We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the vapor cave + pool. Good value. Read the website before visiting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings
Save
You added Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings to your Saves list
625 5th St, Sixth Ave. and Fifth St, Ouray, CO 81427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
memphis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved the vapor cave + pool. Good value. Read the website before visiting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Wiesbaden Hot Springs was well worth the visit. The vapor caves were super: hot water, lots of steam, no sulphur smell. It is a very clean establishment. We basically had the place to ourselves, and it was very relaxing.

However, do read the Wiesbaden website before visiting. The proprietess WILL ask you if you have smoked within the past three months. It is definitely a *very quiet place*. If you want to have a party or bring the kids (no children under 5 allowed), this is not the place for you.

They have Aveda products for sale as well as a few other odds and ends (bathrobes, etc.). They also have beverages and snacks for purchase. With the abundance of attention and effort made to make this spa seem spiritual, organic, pure, and healthy, I was really surprised to see the low quality of snacks they offered: grocery store aisle candy bars. It would have made sense to see a bowl of fruit rather than Reese's Peanut Butter Cups there.

Room Tip: Read the website before visiting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    8
    8
    12
See reviews for
10
63
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Cave is hot. Water is coming from an underground spring and feeds the cave as well as the pool outside. Very soothing after a days activities in the mountains. Located on a quiet side street in Ouray. Easy access to several good restaurants. Comfortable rooms. If you are an early bird caffeine addict, you have to plug in the coffee urn yourself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the West
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The inn and spa promote relaxation. From the moment you walk in the door to check in, you will find your blood pressure and stress level dropping. The rooms are simple and clean and lend themselves to chilling out. The hot pool is clean and hot and oh so calming. Cameo provided an wonderful massage in the rock room next to the vapor cave. I needed some neck and foot work, and she listened and made sure I left feeling better than I had before the massage. Oh, and the morning coffee is so good. Ouray itself is such a great setting for enjoying the out of doors with its trails. It also has great eateries and shops. I spent time listening to the roaring Uncompaghre and watching birds all over town. Splendiforous.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed one night at the Wiesbaden. As far as the highlights go, the main outdoor pool is fantastic and the vapor cave is something truly unique. I've been to many of the hot springs in Colorado (including spas and primitive springs) and the one thing that really stood out about the springs in Ouray was the purity of the water and the complete lack of that typical "hot-spring" sulfur smell (e.g. Glenwood hot springs-great none the less). We also enjoyed a soak in the private Lorelei pool. Equally fantastic. The staff was friendly and the location (2 blocks off of the main street) was perfect.

On the down side, this is a 100+ year-old historic location in a town that is a national historic landmark. Yes the walls are a little thin and no it's not the Ritz-Carlton in terms of the accommodation (small TV with limited channels, kitschy decorations....) . Personally, I found the entire place amazingly charming and, while I can sympathize with some of the negative reviews, I think many of these reviewers missed the point when it comes to rustic (authentic) mountain charm. The town itself reminded me of Telluride without the rich snobs. Plenty of cute shops and places to eat.

My only suggestion would be to update the bedding. Nice cotton sheets and a comforter in a washable cotton duvet would have gone a long way towards freshening up the room. Either way, the polyester sheets and comforters have got to go. Until then, it's 4 stars rather than 5.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

After an exhilarating day at the world famous Ouray Ice Park my friend and I checked into the Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa and Lodgings. A great choice. The staff was welcoming, the room quiet and cozy, the mineral waters sparkling clean and so.....hot. The vapor cave holds the flowing hot springs water in a shallow pool that ranges in temperature from 105 to 108 degrees. The atmosphere enveloped me giving the sensation of being in a womb. Very comforting. The outdoor pool was less intense, around 102 degrees and a good place to float and look up at the stars. A private pool called the Lorelei, named after the mythological German mermaid is available to book by the hour for private use. It is surrounded by garden an has a small waterfall.
After the soak we walked down the hill to Main Street to the Buen Tiempo, a lively Mexican restaurant and cantina. Ordered an Ultimate Margarita with a salted rim and Spinach Enchiladas that I have developed a new craving for. A day of exercise, soaking, good food and a comfortable bed made for a dreamy night. Ouray holds many gems.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My huband and I just live 10 miles north of Ouray, so for us a night at the Wiesbahdenen was a mini-break from our hectic lives as retirees. We had gone snowshoeing up on Red Mountain Pass and when we arrived at the Wiesbahden we immediately retired to the lovely Loreli private soaking pool for an hour. Our room was charming. There were coffee and tea fixings in the lobby. The next morning after a peaceful night's sleep we enjoyed the vapor caves and the hot springs pool. This is a wonderful place to get away from it all even if "it all" is just 10 miles up the road!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitewater colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We have stayed at the W periodically, beginning in the early 1980's. It has undergone changes of ownership and management, and each turn it seemed that things changed for the worse. We hadn't been to the W for over 10 years, and at that time there was an air of pretentious spirituality. It was like all guest were expected to be serene and meditative or something. We were there with our kids to have fun! (Which we used to succeed at, at the W in previous visits).

This time: NOBODY is allowed to stay who has smoked for the PAST THREE MONTHS. I don't know about you, I wish for world peace and feel personally aggrieved when I learn of outrages against humanity anywhere in the world, but after a rigorous bike ride or run around town, I like to sit on the balcony with a scotch and a cigar. Not any more, here. We'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings

Address: 625 5th St, Sixth Ave. and Fifth St, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ouray
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in a quiet residential neighborhood, right in the center of downtown Ouray, the Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings offers a wide variety of accommodations and features three different all natural continually flowing mineral hot springs on its premises: the famous Vaporcave, the outdoor swimming pool and the Lorelei, a privately enclosed outdoor spa. All our waters are continually flowing pure mineral springs, not altered with any chemicals or additives. All springs are open year around Guests of the Wiesbaden can enjoy unlimited use of the Vaporcave and the outdoor swimming pool at no extra charge. All rooms feature private bath, satellite TV, free WiFi, free local phone calls, spa robes and towels. There is a garden and a shared lounge. The property offers free parking. Wiesbaden features full range of massage and spa services. Guests of the lodge enjoy discounted rates on the spa services. Wiesbaden is a strictly non-smoking facility and we cannot accommodate anybody who uses tobacco products. Pet friendly accommodations are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa And Lodgings
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings Hotel Ouray
Wiesbaden Hot Springs Ouray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa & Lodgings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.