We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Delta, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stellar Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I recently visited the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs. I have been several time before and am always so pleased with the level of service and how great the rooms are. The hot tubs are the best. They are right outside the rooms and have incredible views.
I highly recommend the Box when you are in Ouray, these people know hospitality and the value of comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that face towards the hot tubs, but I always get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Kelli_Hepler,

Thank you for staying with us! We certainly appreciate your patronage and we value your business. Our staff is exceptional - they are real people people- and it shows.

Our housekeeping is second to none and that is another factor that makes our rooms so comfy. Everything is spotlessly clean and welcoming, including the inroom microwaves and mini-fridges.

We also thank you for taking the time to review our business on TripAdvisor. It takes time but we certainly value the feedback. We read each review and take them to heart.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    107
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
82
257
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

We have been staying here since may of 2008. It's the ONLY place we stay when we come home:) love the place, employees, surroundings, we love this place:)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Dysfnctnltnkrbl,

Thank you so much for staying with us again. We are delighted that you visit Ouray and stay with us and we love our connection on Facebook!

I can't say enough about how wonderfully hospitable our staff is and we couldn't do it without them. I am glad you felt their warmth and kindness and we hope to see you again.

We wish you a happy and healthy new year.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful rooms wonderful staff always so friendly and helpful, lodge has 4 outdoor hot tubs with water from the natural hot springs. Lots of walking to do nearby we went to box canon falls very impressive do the steep climb too if you can! Breakfast is fruit and muffins and coffee/juice very nice but if you need more the room has a fridge so just buy some supplies for breakfast before! Wonderful lady who checked us in gave us 10% off our stay as we are on a gap year so nice of her! Eat at Bon ton restaurant in town 5 star food and service! Ouray is a wonderful pretty town not a mcdonalds in sight! would love to return one day

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Rayleigh Tasha_1985,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our property and we LOVE that you can appreciate our town lacks a McDonalds. We think that makes us pretty special. All the restaurants and shops on Main Street are owned and operated by Independent Business Owners who take great pride in their offerings, just like we do.

Ouray is very special and we hope you return again one day. We thank you so much for your patronage.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were "just" here this past June, and we couldn't wait to get back to Ouray and the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs. As always, the staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful from the time I made the reservation to the time we left. Nikki was most helpful in telling us that Lake Crystal is best viewed around sunrise, but don't go too early as it takes time for the sun to get over the mountains. Sometimes I feel like I ask too many questions, but that's my own "issue" and the staff never makes you feel as if you're intruding or asking too many questions. Very, very helpful.

It was nice to run into Karen and her husband (the owners) while we were out for Sunday Funday at Buen Tiempo. The Box Canyon Lodge is perfectly situated so that downtown is accessible by foot (if your lungs can handle it!), so it's nice to be able to park the car (or motorcycles) and walk about town and then come back "home" for a nice soak in the natural hot spring tubs.

We were disappointed Monday night (10/10/11) that the top two tubs were occupied so we were relagated to using the lower (cooler) tubs. I understand there was a mechanical issue with the water temperature of the tubs, so the lower two felt cooler than bath water. But that was remedied the following day.

The rooms and property are kept very neat and tidy. It's a pleasure to stay and relax here. We can't wait for our next trip.

Jim and Dana

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Danish10

It was delightful to run into you while you were here and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate our guests and it is always a pleasure to answer questions and help visitors enjoy our beautiful location.

Our apologies for the tub temperature and I am glad you found it better the next day. We will keep you posted on Facebook and Twitter of the upcoming jeep season. It is too early to tell the snowpack levels at this point.

Kind regards,
Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Our stay at the Box Cayon Lodge & Hot Springs was wonderful. The hot tubs were cozy and quiet. This amazing establishment is great for a quiet relaxing weekend. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. We will stay again. Staff was very nice compaired to another establishment with right to the hot springs and vapor cave.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is one of the few establishments with rights to use the natural springs that feed the hot tubs here, tucked away behind one of the main buildings and spanning 2 or 3 flights of stairs. The views of the mountainside offer a colorful array of trees and rock formations that add to the tranquil settings, ensuring that a good soak in a hot tub here will be an experience you would be hard pressed to find anywhere else. My room was predictably clean and well kept, with the dining table thoughtfully arranged near much needed outlets and the window as well, providing me a generous view of the mountains outside while I typed away on my MacBook.

The Wi-Fi itself (unlike a recent Hilton I stayed at) was perfect, allowing me to watch Netflix movies and Hulu shows without issue.

The staff is friendly and do their best to make you feel welcome, providing a wealth of knowledge of what you can do during your stay (along with fun guessing games where you can win prizes by guessing the temperature levels of the hot tubs.)

Overall, this will now be my go to hotel whenever I visit Ouray. :-)

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are more likely to offer unobstructed views of the mountainside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear LincolnAdams,

First, we want to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our property. We read each and every review and we take our guests feedback very seriously. We know that it takes time to provide it and we are grateful.

Most people love the setting of our natural hot springs and we are glad you did too. It is unique, and can be very relaxing and rejuvenating after a long day out in the surrounding mountains.

Our staff is fantastic and we are glad you appreciated their local knowledge, their caring nature and their love of all things Ouray.

We enjoyed meeting you and thank you so much for staying with us on your Colorado and western states adventure.

Until we meet again,

Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

On our recent visit to Ouray we found The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to be everything we were looking for.
The room was clean and quiet, the staff was excellent and very accomodating. The Hot Springs were clean and very relaxing.
The overall price was well worth the money.
We do plan to use your lodge again and would recommend it to everyone who wants to get away in beautiful Ouray. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear DanielP,

First, we sincerely appreciate the time and effort you took to write a review of our family owned and operated business on TripAdvisor. I read each and every review (whether online or on a guest comment card) and I share all comments with all employees. It is our mission at the Box Canyon Lodge to ensure a very relaxing, comfortable and wonderful stay for each and every visitor to our lodge.

Our housekeeping staff is second to none; they take great pride in their work and I am so glad you appreciated our attention to detail. Our maintenance staff is also top notch and they work very hard on the grounds and hot springs to ensure each guest has a delightful stay.

We can't wait for you to return :-)

Kind regards,

Karen Avery
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#5 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its peaceful location, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is where you relax. We have our very own natural hot springs onsite for the exclusive use of our guests. We are located at the base of the Ouray Ice Park, the Box Canyon Falls, and a short walk to all Ouray shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.