We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HISTORY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel

The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel
210 7 Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
970-325-4645
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Ouray
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“AMAZING HISTORY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The painted lady on the floor and the history in the photos.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fruita, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, home-made food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Off the beaten path, The Historic Western Hotel is home to some of the best, freshest, home-made food in Ouray! Built in 1891, the atmosphere is real, Old West - emphasis on old. This is an original building. The bar is old, wooden and full of character and the food is simply delicious!
Extremely fresh and home-made with a knock-out presentation too! Rose doesn't open the restaurant until after 4pm, but it's well worth the wait! Do yourself a a favor and don't miss this place! Service is friendly and fast!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Maui, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was good, atmosphere lacking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Food was good-I had a burger-but it took a while (or maybe we were really hungry!).
I was expecting a bit more from the decor-it was a bit shabby. It could be a really great place it they invested in some new furniture. I guess when I pictured eating at this historic hotel (which looks cool from the outside) I thought the experience inside would go with that theme.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were there Saturday night before Labor Day. It seemed the staff were all running around like crazy, I imagine slammed by the holiday weekenders. We had a nice server who seemed overly booked. The food was fine. I had the Caesar with smoked salmon The dressing was a bit thickly applied, but it was still flavorful. My husband had the trout and it was good. I can't say this was great food, but it didn't have an hour wait like some other places and still offered a nice dining experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 via mobile

On my first three visits, I ordered the same thing... the burger. I think that says something. But I ate there again tonight and had the most amazing pizza. 8 adults 4 kids. Everybody happy. Now I'm torn, in a good way. Love the historic saloon ambiance. Breckenridge Agave Wheat beer on tap is a perfect summertime brew. Has to be the best pizza in town, and possibly the best burger, though I haven't tried Cafe Ouray's yet. Certainly more quaint atmosphere here... Outside dining looked nice too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.