We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the World Go By” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ouray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ouray Hotel
Save
You added Ouray Hotel to your Saves list
303 6th Ave. & Main St., Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Watch the World Go By”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

I agree with the other reviewers. Our only regret about this hotel is that we only got to spend two nights here! This is a great place to stay and this local business owner does a great job. Isn't it nice to spend money here instead of giving it to some foreign investor who owns a big chain? We sat in the windows of our second story room and watched the shoppers wonder the charming main street. At night, we got a big giggle as we watched the bears come into town and "shop" in the trashcans in town. The view was really nice, the room was wonderful, and the owner was helpful and kind. We had a terrific time and our 6 year old loved watching people go by. It's probably best to avoid this hotel if your family needs to make a lot of noise. Silence isn't necessary by any means, but if you need a place for the kids to run off lots of energy, the other guests might not appreciate it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at the Ouray hotel on our way to Denver and really liked the place. The rooms are really charming (we had 2 quadruple suites) and the rates are the best part of it!
Rooms were spacious enough and clean. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Only be aware that you have to climb a considerable number of steps to get to the second floor where all rooms are. However, this is clearly mentioned when you book the room, so we knew this and a few steps won't kill you, right?
Ouray is a nice, charming town and we had a wonderful dinner there as well (sorry, forgot the name but it was a nice, old hotel in one of the side-streets of main street). Breakfast at the corner across the street was less successful, mediocre food and a loooong wait before finally getting our breakfast.
All in all, a very nice hotel in a charming little place.

  • Liked — rooms were charming
  • Disliked — small bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This hotel is a great choice and a great value. We spent one night in a "budget" room and returned a few days later for one night in a "king" room. The budget room ($60) is fine but a little small. It had no outside window, making it very quiet, but windows to the skylit hallway let in plenty of light. The king ($80) was much more spacious and had (in my opinion) a more comfortable bed, plus big windows with a view of the mountains. It was close to the corner of Main St so it was just a little noisy at night with the windows open. Both rooms were comfortably furnished and immaculate, including the bathrooms, which was supplied with "real" towels, not the dishrag variety you get in a lot of budget places! A tea/coffee/hot chocolate self-service is always available. It's a great place to stay in Ouray and we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location; nice restoration of an historic property.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

I recently stayed at the Ouray Hotel in Ouray, Colorado with 2 friends. We had a nice room with 3 full size beds so we each had our own bed. All rooms are on the second floor of this building which has retail below it. It is nice because you don't need to worry about other guests below you. The hotel is very clean and conveniently located in the middle of town. The owner was very helpful and willing to accomodate us in any way that he could. Check out the website to see that the hotel rooms are just like the pictures.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and owner.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We booked July 25th and July 27th because they were already booked up for the 26th. On that night we stayed across the street at the Cascade Falls Lodge (see review).

This hotel is located on Main Street, right in the center of downtown. Absolutely, the perfect location. Prices range from $50 to $120. Newly renovated, beautifully decorated victorian style rooms.

The entry of the hotel is a steep flight of stairs to the second floor of the hotel and where the office is located. (see photo) The rooms all enter from the hallway which is very wide with large skylight ceilings and beautifully victorian decorated sitting chairs, sofas and tables in the hallway. The hotel does not offer breakfast but there is a room that stays open all the time, with a soda and ice machine, coffee, tea and hot chocolate, and a couple of sitting chairs (no tables). The owner doesn't arrive until about 8:00am but we noticed the coffee was brewing at 6:00am. I guess he sets the coffee on a time so early risers can get a cup of coffee when they wake up. Dale, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. He obviously prides himself in the cleanliness of his hotel and standard of quality. This hotel must be the best deal in town as far as price and you don't have to sacrifice quality to get a budge price.

The first night we stayed in a $65.00 room (#1). The rooms was freshly painted soft yellow which complimented the plum color guest towels. The room has a high ceiling, with baseboards and door facings trimmed with wide molding, painted white . The large picture window in the bathroom covered with white lace curtains. White lace was also draped across the antique dresser and round night stand. The bathroom had a very large shower. (no tub) A small sink was located in the bedroom. The room had a very comfortable plush queen size bed. The room is not large but there is at least 3 ft. of space around the bed. The picture window located in the bedroom overlooked the back yard and porch stairs of the adjoining neighbor, thus the reduced price of the room. I asked the owner Dale, the difference between the $50 rooms and the $65 rooms. He said the $50 rooms are smaller with only a full size bed that will fit comfortably in the room and the picture window overlooks the neighbors porch which has 'stuff' on it that he really can't do anything about. The $50 rooms are still nicely decorated victorian style as all the rooms in the hotel are. THERE ARE NO HAIR DRYERS IN THE ROOMS, LADIES, so bring your own if you think you need one. The hotel might offer one at the front desk, but I don't know that. Such an insufficant inconvenience when you see this place and enjoy the price.

Two nights later, we were back at the Ouray Hotel. We booked the $65.00 room, but a $90 room became available, so we decided to try a different room, just to see what it was like. The $90 room (#11) was huge with a very comfortable king size bed. Again with the high ceiling same color paint, guest towels, (added molding around the ceiling) antique furniture. Two large white laced picture windows that overlooked main street and part of the side street. Nice size bathroom (again, large shower only, no tub). Sink on this room was located in the bathroom. As you enter the room, there is a separate sitting area with 2 chairs and a lamp table.

If I understood Dale correctly, he said there is another $65 room #6 that faces the street and the same size as the one we stayed in the first night.

I checked out all the accomodations in Ouray that were located on the internet (most of them are), and I did not find a better deal for the price. I've stayed in the Ouray Chalet about 4 years ago. It was clean, basic, hot tub, entry from the outside. I noticed most of the hotels in Ouray seemed to have outside entry, and were standard looking from the outside.

I wish I had taken pictures of our $65 room, but I failed to. The hotel's website that shows room views 1-5 is a true image of what our room looked like. I did take pictures of the hallway and our $90 room and added them to TripAdvisor.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — No hairdryer.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel for probably the last 5 years for the week of the fourth of July as well as other times of the year. It is immaculately clean, tastefully decorated with many pieces of Turn of the Century Furniture. The owner is friendly and very knowledgeable about Ouray and the surrounding areas. It is located right in the middle of Ouray. Finally, we were very suprised at the reasonable price range for all the rooms. FIVE STARS to the Ouray Hotel !

  • Liked — Clean, quite, Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

We stopped at tourist info center & were told things were booking up fast & given a list of a few places still open. We bypassed this hotel, seemed *ify*, but we could not find anything else & checked in. Well, for under $80, it was the best room, the best location, the best bargain we had on our 12 day SoWest adventure. Simple, clean,perfect. Loved it

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ouray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Hotel

Address: 303 6th Ave. & Main St., Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ouray's Historic District, the Ouray Hotel provides a return to Victorian yesteryear living, with remodeled spacious rooms, which are air conditioned, non-smoking, and each with private bath. Take a virtual tour, and experience the Ouray Hotel difference today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouray Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.