We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel

The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel
210 7 Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
970-325-4645
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Olympia,WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our tour group, had breakfast and dinner at this establishment. We enjoyed our meals and the character of the building. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful. I'd go back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A meal in the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Western Hotel is a working hotel with a old time saloon and rooms decorated in 1890's styles. Our meal was in a room with a buffalo head and fancy wallpaper. The food was excellent. The margaritas lived up to their claim that they are the best in the west. But it is the atmosphere that makes the evening memorable.

We were there on a Sunday night and the place was unexpectedly busy. The staff was overwhelmed. They apologized. It took a while for our food to arrive, but since one of our diners was delayed and the company was excellent, we didn't mind. You should be in Ouray to relax and enjoy yourself in any case!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome steak! Stick to specials and dessert.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner here recently while vacationing in Ouray. Three of us had the steak which was amazing, one had trout, and one had a chicken salad and another the chicken sandwich. Highly recommend it! The margaritas were also superb. The service was a little slow and they ran out of their specials right after they served us. But we had a large group of 6 people and they seated us right away. The atmosphere is great, too, and you feel like you have traveled back in time. We were sitting next to locals who said the specials and dessert are the best in town but to avoid the lasagne. We did as we were told and it was a wonderful meal!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Pizza good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had done a jeep tour with them earlier in the day and that was great!! So we stopped in for dinner, we got the Pizza which was pretty tasty. A thinner crust than I normally like but it was flavorful and priced right. We also tried the Peach Cobbler and I loved it! I have had cobbler in other places and never been a fan but I would go back for that alone. Also the service was great, if though they were slammed they made sure to get us our food promptly and see if we needed anything more.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The staff here are wonderful!! Dinner at the restaurant was really delicious. They have preserved a special place. (Didn't like the dead animals on the walls but I suppose it is very 'western'.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.