We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ouray” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Springs Inn

Save Saved
You added Hot Springs Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hot Springs Inn
1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% DISCOUNT AT CHECK-IN
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Ouray
Granbury TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Ouray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I just returned from a stay at Hot Springs Inn in Ouray, Colorado and was impressed with the quality of my stay. The bed was as good as any bed I have ever stayed in and I have traveled to over 25 countries.

The sound of the river right out my door helped put me to sleep in addition to the great beds, I slept very well. The place was friendly as all the staff were pleasant and professional. The place was well maintained. The breakfast was decent. I have stayed in other places in Ouray and this place is my new favorite. Western decor was nice as I felt it was owned by Texan's. As a Texan, I appreciate the pride and hospitality delivered by other Texan's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    457
    65
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
169
262
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, CO
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Exceptional hotel. Luxury linens. Fireplace, with sitting area. Private balcony right next to the river. Staff is wonderful -- pleasant, chatty, knowlegeable about the area -- both sights to see, where to eat, which tour businesses to use. Great location on the river walk -- can walk to hot springs (although it was a little cold walking back while wet!).

Breakfast was fairly limited but adequate. A step above continental, but not much. They have 3 hot tubs but do not utilize hot spring water. Tubs were very chlorine-y. also, not very hot.

would still stay here again. Great price and lovely rooms. Extremely comfortable beds with lots of pillows and lovely sheets! Great sleeping!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As the titel says: we loved this little town an the excellent Hotel so much, that we decided to stay 3 instead of 2 nights!
The staff is absolutly great, so friendly.
The rooms are mentionable clean, large, comfortable, very quiet, tastefully furnished in a cowboy-western style; they contain a faked but cosy fireplace, a patio facing the river and the most heavenly beds that we've ever slept in!
Because of the patios and the over-avarage length the rooms seem to be rather dark at the first sight when you come in, but there are a plenty of lamps so you could illuminate it like an airport.
The only tiny criticism we've had is the old and bad fitting TV. A Flatscreen would be appropriate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent two nights at the Inn on August 16 and 17, 2012. The location was recommended by a friend who had stayed there and had recommended it to several other people as well. All of those people were very happy with it. Each of the rooms have a river and mountain view, and a nice balcony. The Inn style is of the old west, and the attention to that detail in the rooms was remarkable. The Inn grounds have old stagecoaches and western artifacts throughout the property. The manager and staff were friendly and accommodating to everyone.

I spoke to a number of other guests who have visited Ouray often. Many indicated that the Inn was the only place they will stay in Ouray. One couple said that they plan their trips to Colorado based on availability at the Inn.

Ouray is a jeeping Mecca, and it is a beautiful little town with good restaurants that will not break the bank. It is not as large or commercialized as towns like Breckenridge, and is a very friendly place. The Inn is a great place to stay if you are climbing Mt. Sneffels as we did. There are three outdoor hot tubs to help relax the muscles after an strenuous hike!

And if you are traveling south of there to Durango, consider The Strater Hotel there. You will not be disappointed! I live in the state and travel it often.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a river and mountain view, so it is impossible to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is our third visit staying at Hot Springs Inn! Each time has been so memorable, we would not even consider staying anywhere else! We were there over Labor Day week & it was better than ever! From the moment you open your door and look back to the beautiful mountains out your back window & patio you think you're in heaven! We can't wait to sleep in those comfy King beds with the window open so the river can lull us to sleep! It's always super clean, staff is very nice, and the cleaning staff was very accomadating when we needed anything done! We enjoy going to Ouray so much.. it's a small beautiful mountain town & this is a small town hotel so don't expect the Marriott! Just relax, enjoy the beautiful mountain views & the clean air! While we did not go to Ouray to watch tv, we would like to see them upgrade to LCD's, but I have no doubt they will soon! This was also the first time we have gone to the Hot Springs pool! It was very relaxing and we had to wonder why we haven't been before! We will be back again and we WILL absolutely stay here again!! Thank you Hot Spting Inn for another stay that was so wonderful!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We almost planned our trip around this hotel as after a wonderful stay last year, we wanted to go back to stay again.
Last year we rated this the best hotel of all we had stayed in during our 3 week trip to America and we would do the same again this year. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are extremely helpful and friendly being very quick to advise on places to visit and eat.

The rooms are outstanding being nicely decorated and different to the usual run of the mill chain hotels. They are large, clean and very very comfortable. It was nice to have a room safe too.
The outside areas of this hotel are spotlessly clean and well tended.
Breakfast is good and always seems to be a very nice social time to enjoy with other guests. Take time to look around this room too. It is very interesting with lots of different items and artifacts.
Hopefully we will return yet again to this wonderful hotel which is an oasis of peace.

Room Tip: WE had a corner room which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This has been the most enjoyable place for our stay in Ouray. Jan and Pam are very courteous and pleasant to chat with. The people that run this business do an excellent job of keeping the rooms clean and in working order(no leaky faucets,noisy door hinges,etc.) We will stay here on our return visits to this beautiful little mountain town and would recommend Hot Springs Inn to any of our friends or family that vacation here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Inn

Address: 1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ouray
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each clean, spacious room overlooks the Uncompahgre River with a private balcony, two premium king sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerator and much more. Take advantage of our on site laundromat, hot tubs and grills. We've even got condiments if you forgot yours! After you plan tomorrow's adventure, enjoy an evening stroll on the Uncompahgre River Walk located right outside your door. Come home to the Hot Springs Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hot Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Hot Springs Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.