We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Place Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ouray KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ouray KOA
Save
You added Ouray KOA to your Saves list
US Highway 550 - CR23, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Parker, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Place Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We loved camping here. The tent sites are GIANT and could easily fit two tents and they are grassy and flat. It was like heaven camping here with the kids as they could run around on the grass and play at your campsite. They also had a little hiking area and playground. We loved going exploring around Ouray in the days and going to the hot springs pool. Will definitely be back! Just be aware- Ouray and Ridgeway don't have a grocery store, so come prepared :) Staff were lovely as well.

Room Tip: Get the sites in the far back corner backing up to the trees. lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ARIZONA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times in last couple years. We are headed there again in September 2014. Good central location for 4x4 trips and to visit towns around the area. The park is far enough away from the highway so it is not noisy and lots of trees and grass in the park

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Only minutes from Ouray, so this makes it a great location. We stayed in one of the "Kabins" by the "stream". Take the "stream" with a grain of salt, because it is actually an irrigation ditch. Do not let your dogs drink from it, it is a common place for Giardia according to a local vet. That said, it was very pleasant and even though ours did not have a bathroom in it, they were not too far to walk to. These are very basic, but comfortable. The BBQ they serve at the restaurant at the Campground was excellent but too pricey. They don't tell you, but if you don't make a reservation, you may not have a place to sit and eat. We ended up taking it to our cabin, which was a bummer, because there is no table in the cabin, and we kind of would have enjoyed listening to the band that was playing. The price for the cabins are excellent for the area. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The cabin right behind the restaurant is not the one for you if you like your privacy. Ask for one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
498 reviews 498 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Really happy with our Kabin here. The property is quiet and out of the way, off of the highway. The staff is warm and friendly. The rates are right. Love the steamside Kabin and the private bathroom suites (separate rooms for each guest with toilet, sink, shower instead of common bathing areas). I will be sure to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed two nights and it was very pleasant. We were in the back section and noise was no problem. We rented one of their jeeps for a day and that was a lot of fun. Their price is similar to other rentals in the area and it is very convenient to have it right at the campground. They have maps available, and can give some suggestions. Be sure to have proof of insurance, including collision deductable (we were able to have State Farm fax it to the campground, as this was a last minute decision).

This campground was further from the road than some others in the immediate area, and was nicely laid out. When driving by some of the other campgrounds we were glad we chose the KOA. One evening we had deer come wandering by.

They do have a laundry, which I didn't see mentioned on their website or on the campground map.

We'd cetainly stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Attractive mountain location 5 miles from Ouray. Pleasant spacious campground with streams running through, a smart shop and an excellent cook out. Helpful staff, good restrooms facilities. A few cabins and a Teepee to rent.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here with family and friends and the best thing was the weather. The staff was very friendly and they accomodated us allowing my children and grandchildren to stay on our campsite in tents. We rented a jeep from the koa camp and it was a lot of fun with the family. The camp needs to update the playground for children. The restaurant was convenient but a little pricey. They are limited on 50 amp so make a reservation early if you want a 50 amp. It is 5 miles to Ouray but that is ok. We liked being out of town. The rv park close to town had no grass. With our grandchildren we were glad to be in a park with grass to allow them to play. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ouray KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray KOA

Address: US Highway 550 - CR23, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ouray
Number of rooms: 110

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouray KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.