We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva la Bon Ton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Ton Restaurant

Bon Ton Restaurant
426 Main Street, at the St. Elmo Hotel, Ouray, CO 81427
970-325-4419
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bon Ton is a local favorite! We offer a variety of entrees including pasta dishes, steaks, and seafood. All of our food is fresh and cooked to order.
Cedaredge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Viva la Bon Ton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We went to this restaurant for our anniversary late October 2013 (we live a couple of hours away)and loved it so much we are going back for New Year's Eve. My husband and I moved to the western slope of Colorado from a Colorado ski town loaded with excellent restaurants. The Bon Ton is up there with any of them. We had fish and beef for our entrees and we each just ate and keep smiling...wonderful! The service was good. It was a perfect evening in an intimate setting and a great dining experience. (In fact it was sooo good we talked 8 of our good friends into celebrating New Year's Eve 2013 there!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    24
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tchrs
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Surrisingly good - priced right too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Bon Ton is closed on Tuesdays. We went on Monday and were almost the only people there. We had spaghetti and meatballs and a seafood fettuccini. Both were huge portion wise and EXCELLENT. The quality was equal to Italian restaurants in much larger cities. They served a great Caesar salad and we were not able to even try a dessert after munching too many pieces of the warm bread.

Good atmosphere and service. A bit romantic in the front area with low lighting. They make several specialties like Beef Wellington. We try one of those next time. And last of all the dinner tab was under $30 for two people.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very good food and excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I ate at Bon Ton for Thanksgiving this year. They had the "traditional" Thanksgiving menu, as well as limited selections from their regular menu. The food was great and the service was excellent. This appears to be a very popular restaurant in Ouray. I would suggest making reservations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Finest Dining in Ouray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've eaten here since the 70's and it's fantastic. Be it steak or pasta or drinks, you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is easily one of the best meals I have ever had! My fiancee and I went here for our last night in Ouray and it was easily the best time we had. We went on a Monday night so the restaurant was almost completely empty. The bartender/server went above and beyond by letting me taste several different wines and made great suggestions. The food was amazing....especially the cannoli. We will absolutely be back on our next trip to Ouray. It is worth every penny!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Ton Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bon Ton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Ton Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.