We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know why it's rated #2” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't know why it's rated #2”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Average old-time motel where your front door opens to your car in parking lot. Cute room and very clean. The thermostat didn't seem to work very well, got very warm at night while trying to sleep. Mattresses felt like they were made out of straw, kind of a weird texture under the sheet. Sheets and blankets were very clean and smelled good. Location was fine, not far from restaurants on main street, not too far of a walk. Motel advertises continental breakfast and that's what you get. Canned juice, apples, and muffins, not just-made warm ones. Coffee was the worst we ever tasted, really bitter. Had to spit it out! and buy some elsewhere. The price of a room is high for an average motel at best. Were disappointed and confused after reading all of the really excellent reviews on this site. We are not hotel snobs be any means and are not usually hard to please.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Naturechic,

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write a review on our property. We appreciate your honest opinions and feedback as it helps us improve our quality of service.

We are glad you found our accommodations very clean as our housekeeping staff prides themselves on their extremely high standards. We do all the laundry ourselves onsite and glad you appreciated our nice smelling linens.

I am sorry that you were disappointed however in your stay overall and that there seemed to be a problem with the thermostat in the room. Of course, upon receiving a complaint, our staff works to improve the situation and work with the guest to find a suitable solution. It is always helpful to us if we are notified while we can still solve the issue.

All of our rooms have Serta Presidential Pillow Top Mattresses in the rooms and most people find them very comfortable. I am sorry they were not to your liking.

We hope that you find your way back to Ouray on another visit as the town is quite delightful and we would be happy to help you find accommodations that better suit your preferences.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    107
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
82
257
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gunnison, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

From the service to the room to the view.... the experience exceeded my expectations. Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear LisaB
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. We certainly appreciate all the feedback we receive as we use it to improve our service and amenities.

Our staff is absolutely wonderful and their knowledge of the area is unparalleled. They are very friendly and skilled too. We are so happy that you appreciated those qualities too.

We look forward to providing a quality stay for you again.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at the Box Canyon Lodge in May of 2011. We were on a "hot springs tour" of our own making and stayed for just one night in Ouray. We chose Box Canyon because of the reviews found here and were not disappointed! It is so wonderful when an older property like this is so well cared for and tended. We loved the coziness of our room, particularly because it was cool and cloudy. The hot tubs were great, even in the slight misty rain. We especially liked having the DVD player and the many many DVDs in the office. We enjoyed watching an old classic movie in our room. Our room was immaculate and the bed quite comfortable. We love Ouray and returned last summer, but didn't call ahead soon enough. Next spring or summer we plan to make sure we call soon enough to get in. It's a wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear HGH,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at our property. Our establishment has been around for over fifty years but we do take pleasure in offering clean, comfortable and modern lodging in addition to our natural hot springs on the hillside for our guests' enjoyment. Of course, we strive to be the best we can be and we warmly welcome guests every single day of the year. Our friendly and professional staff work so very hard to make each guest feel at home.

In the summer, Ouray can be busy so reservations in advance are a good idea. In the wintertime, we can typically serve walk-ins but weekend nights do tend to fill up. It is a good idea to have a reservation then too.

Our natural hot springs onsite are a very unique experience and hope you enjoyed those too.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This place is very charming. It is the feeling of Ouray Colorado in every way. From the views, the hot springs, and the hummingbirds, you are left with a soothing and relaxing memory. The rooms are very neat and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Valzimmer_123
Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate your comments and we review each one so that we can make each guest stay a wonderful experience.

Not only do we welcome our human guests year round, we welcome the hummingbirds beginning in mid-May and they stay until mid to late September. The sound they make when they are around is a dull hum and they provide great entertainment as they dart around the property and in the town of Ouray. These little creatures do add to the relaxing nature of our property and most guests enjoy them.

We hope we can serve you if you should find yourself in Southwest Colorado once again.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

Our family lives in Washington state and we wished we lived close to Ouray. The area, people, activities amd Box Canyon Lodge are truly the best. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
DearJulieBrianKris,

Thank you so much for taking time to review our property. Our small independent family owned property relies on word of mouth to stay in business and we are grateful for your kind words.

We are very proud of our housekeeping standards at the Box Canyon Lodge. Our housekeepers are very dedicated to providing guests exceptionally clean rooms with very nice amenities. The entire staff takes great pride in the overall appearance and comfort of our guests. Our staff, as well as the locals in Ouray, are a very welcoming group of people and we love to show off our area.

We are so glad you enjoyed Ouray and look to come back. You wouldn't be the first! Ouray has been a wonderful destination for over a hundred years. Ouray is a National Historic District, nestled at the base of towering mountains and blessed with bountiful natural hot springs to soothe tired muscles at the end of a day of fun and excitement in the area.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here all seasons and can't wait to return. Breathtaking scenery, friendly folks. Our hiking group loves Box Canyon Lodge each Fall for our Gals only getaway: perfect pampering after hiking in the surrounding mtns. Rent the suite for Happy Hour space for 12 to party.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear PatJagger,
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our property. We certainly appreciate all of your comments and strive to make each guest feel welcome.

Ouray and our hotel is a wonderful location for group getaways. We love to have groups at our property who share like minded interests and a womens hiking club is a wonderful addition to our area for a girlfriend getaway. We are always delighted to help groups plan their trip and excursions to our charming Historic Victorian town.

Our staff is so knowledgeable and warm that it is easy to see how important they are to us and our guests really do enjoy talking with them.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We took a trip during end of July to areas of Colorado we had not been to. We stayed at the Box Canyon Lodge - what a wonderful surprise. Rooms were cozy, western theme, but updated. Flower boxes on all the balconies with humming birds galore. Woke up, opened door and a deer was eating the bushes right outside our room! Great recommendations for dinner, great walking town and in the middle of a beautiful box canyon, reminded us of the Alps. Friendly, helpful staff. Just a wonderful, perfect value for a trip. We WILL BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room by the hot tubs - cool at night - wildlife in the morning, very quiet and away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Luv2Cook1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit last July. Our staff is exceptional at helping guests with all of their vacation needs, and making sure that your stay is special. Of course, the beauty of this little town, also known as "The Switzerland of America", and all it has to offer make this an easy job. July is a wonderful time to visit. Hopefully you had a chance to take a jeep tour and see some of the breathtaking terrain in the high country. If not, let us help you set one up for your next visit!
Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#5 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peaceful location, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is where you relax. We have our very own natural hot springs onsite for the exclusive use of our guests. We are located at the base of the Ouray Ice Park, the Box Canyon Falls, and a short walk to all Ouray shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.