We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“variety of scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perimeter Trail

Perimeter Trail
Main Street, Ouray, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 attractions in Ouray
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“variety of scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There are some beautiful spots in this hike - mountain views, waterfall, incredible canyon, cave and town views. I would consider it an easy-moderate hike. There is some climbing but it never lasts long.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    23
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must-do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great workout, and gorgeous way to explore the area! Beautiful aspen stands, streams, all kinds of different eco-systems----loved it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“This is not a walk around the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a tough little trail, especially if you start out of the Visitor's Center in Ouray and head up the hill. A lot of the first 45 minutes or so is pretty much straight up and this could be tough for some of us seniors, people out of shape, or those not used to the altitude. The views around the city are breathtaking though and the "amphitheater" at the other end of town is simply stunning. The trail out the amphitheater, however, is not well marked and like others, we got lost here and had to take the old county road back to town. Still, we ended up hiking for over 4 hours and it was well worth it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I hiked part of this trail with my son's family, so our party included me (64), my son & his wife (39 & 40), & 3 children (7, 4, 15 mos). The baby was in a back carrier, but the rest of us walked. The scenery was great, but in places the trail is not well marked. It is also very steep in sections with slippery sandy surfaces. We all live at sea level, so you should be acclimatized to the altitude before going too far. Bring water. The children loved the water fall & climbing on the rocks by it. Very easy access to the trail from many points in town, and easy to do small portions, rather than the whole thing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Might as well!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wasnt as exciting as I wanted it to be but I would still recommend it. You do get to see some great views and take some great photos.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perimeter Trail also viewed

 

Been to Perimeter Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perimeter Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Perimeter Trail to your Saves list