We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Quiet Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ouray Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ouray Chalet Inn to your Saves list
Ouray Chalet Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   510 Main Street, PO Box 544, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Orem, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean Quiet Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The place I usually stay wasn't available for booking from the Corporate website, so I did a google search and came up with the Chalet Inn. I've walked through the parking lot many times during my previous stays in Ouray, and the price was amazingly awesome so I booked it. My wife and I stayed for our Valentine Trip, and we were surprised at how nice the accommodations were. When we checked in the staff was very helpful and friendly, and suggested we eat out early, since Ouray "rolls up the sidewalks at night".

When we entered our upstairs room, there was music playing from a speaker on the wall, with a switch to turn it off. Reminds me of my road trips back in the 1970's. Very fun. The room was very quiet, surprisingly so, for being on the main street in town near several bars. That being said it was a Wednesday night.

About the only complaint I have is that the in-room wall heater was tough to adjust to a "just-so" setting. But too warm is not that bad for me anyway.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    94
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
106
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good location right next to everything downtown. Nice little place with great character -like the look of the place and the hot tub outside right next to the rooms and the classic jazz playing when we get back to the made up room. It had a fridge and microwave and coffee maker and free wifi, everything we needed. Wished it had a vent in the bathroom after eating at the Mexican place across the street, but the window opened so we survived. The water was great, rich with mountain minerals like I like it, the sink and shower were separate rooms which was helpful and it got immediately hot in the shower (right near the office).
Lora was very cheerful and accommodating, even though we were some dirty ice climbers. I liked helping out a small business with very reasonable rates -especially if you are going to stay a few days because you can just become an ice park supporting member and she gives you a discount on the room that ends up covering the difference and some.
So, not big city 5 star, but certainly 5 star for what I expected for the price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Last October I spent two nights at the Chalet Inn while touring Colorado. I had previously stayed in the past years at different places in town but either they didn't fully satified me or were now above my budget. I had a look on Tripadvisor and I opted for this motel since it matched both my quality and rate requirements. As a walk in customer without any reservation I arrived early in the afternoon and I was offered the last available room. The young manager who checked me in was very kind and professional, making the room available in a short time and giving me useful informations about some hiking trails around town. The following day she even lent me a couple of guides. The room was located at the second floor and unusually for this kind of accomodation as soon as I walked in I was welcomed by some soft music spread by a wall speaker. It was a large and impeccably clean accomodation, equipped with all those appliances I hope to find when travelling: fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The beds were comfortable and the wi fi connection worked well. In the morning guests are offered hot coffee in the lobby. If any kind of even basic breakfast were offered I wouldn't hesitate and rate the Ouray Chalet Inn "excellent".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

In this small town everything is small, the restaurants the shops the hotels but with that being said this hotel has 2 of the nicest ladies I've ever met in the hotel business. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The pillows were to die for, very fluffy. The view of the mountains, from every room, was gorgeous. The hot tub was clean and big enough for a family of 5. The ladies at the front desk gave me advise of where to eat or things to do. They gave us weather updates or just talked to us like we'd known each other for years. I would stay here everytime from now on.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaikou, Hawaii
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed there in late October an was pleasantly surprised.Clean comfortable rooms,staff was very helpful.right in the middle of town so you can walk every where.Very reasonably rates , fast wifi. I'll stay there next time in Ouray.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price, Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good place to stay the rooms are average and comfortable. We had 2 queens. It is interesting that they have a speaker in your room where they play music through. It can be turned off but kind of neat. We had a second floor room with a great view of the Ampitheater mountain bowl.

Room Tip: second floor has best views but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here one night and had a pleasant stay. The room was very clean and quiet, especially given that its location is on the main road in town. The only challenge was parking, the night we were there, several pickup trucks with trailers were parked there taking up a number of parking spaces, and so pulling in and out of the lot was a challenge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 14 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#10 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#8 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#5 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#6 of 14 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Chalet Inn

Address: 510 Main Street, PO Box 544, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the San Juan Mountains of Colorado. Conveniently located within walking distance to the local social life, shopping, entertainment, and the dining experience of this small western town. Ouray Chalet Inn is your best choice. Amenities, Parking & Convenience are the three "have-to's" for most travelers. Ouray Chalet Inn offers all three. Our commitment to our guests is to ensure that you made the best choice for a Ouray Hotel. Our amenities include, free WIFI, in-room refrigerator and microwave, and satellite TV. We are located directly on Main Street, and offer Free Onsite Parking, and are only walking steps away from local stores, dining, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ouray Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Chalet Hotel
Ouray Chalet Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouray Chalet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.