We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ouray

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ouray
Save
You added Hotel Ouray to your Saves list
303 6th Avenue & Main Street, Ouray, CO 81427 (Formerly Ouray Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was delightful to stay here with all the charm of 1893 and the luxuries of 2015. The mattresses, pillows, sheets and towels are top-of-the-line 2015 while the building recalls the charm of an earlier era. The new owners are doing a fantastic job of keeping the best of the old while adding the new. I would not recommend the hotel for families with children who want to run around.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOuray, Owner at Hotel Ouray, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Wayne and Suzanne, What a pleasure to see your review come through this morning! So glad you were so pleased and comfortable while staying with us. We hope to see you again in beautiful Ouray and share with you our continued upgrades! Patty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spend over half my year on the road for work. Spending another night in a hotel is not normally fun for me. But Hotel Ouray was GREAT! The owners may be the nicest folks in Colorado. Patty and Patrick are the best of hosts. Patrick has taken the hotel and upgraded everything about it and still maintained the historic charm. His eye for details makes a difference in capturing the feeling of history while maintaining a luxurious stay. I do not know what they are but they have the softest sheets I've ever slept on. Their local knowledge is excellent. If you enjoy hiking, make this a trip.

Room Tip: Go on line and take a look at the rooms. We were in room 10 and enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOuray, Owner at Hotel Ouray, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Steve, your review was amazing and meant a great deal to us since you are such a frequent traveler (that can get very old, we know). Patrick and I were humbled by your words. We truly hope our guests feel the warmth and hospitality that we strive for. We look forward to having you join us again and may all our guests feel as welcomed as you did. Patty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has recently been updated with details that complement the historical beauty of the hotel. Patty and Patrick welcomed us like family. It was a wonderful stay. Our room was #10 and was spotless upon arrival. The breakfast area was located right across the way. There was ample parking on the hotel grounds. The location of the hotel was perfect with just a 2 block walk up to Cascade Falls and right across the street from Mouse Chocolates (coffee, sweets, and great hours). You are also just 3-4 blocks away from Box Canyon Falls. It was also across the street from one of the best breweries in the area, Ouray Brewing. There were a few other guests staying in the hotel at the same time as us and we didn't hear a peep. I would certainly stay here again, especially after walking through the rest of the town to see the other options.

Oh yeah, the sheets are super soft!

Room Tip: Call the owner and ask about each room's view. She was very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOuray, Owner at Hotel Ouray, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Megan/Andrew, thank you so much for your review! Patrick and I truly appreciate you taking the time to promote our new business and that you were so pleased. That's exactly what we want to hear! :) We look forward to seeing you both, with new baby, in the future! God bless, Patty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We escaped to Ouray for a quick weekend getaway and our stay at Hotel Ouray made the weekend so wonderful! The hotel has been beautifully renovated, our bed was super comfy and we had lots of space (thanks to an upgrade by Patty!) for our 18 month old to toddle around and have a little bit of precious Mom and Dad time. The hotel is close to everything and Patty and Patrick know a lot about the surrounding areas! They had only been open a week and half when we stayed but seemed like they had been doing this for years. They are so welcoming and kind and truly made us feel like part of their family. It is very obvious how excited they are to be running this wonderful establishment. I highly recommend Hotel Ouray! We will be back and are looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOuray, Owner at Hotel Ouray, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Chris and Erin, so glad you enjoyed the upgrade and your sweet daughter had a little more room to roam! We so enjoyed meeting you and thrilled that you enjoyed Hotel Ouray so much - we hope our guests always feel they are welcomed with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely surprise to find such a gem in the heart of Ouray. We were one of the first couples to stay in this newly renovated hotel. Patty and Patrick are so attentive and friendly. They make you feel right at home. The hotel is turn of the century infused with modern touches. Patrick and Patty gave us a tour of the many unique rooms-all light, bright and airy with high ceilings and large windows to see the breath-taking views of the mountains and downtown area. And...the beds are to die for! So comfortable! Really, one of the most comfy beds my fiance and I have ever slept in while traveling...and we travel a lot. This is a hotel I would definitely stay in again. Hotel Ouray has it all-historic charm without being overdone, a fantastic location in town and incredible hospitality! Thank you Patrick and Patty. We will definitely be staying at your hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOuray, Owner at Hotel Ouray, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Nicole...Patrick and I thank you so very much for your kind words. We so enjoyed meeting you and Steven and we are thrilled to know we were successful in creating a welcoming environment, that is our goal! We look forward to hosting you both in the future and showing you all the changes we've made since you first joined us. Thank you for making our first days so memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Patrick and Patty are perfect at making guests feel like family!! We just stumbled upon this hotel while passing through town and we're glad we did. This couple is so amazingly friendly and accommodating. The rooms are beautiful and the sheets, WELL THE SHEETS ARE SPECTACULAR! So soft!! (sorry, got carried away there)...Thanks Patrick & Patty!!! We will come back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOuray, Owner at Hotel Ouray, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Lori, you are what makes this new life of ours so enjoyable; meeting people like you and Jim! So glad we didn't miss you that day. Thank you for the great review...we look forward to seeing you both again. Yes, have to LOVE those sheets! :) Patty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce City, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was great right in the middle of this small old mining town. The owners where there to help you with whatever you needed, and where very nice people. The rooms had that old town feel with all the modern comforts. Every room in this place had an awesome view of the town and the mountains. If you are looking to stay in Ouray and get the most bang for your buck this is the place

Room Tip: every room is grate just make sure you get one with the right amount of beds for party
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOuray, Owner at Hotel Ouray, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Chuck, it was a delight to have you and your family. We look forward to your next visit and we will have Suite #7 up and running for you by then, as requested! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ouray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ouray

Address: 303 6th Avenue & Main Street, Ouray, CO 81427 (Formerly Ouray Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ouray's Historic District, the Hotel Ouray, formerly Ouray Hotel, provides a turn-of-the-century experience with a contemporary touch. Many rooms have been updated, or are in the process of an update. 5 suites with price ranges from $119 to $189. 9 rooms from $69 - $169. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ouray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.