Natural Hot Spring, allowing for an easier conversion to Geo-thermal heat a few years ago. Additionally, we strive to be green in more subtle ways, from providing recycling receptacles in each guest room to shopping locally as much as possible.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your room! We strive to provide every guest with a clean comfortable stay with all of the modern conveniences one expects when away from home.

Soaking in the mineral hot springs is definitely a great way to start your day, sipping coffee and soaking up the spectacular scenery as you plan the adventures of the day.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I used to visit Ouray and the Box Canyon lodge many years ago. 20 years later they upgraded the paint and the carpet but otherwise it is the same sublime experience. Have a soak and park your worries for a brief stay! The world can wait!
Service with a smile and a cushy bed too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear leftie9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property.

At the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, we are very fortunate to have such a great following, and a property and staff that so wonderfully compliment each other.

Through the years, we have worked to maintain and consistently improve the Lodge in order to meet and exceed our guests expectations. From new carpet and air conditioning, to converting the property to geo-thermal heat, our goal is to provide a "Home Away From Home" feeling, but with all of the modern conveniences our guests look for in an ideal stay.

Every member of our staff strives to ensure each guest a clean comfortable room, and exemplary service. Whether you are visiting Ouray to explore the magnificent hiking and outdoor activities, or to relax in the mineral hot springs and watch movies, or something in between, our staff will help you plan the perfect adventure in one of the most amazing places in the country!
Again, thank you for sharing your recent visit with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,


Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Would have been a 5 rating but there was the written threat that if you misplace your key it will cost you $20. I understand the frustration to hotel owners when trying to keep up with room keys but asking nicely for the return is less repugnant and leads to a feeling of friendly partnership (the feeling you get when you are in a really first class hotel) which in turn leads to repeat business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear betterisbetter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.

Our goal at the Box Canyon is to provide each of our guests with a pleasant experience with friendly service, clean comfortable rooms, and of course the spectacular beauty of the Rocky Mountains.

The note at the bottom of our registration cards regarding a charge for unreturned keys is certainly not meant to offend, and it pains me to think this has occurred. Assessing a fee for unreturned keys is one of our policies which we have included on the registration cards, however, perhaps we do need to review the verbiage so as not to create any negativity at check in.

Our goal is to ensure the security of our guests, not to make them feel uncomfortable in any way.

Thank you again for sharing your time with us, and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Clean, dated rooms with friendly staff. The hot tubs fed by the hot springs makes this a unique property. Tubs appear to be old wine casks large enough for four folks. Four tubs of varying water temp. Other than the tubs, I thought it was a bit pricey. Don't forget to take the "million dollar highway on your way out. That road is worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Riodulce5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Box Canyon Lodge in Ouray.

At the Box Canyon, our goal is to ensure a clean comfortable stay for each of our guests. I am so glad you enjoyed our tubs! We are one of only three hotels in Ouray with rights to the mineral hot spring water, which does indeed make us unique. We have taken advantage of the hot spring water in more than one way, by converting the entire property to geothermal heat a few years ago. Although the initial cost of the conversion was a bit pricey, the return to the environment is worth it to us, and has earned us a Four Key rating with Green Key, which is an eco-rating program designed to recognize destination properties for their efforts in reducing their environmental footprint.

The Million Dollar Highway is definitely a spectacular drive....I sometimes refer to it as "breath taking". With tight hairpin curves through some of the most amazing scenery in the country, the drive from Ouray to Durango covers three mountain passes and is indeed an adventure in and of itself.

Once again, thank you for your review of our property, and we look forward to your next visit to Ouray.

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We just returned from Ouray, Co. We spent 3 nights at the Box Canyon Lodge, room 131 (Honeymmon Suite) which has a large tub. I'm 6'3" and fit ok. Not all stretched out but comfy with the Mrs! The hotels hot tubs (public) are just the right size with each a bit different temp. We found them to be inline with other natural hot springs tubs, great for nature lovers. The bed was awesome, big and comfy! Ouray is not a breakfast town at all as no resturant was open before 11am. Just as fitting, the hotel offers coffee, juice and local made muffins which hit the spot just fine. As there are so many things to do, the hotel is really a resting point for the next adventure and does so very nicely. The one drawback for us is the NO PETS policy. Certainly understandable and this would be the ONLY reason we would look eslewhere on our next trip so we can brings "the kids." Ouray has nice quaint pet park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear n17wings

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit with us, and happy anniversary!

The Box Canyon Lodge is certainly a romantic escape, situated as it is so close to Main Street and yet with a sense of seclusion perfect for a couples retreat.

The Box Canyon Lodge is a very small property, and we strive to provide a clean comfortable environment for all of our guests. In an effort to keep our guest rooms as free as possible of allergens, we do maintain a no pets policy. Also, because our courtyard area is high traffic due to the mineral hot spring tubs, we do not have an appropriate place for people to safely walk their dog on our property. I do agree there is a fabulous new dog park in town, and we are more than happy to help arrange boarding for your pet in the area.

Thank you once again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you next year for you anniversary!

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great location, and has private hot springs tubs on decks behind hotel. Quiet and peaceful location tucked a couple blocks away from traffic corrider. Clean rooms. Good service from friendly staff. Will stay again next time thru.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear TexasLuv2Golf,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property.

Ouray is such a lovely little mountain town, and truly we are lucky to be located in the far corner. It is almost surreal how distanced one can feel from the modern world while soaking in the mineral hot spring tubs. My personal favorite is the middle tub. With spectacular views backing the woods, it is hard to believe that a number of fabulous shops and restaurants (not to mention Highway 550) are so very close!

Every member of the staff takes pride in providing a clean comfortable stay for our guests in a friendly, professional manner. It is always a pleasure to greet new visitors to the area and to welcome back those who have been visiting for years.

Thank you again, and we do look forward to your next visit to Ouray.

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#5 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peaceful location, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is where you relax. We have our very own natural hot springs onsite for the exclusive use of our guests. We are located at the base of the Ouray Ice Park, the Box Canyon Falls, and a short walk to all Ouray shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.