We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added River's Edge Motel to your Saves list
River's Edge Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fayetteville, AR
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Located just a few blocks off the main street, loved the sound of the river from our open window. Nothing fancy, but had a clean spacious room. The guy checking us in was not "overly friendly"...actually seemed a little bothered. As we were loading our car upon check-out a different, much more friendly gentleman approached us and thanked us for staying. He explained that they were closing for the season in a couple of days which explained to us why the hanging planters were empty, hot tub closed, and outdoor chairs stacked up. This is a great property at a great location and could easily get excellent reviews with a few changes ie: new, updated bedspreads and decor.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Owner at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ouray!

It seems like you may have us confused with the Rivers Edge. They are located in town just a few blocks of Main st. We are located at the north end of Ouray on Main. (We are the ones with cabins on the river and convenience store). The other reason we think you might have us confused is because we never close in the off-season. We offer great rates and accommodations year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    57
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
86
160
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We will definitely be back. The owners truly care about the well-being of their guests. The rooms are pretty, comfortable, & very clean. When you go up to the "breakfast room" you feel a sense of "family" among the guests-which is instilled by the owners. We rate the place A+ and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I operated a very popular inn in the 1980s in another mountain town much like Ouray, and in the years that followed I was a hotel consultant, then executive in lodging. It's very rare that I find authentic innkeepers doing it well regardless of size, cost, or style. These guys are doing it right. While we all have bad days and are human, you can't fake this-- either you are genuinely concerned about the guests' entire experience or not. We stayed for five nights at the end of Sept, with our dog, and the weather and fall color gods were with us, but even if rain or snow had kept us inside we would have had a great time.

For serious hikers, try the oak creek falls about 2500 ft up towards T'ride, then the Wiesbaden hot springs and vapor caves- for $15 bucks it's a steal-- I had a rare massage that included 3 hours of springs and vapor for under $ 100-- beats stocks any day.

We also enjoyed O'Brien's Pub http://obrienspubouray.com/ and Ouray Mountain Sports where you will find a rare authentic climbing shop http://ouraysports.com/

We've spent the last several vacations in Co. mountain towns. My wife and I can recommend River's Edge and Ouray with absolutely no risk, particularly for those seeking a high quality experience at exceptional value.

My only recommendation for these great innkeepers is to hire some part-time help as soon as the P&L allows--we don't want you getting burned out because we intend to be back soon--and perhaps enclose the outside seating area adjacent to the breakfast room (with big sliders to let the fresh air in on nice days like we had. One of the things we learned in the 1980s was that when you serve a great breakfast for free, guests just swarm the place.... all our best -- and enjoy your stay folks -- Mark & Betsy Montgomery (+Sophie)

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, which was no problem. Our dog was a bit afraid of the see-through stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at The Rivers Edge on our 10-7-2011 thru 10-10-2011 trip. Dave and Chad the proprietors, worked very hard to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Our room was clean and well kept, breakfast was good and the view was wonderfull. Dave and Chad not only ran the business but they also cleaned the room and served breakfast. I would highly recomend "The Rivers Edge" for your Ouray vacation.

Dave and Tommie

Room Tip: Check web site for floor plans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan WI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was my third stay at Dave and Chads mountain get away. They have added air conditioners and new carpet to all the rooms. Like always they treat you like family, never acting like you are bother with any request. Rooms and the property are very quiet. Spend some time on the property and you will make new friends and get the latest 4X4 trail updates. I timed my walk to the grocery store, just under 5 minutes. The only bad thing this trip was the weather, I had planned on spending a day sitting outside enjoy the view of the mountains but the weather didn't cooperate. This is a great place to stay if you plan of doing some off roading. Most of the trips are an easy half day except for Blackbear. If you don't feel up to driving yourself, San Juan tours is less than a minutes walk and worth the price. I plan on going back next September.
They deserve your business and never take your business for granted.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We love this place! This was our third year staying at the Rivers Edge, and even though we
had a travel trailer this year, we still wanted to make a stop at this wonderful motel. Our dog is
always welcome, and the innkeepers are so friendly, hard-working and attentive. The complimentary breakfast is great, and the rooms are always clean and well-maintained. We
will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I made reservations for the Rivers Edge based on it's good reviews. When we arrived we were surprised by the large room which included a small kitchen and dining area and a nice sized sleeping area. My first impression was that the room was definitely not cozy or welcoming but, for the price, I didn't expect the Ritz. I expect two things from a hotel/motel room...that it is clean and I can get a good night's sleep. The room was clean. But the beds were a huge problem. They had those floral covers on them that don't show dirt and you never know when they were last washed. The sheets were slightly greying poly and the pillows were flat little pancakes. That bed was the hardest bed we have ever tried to sleep on and neither of us got much sleep as a result. It was impossibly hard and we both had backaches by morning. The hotel itself had lovely baskets of flowers everywhere and the location is excellent. We didn't have our little dog along but loved that dogs were welcome in the hotel. The owners get points for that alone. This is the first bad review I have ever written and I don't like doing it but since I and many others rely on these reviews when choosing a place to stay, I feel it is necessary. I am mystified that we are the only guests that found the beds impossibly hard and so uncomfortable it affected our ability to sleep. We stayed in room #23 and perhaps they have different bedding...? We found the restaurants of Ouray average or below but that is not the reason for visiting beautiful Ouray. Hint to the owners-charge 20 bucks more and provide cotton sheets and a down like conforter with a white freshly washed duvet cover. It would magically change the look and feel of the room. Oh, and a softer mattress please!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ouray
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.