We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Springs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hot Springs Inn to your Saves list
Hot Springs Inn
1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Wentzville, Missouri
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Just returned from 12 day trip with friends travelling throughout Colorado and Grand Canyon in AZ. Stopped at Hot Springs Inn due to vacancy sign and we needed a room. Pleasant surprise. Rooms cheerfully decorated in Texan style. Big room, great view, balcony faces river. We were able to walk to middle of town. Had 2 or 3 hot tubs that looked nice even though we did have time to use. The breakfast room was decorated nicely. Breakfast was average. The only thing that confused us was that the resort was listed in our AAA book and the listing indicated we would receive discount but woman at desk indicated pretty bluntly that they gave discounts to no one including AAA, AARP, Military, etc. We didn't argue but I plan to inquire with AAA. Town of Ouray is great and the scenery spectacular. Box Canyon Falls worth a visit. Ouray is advertised as the Switzerland of Colorado and having been to the Alps and Switzerland I would say this is a good description. It is a very small town nestled in mountains and very picturesque.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Location
  • Disliked — No travel discounts given
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    78
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
189
303
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We love to visit Ouray Colorado and will book rooms at this location in the future. The room was clean and very comfortable. The value was awesome. The room was directly on the water and the soothing sound led to a great night sleep. The staff was very friendly and provided info on the area and places to dine.
A wonderful time.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Our most recent stay at the Hot Springs Inn in Ouray, Colorado, was simply wonderful. The accommodations are excellent, the service is superb, and the staff is extremely pleasant and helpful! This was our second experience; the first being two years ago. When we planned this year's vacation there was no question where we wanted to stay! We found that the Hot Springs Inn remains one of the best vacation hotels to be found! You can not go wrong with this establishment!

  • Liked — Comfort of room
  • Disliked — I found nothing negative about this property!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed here for the Imogene Pass Run.

Very pleasant stay. Clean. Nice people. Great price. Good location for river walk to Pool or town. V comfy bed - huge!

I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean. Great Price.
  • Disliked — Need a fan in the bathroom!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

The Hot Springs Inn is conviently located in beautiful Ouray Colorado. The sound of the river flowing behind the room was amazing. The "cloud 9" king size bed was to absolutely die for!! Can't wait for our next visit.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, TX
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

This place lived up to the reviews. We were greeted very warmly at the front desk. When we got to our room we couldn't believe the size of the room. We had everything we needed: a refrigerator, safe. The decorations are a very nice touch. The room had 2 nice chairs in front of the fireplace but I sat on the deck watching the river instead. Some reviews have mentioned weird notes in the room but I didn't find any. Some reviews have mentioned the lack of fruit at the breakfast. The woman at the desk told me they are trying to remedy this. I can see how fresh fruit could be a problem. Ouray is far from everything and only has one tiny market. The breakfast was fine and the breakfast room was cozy. The woman at the desk and I discussed Trip Advisor and I know she checks this web site and really pays attention and cares about what the guest are saying.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Wanted to stay longer!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

After reading all the rave reviews on this place, I was a little nervous about staying here thinking that these reviews were written by staff and family members of the hotel! I was wrong. This hotel was superb! Great, friendly staff, beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, a beautiful balcony overlooking the river...and a decent continental breakfast the next morning. Would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone going to Ouray.

  • Liked — The rooms and the hot tubs!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Inn

Address: 1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ouray
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each clean, spacious room overlooks the Uncompahgre River with a private balcony, two premium king sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerator and much more. Take advantage of our on site laundromat, hot tubs and grills. We've even got condiments if you forgot yours! After you plan tomorrow's adventure, enjoy an evening stroll on the Uncompahgre River Walk located right outside your door. Come home to the Hot Springs Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hot Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Hot Springs Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.